Common menu bar links

Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites

2015 Calendar of Events


18th Annual Historic Military Encampment

May 16 & 17, 2015

 Authentic uniforms and historic military vehicles
Authentic uniforms and historic military vehicles
© Parks Canada

Stroll through the fort amidst marquee and bell tents representing various periods from the 1850s to the 1950s. Admire equipment, uniforms and motor vehicles from Canada’s military past. You’ll be fascinated by the authenticity of the re-enactors, as they chat to you about life generations ago.

BioBlitz 2015

May 22 & 23, 2015

A six-year old girl looking at a small fish in a plastic bag. The fish was captured for a closer look, yet being handled with care
Come by the beach to meet interesting friends
© Parks Canada

A BioBlitz is a fun 24-hour event in which teams of volunteer scientists, families, students, and other community members work together to find and identify as many different plants, animals, microbes, fungi, and other organisms as possible.
Discover, count, map and learn about the living creatures. Work side-by-side with experts. Add to the site’s official species list. Highlight the importance of protecting the biodiversity of these extraordinary National Historic Sites.

Two ways to participate:

  • Drop-in for family activities on the beach, forest and meadow. Friday night and Saturday. No registration. Regular entry fees apply.
  • Register as a volunteer expert or citizen scientist on May 22 and/or 23. Families with older children are encouraged to volunteer for a half or full day. Registered volunteers do not pay site entry fees. To register as a BioBlitz volunteer:

Historical Timeline

June 17-21, 2015

Two teenage girls learn to beat flax in the medieval customs
Muscle raw flax ‘til it becomes a soft cloth
© Parks Canada

Come journey through time and wake-up centuries ago. Look, smell, listen… From the middle ages to early modern history, stroll along the timeline and join various groups who celebrate history as they take pride in displaying their colourful clothing, uniforms, tools and creative masterpieces. Be inspired by their stories and join the entertainment.

 Canada Day Celebrations

July 1, 2015

A retired couple wearing Canada red colour T-shirts pose with their arms up in front of Fisgard lighthouse and the huge Canadian flag hanging from the top of its tower
Happy Birthday Canada
© Parks Canada

Canada Day’s biggest birthday cake is always served at Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites. Come celebrate Canada’s special day and join the excitement. Just clap your hands, or dance yourself silly to the live music throughout the day. Be a kid again, jump in and take part in all the fun activities. Enjoy the food and snacks at the concession, but remember to leave a bit of room for a piece of the HUGE cake.
Special note: Admission and a piece of cake is FREE.

 Annual Vintage Cadillac Car Show

July 12, 2015

 Close up of four black Cadillac on display
Chrome, fins and hood ornament
© Parks Canada

Join the Vancouver Island Chapter of the Cadillac Car Club of B.C. for Canada’s largest Cadillac show! With close to a hundred cars, the show offers every variety of this luxury marque: the sleek roadsters of the ´30s, the ´50s classics (all pastels, fins and chrome), ambulances, hearses, custom jobs, low-riders, and cutting-edge current models.

Take a hike!--on Parks Day

July 18, 2015

Two young ladies walking on a shoreline nature trail
A fun coastline walk
© Parks Canada

Lace up your hiking boots and celebrate Canada’s Parks Day by joining the Juan de Fuca Pathfinders Walking Club for a scenic 10 km ramble through the byways of Colwood. The walk finishes with a loop through Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites, followed by a picnic with the club. This is an officially sanctioned Volkssport International event.
For further information:

Learn to Camp

July 18 & 19, 2015

– A parent and 3 year-old daughter pocking through the yellow tent door
Want to try camping? Let us show you the ropes!
© Parks Canada

Parks Canada and Mountain Equipment Co-op are hosting “Learn to Camp”. Participating families will stay overnight in a tent at Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites. While making new friends and enjoying breathtaking scenery, they will learn how to pitch a tent, start a fire and stay safe around wildlife.
Space is very limited!
For more information visit: Learn to Camp Experiences
To register call: 1-888-773-8888

Art and Wine Festival at the Fort

July 26, 2015

Three lady-friends enjoy a glass of wine
A feast for your eyes and your taste buds
© Parks Canada

The Colwood Rotary Club presents a summer festival featuring local artists and wineries.
Relax and stroll through the display tents where local artists showcase their finest pieces. Let your eyes relish the colourful canvases and feast on the graceful curves of pottery. Choose your favourite item; imagine how stunning it will look in your home and go ahead treat yourself, you truly deserve it.
Then carry on, inciting your taste buds; it’s time to uncork some new flavours. Several local wineries have selected their best vintage wines just for you. Sample “fleshy” (soft and smooth), “lively” (fresh and fruity), or “chewy” (rich and full-bodied) wines. Which one will you choose to take home and toast to the acquisition of your new art piece?

All proceeds go to the Colwood Rotary Picnic Playground at Westshore Parks.
For further information:
Contact the Rotary Club of Colwood: 250-474-5287

Fab Forts

August 23, 2015

Six young boys, water guns in hand and already wait are posing
Staying dry in not an option!
© Parks Canada

Victoria’s largest squirt gun battle is coming to the Fort! Join us at Fort Rodd Hill & Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites on Sunday, August 23th with your water guns at the ready for Parks Canada's annual Fab Forts event. Come and try to Storm the Fort; then join a game of Capture the Flag or test your aim with Target Practice. Face painting and live music will be on offer throughout the day and activities run from 11am-3:30pm.
Regular admission rates apply. Grab your squirt gun and come soak up some history at Fort Rodd Hill!
No pets permitted.
10:30am to 4:00pm

21st Annual English Car Affair in the Park

September 13, 2015

Headlights and front chrome of a red antique car
Gleaming headlights and chrome
© Parks Canada

At 10 a.m. precisely the skirl of the pipes will herald the start of this very popular event. Over a hundred classic and vintage British automobiles will festoon Fort Rodd Hill’s open meadow. Sponsored by the Old English Car Club of B.C., this event will delight connoisseurs and intrigue newcomers. Each year, vehicles of a selected marque are showcased under the streamers of the maypole.

Lantern tour

September 26, 2015

Three re-enactors in period uniform from WW2 pose in front of a tent and a desk lid by a lantern
An event full of surprises
© Parks Canada

Grab your coats and step into time as Fort Rodd Hill opens its doors for an exclusive, after-dark guided tour. See the gun batteries by lantern light and eavesdrop on re-enactors in uniform going about the daily activities of garrison life. Take in the sights, sounds and smells of life at Rodd Hill during the period of 1897-1956. There may even be a few surprises along the way!
Guided tours leave every 15 minutes from 7:00pm - 9:15pm.

This event is a fundraiser for our dedicated Victoria-Esquimalt Military Re-enactors Association (VEMRA) volunteers.
Tickets available from the main entrance kiosk during site operational hours starting September 1, 2015.
Purchase your tickets early for this ever-popular event.
- $10 per person, payable by cash only for VEMRA.
- Plus regular admission payable by cash, debit or credit card, or use your annual pass.

Lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard

Calendrier des activités 2015

Mai
Juin
Juillet
Août
Septembre

18e Rassemblement militaire historique

Le 16 et 17 mai, 2015

Uniformes authentiques et véhicules militaires d’antan 
Uniformes authentiques et véhicules militaires d’antan
© Parcs Canada

Promenez-vous dans le fort parmi les chapiteaux et les tentes coniques représentant diverses périodes des années 1850 aux années 1950. Admirez des équipements, des uniformes et des véhicules à moteur du passé militaire du Canada. Vous serez fasciné de l'authenticité des participants, alors qu’ils causent avec vous de la vie d’antan.


BioBlitz 2015

Le 22 et 23 mai, 2015

Une enfant de six ans regarde un petit poisson capturé dans un plastic pour faciliter son observation mais sans le nuire 
Venez sur la place pour faire la connaissance d’amis bien intéressants
© Parcs Canada

Un BioBlitz est une activité amusante se déroulant sur une période de 24 heures. Des équipes de chercheurs scientifiques bénévoles, de familles, d’élèves et d’autres membres de la collectivité travaillent ensemble pour découvrir et identifier le plus grand nombre de plantes, d’animaux, de champignons et d’organismes possible.
Découvrez, comptez et cartographiez des créatures vivantes, et renseignez-vous à leur propos. Travaillez en étroite collaboration avec des spécialistes. Allongez la liste des espèces officielles du site. Soulignez l’importance de protéger la biodiversité de ces lieux historiques nationaux extraordinaires. 



Deux façons de participer :

  • Présentez-vous aux activités familiales qui se déroulent sur la plage, dans la forêt ou dans le pré. Vendredi soir et samedi. Aucune inscription requise. Les participants doivent payer les droits d’entrée habituels.
  • Le 22 et 23 mai, inscrivez-vous à titre de spécialiste ou de chercheur bénévole. Nous encourageons les familles ayant des enfants plus âgés à faire du bénévolat pour une demi-journée ou une journée complète. Les bénévoles inscrits n’ont pas à payer les droits d’entrée habituels. Pour vous inscrire comme bénévole à un BioBlitz (bientôt disponible en français) :
     http://www.eventbrite.ca/e/parks-canada-bioblitz-2015-fort-rodd-hill-registration (angl).


Périodes historiques

Du 17 au 21 juin, 2015

Deux adolescentes apprennent à battre le lin comme au moyen âge 
Battez du lin brut jusqu’à ce qu’il devient un chiffon doux
© Parcs Canada

Venez voyager dans le temps et réveillez-vous dans un autre siècle. Regardez, sentez, écoutez ... Du Moyen Âge au début de l'histoire moderne, flânez le long de la ligne du temps et rejoignez divers groupes qui célèbrent l'histoire en présentant leurs vêtements colorés, des uniformes, des outils et quelques chefs-d'œuvre qu’ils ont créé. Laissez-vous inspirer par leurs histoires et prenez part aux divertissements.


Célébrations de la fête du Canada

Le 1er juillet, 2015

Un couple de retraités vêtus de T-shirt au couleur rouge de Canada pose les bras en l’air devant le phare de Fisgard qui affiche un énorme drapeau canadien 
Bonne Fête Canada
© Parcs Canada

Le plus gros gâteau de la fête du Canada est toujours servi aux lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard. Venez célébrer cette fameuse journée canadienne et prendre part aux célébrations. Tapez dans vos mains ou dansez à en perdre le souffle au son de la musique « live » jouée tout au long de la journée. Retombez en enfance, allez-y de plein pieds et prenez part à toutes les activités amusantes. Profitez des divers mets et collations offerts ; n'oubliez pas de laisser un peu de place pour un morceau de l'ÉNORME gâteau.
À noter : L’entrée et un morceau de gâteau sont gratuits.


Exposition annuelle de voitures Cadillac anciennes

Le 12 juillet, 2015

Vue de près de quatre Cadillac exposées 
Chrome, ailerons et ornement de capot
© Parcs Canada

Joignez-vous aux exposants du « Vancouver Island Chapter of the Cadillac Car Club » de la Colombie-Britannique ! Avec près d'une centaine de voitures, le spectacle offre toute une variété de cette marque de luxe: les élégants « roadsters » des années 30, les voitures classiques des années 50 (avec leurs couleurs pastelles, leurs ailerons et leurs chromes), les ambulances, les corbillards, les voitures personnalisés sur mesure, les « lowriders » et les modèles actuels qui font fureur.


Faites une randonnée durant la Journée des parcs

Le 18 juillet, 2015

Deux jeunes femmes promènent sur un sentier du littoral
Une belle balade au bord de la côte
© Parcs Canada

Lacez vos chaussures de randonnée et venez célébrer la Journée des parcs canadiens en joignant le club de marche « Juan de Fuca Pathfinders » pour une excursion panoramique de 10 km à travers les méandres de Colwood. La randonnée se termine par une boucle à travers les lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard, suivie d'un pique-nique avec les membres du club. Cet événement est officiellement reconnu par « Volkssport International ».
Pour plus de renseignements : http://jdfpathfinders.ca/wp/ (angl).


Initiation au camping

Du 18 au 19 juillet, 2015

Un parent et sa fille de 3 ans sortent leurs têtes d’une tente de camping jaune 
Souhaitez-vous apprendre à faire du camping? Laissez-nous vous montrer comment!
© Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada et Mountain Equipment Co-op accueillent l’« Initiation au camping ». Les familles participantes dormiront pour une nuit dans une tente aux lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard. Tout en se faisant de nouveaux amis et en profitant des paysages à couper le souffle, ils apprendront à installer une tente, allumer un feu de camp et rester en sécurité près d’une faune avoisinante.
Les places sont très limitées ! 
Pour obtenir des renseignements :  Expériences d'Initiation au camping
Pour vous inscrire composez-le : 1-888-773-8888


Festival d’art et vin au fort

Le 26 juillet, 2015

Trois amies savourent un verre de vin 
Un plaisir pour vos yeux et vos papilles gustatives
© Parcs Canada

Le Rotary Club of Colwood présente un festival d’été mettant en vedette des artistes locaux et des viticulteurs.
Détendez-vous et flânez parmi les tentes où des artistes locaux présentent leurs plus belles pièces d'art. Laissez vos yeux savourer les tableaux colorés et apprécier les gracieuses courbes des poteries. Choisissez votre pièce d’art préférée; imaginez à quel point elle irait magnifiquement dans votre maison et laissez-vous tenter. Faites vous plaisir, vous le méritez bien !
Puis allez plus loin, chatouiller vos papilles gustatives; il est temps de révéler de nouvelles saveurs. Plusieurs viticulteurs locaux ont sélectionné, tout simplement pour vous, leurs meilleurs crus pour que vous puissiez les déguster. Goûtez aux vins "Charnues" (doux et coulants), «vifs» (frais et fruités), ou "étoffés" (corsés et puissants). Lequel choisirez-vous d’emporter à la maison pour célébrer l’acquisition de votre nouveau chef d’œuvre ?

Tous les profits aideront à la construction de l'aire de jeu et de pique-nique dans les parcs Rotary Colwood Westshore
Pour plus d'informations
Contactez le Club Rotary de Colwood : 250-474-5287 
http://www.colwoodrotary.ca/SitePage/art-wine-festival (angl).


Ces forts célèbres

Le 23 août, 2015

Six jeunes garçons déjà tout mouillé et avec leur carabines à eau posent 
Rester sec n’est pas une option!
© Parcs Canada

La plus grande bataille de pistolets à eau de Victoria aura bientôt lieu au fort! Joignez-vous à nous le dimanche 23 août aux lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard et soyez prêts à dégainer vos pistolets à eau à l’occasion de l’activité annuelle Forts célèbres de Parcs Canada. Venez tenter de prendre le fort d’assaut, puis participez à une partie de jeu du drapeau ou mettez votre précision à l’épreuve grâce au tir à la cible. Les enfants pourront se faire maquiller, et des musiciens donneront des spectacles, toute la journée de 11 h à 15 h 30.
Les droits d’entrée réguliers seront perçus. Apportez votre fusil à l’eau et venez vous plonger dans l’histoire au lieu historique national Fort Rodd Hill!
Animaux de compagnie interdits.
De 10 h 30 à 16 h.


21e Rassemblement de voitures britanniques anciennes

Le 13 Septembre, 2015

Les phares et les chromes avant d’une voiture anciennes 
Des phares et des chromes étincelants
© Parcs Canada

À 10 heures précisément le son des cornemuses annoncera le début de cet événement. Plus de cent automobiles britanniques classiques et anciennes prendront poste dans le vaste pré de Fort Rodd Hill. Parrainé par le « Old English Car Club of B.C. », cet événement sera un régal pour les connaisseurs et intriguera les novices. Chaque année, des véhicules d’une marque sélectionnée sont mis en valeur sous les banderoles de l’arbre de mai.


La lanterne à la main

Le 26 Septembre, 2015

Trois acteurs en costume de la deuxième guerre mondiale posent devant une tente et un bureau illuminés d’une lanterne à pétrole 
Un événement plein de surprise
© Parcs Canada

Mettez votre manteau et venez faire un voyage dans le temps. À la nuit tombée, Fort Rodd Hill ouvre ses portes pour une visite guidée exclusive. Voyez les batteries d’artillerie sous les faisceaux lumineux d’une lanterne et écoutez d’une oreille indiscrète les animateurs costumés raconter leurs activités journalières. Laissez-vous emporter par les sons, les odeurs et les images de la vie à Rodd Hill entre 1897 et 1956. Il pourrait y avoir quelques surprises en cours de route!
Les tours guidés commencent toutes les 15 minutes de 19 h à 21 h 15

Cet événement est une collecte de fonds pour les bénévoles de l’association Victoria-Esquimalt Military Re-enactors (VEMRA).
À partir du 1er septembre, les tickets sont disponibles au kiosque de l'entrée principale du site pendant les heures d'ouverture.
Achetez sans délais vos tickets pour cet événement très populaire.

Coût :
- 10 $ par personne, payable en argent comptant seulement pour VEMRA.
- Plus admission régulière payable en espèces, par carte de débit ou de crédit, ou vous pouvez utiliser votre laissez-passer annuel.