Common menu bar links

Planning your Visit

Western Canada

Spectacular glaciers and mountainous landscapes, unspoiled wilderness, ancient moss-covered mortuary poles, water that percolates upwards in hot springs, men and women who roped, wrangled and rode their way into cowboy history. The national parks and national historic sites of British Columbia and Alberta are guaranteed to stir your emotions.

Browsing what Western Canada has to offer? Check out our Featured Experiences.

Looking for a specific location? Consult the map, or use the pull-down menu below to go directly there.

ESCAPE THE OFFICE

It's time to reclaim that balance in your life and enrich those family bonds. Opportunities abound to have fun and recharge your batteries in our national parks and national historic sites. The choices are endless... All you have to do is pick one!

Discovery Tour Visiting the sulphurous thermal waters of Cave & Basin
© Banff Photography

Discovery Tour

Take the “Discovery Tour” at the birthplace of Banff National Park. Connect with nature and history the very essence of the Park. Join a Parks Canada guide, visit the sulphurous thermal waters, have your photo taken at a traditional railway workers camp, immerse yourself in the story of the founding of one of the greatest conservation movements in the world, Parks Canada!

Cave and Basin National Historic Site


Two adults on bike in a trail Mountain biking in Jasper
© Parks Canada

The Mountains, Your Way!

Jasper's best kept secret is its endless mountain bike trails. Bring your own bike or rent from town and link up to the sunny sands of Lake Annette and the stunning hike up Old Fort Point. Get the chance to see big mountain views AND Bighorn Sheep in the same idyllic setting. Few places this simple offer rewards this big!

Jasper National Park


Bed and Breakfast Staying the night at Fort St. James
© Ruth Lloyd / Black Press

A National Historic Site to Yourself for the Night!

Stay in the luxurious Murray House where the chief factor and his family lived in 1896. Be greeted by friendly Parks Canada staff, enjoy a traditional dinner, from salmon or ribs to stew. Awake to the sound of sheep hooves on the boardwalk or a rooster crow but fear not, freshly brewed coffee, sausages, pancakes and eggs await you in the warm cozy café.

Fort St. James National Historic Site


Swimmers Banff Springs Soaking in the Hot Springs
© Brenda Falvey

The Locals know….

Wonder what a “real local" might tell you about an iconic destination? In Banff, they’ll give you this tip: enjoy the soothing waters of Banff Upper Hot Springs during cooler seasons. The pool is serene, quiet; soak your cares away in steamy water. Enjoy sunshine reflecting off snow-tipped mountains or be amidst golden leaves of fall. Take a tip from the locals!

Banff Upper Hot Springs


Soldiers  shooting with machinegun Participating in living history events
© Gary Woodward

Fire Power

Want something new and different? Be part of Fort Rodd Hill’s commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the First World War and the 75th anniversary of Second World War. Experience Canada’s unique war stories. Participate in living history events. Have fun, bond with your family while learning what it means to be Canadian. Sleep overnight in Canada’s oldest west coast artillery fort.

Fort Rodd National & Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites


Want a print version? Download the visitor guide for Western Canada (PDF 6.3 MB) or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

Planifiez votre visite

L'Ouest canadien

Paysages montagneux et glaciers spectaculaires, nature sauvage, anciens totems mortuaires moussus, le clapotis de l'eau des sources thermales, les hommes et les femmes, armés de leurs chevaux et de leurs lassos, qui se sont frayé un chemin parmi les légendes des grands ranchs. Les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux de la Colombie-Britannique et de l'Alberta font vivre de grandes émotions.

Curieux de savoir ce que vous pouvez faire dans l'Ouest canadien? Découvrez nos expériences vedettes dans l'Ouest canadien.

Vous cherchez un endroit en particulier? Consultez la carte ou utilisez le menu déroulant pour vous y rendre directement.

LOIN DU BUREAU, J'ADORE!

Il est temps de retrouver cet équilibre dans votre vie et d'enrichir vos liens familiaux. Les possibilités d'avoir du plaisir et de refaire le plein d'énergie abondent dans nos parcs et lieux historiques nationaux. Les options sont infinies... Tout ce que vous avez à faire, c'est d'en choisir une!

Visite guidée de la découverte Visite des sources sulfureuses de Cave and Basin
© Banff Photography

Visite guide de la découverte

Effectuez la « visite guidée de la découverte » du lieu de naissance du parc national Banff. Ne faites plus qu'un avec la nature et l'histoire de l'essence même du parc. Joignez-vous à un guide de Parcs Canada, visitez les sources sulfureuses, faites-vous prendre en photo dans un camp de travailleurs du chemin de fer traditionnel, immergez-vous dans l'histoire de la fondation d'un des plus grands mouvements de conservation au monde, Parcs Canada!

Lieu historique national Cave and Basin


Deux adultes à vélo sur une piste Faire du vélo de montagne à Jasper
© Parcs Canada

Les montagnes à votre image!

Le secret le mieux gardé du parc national Jasper: ses sentiers de vélo de montagne sans fin. Apportez votre propre vélo ou louez-en un en ville et rejoignez le sable ensoleillé du lac Annette et les magnifiques sentiers de randonnée sur la colline Old Fort Point. Ayez la chance de contempler les panoramas des grandes montagnes ET d'observer le mouflon d'Amérique dans le même paysage idyllique. Il n'existe que peu d'endroits aussi simples qui offrent des récompenses aussi grandes!

Parc national Jasper


Gite touristique Passer la nuit au Fort-St. James
© Ruth Lloyd / Black Press

Un lieu historique national à vous seul pour la niut!

Séjournez à la résidence cossue des Murray, là où le facteur en chef et sa famille habitèrent en 1896. Vous serez accueilli par le personnel de Parcs Canada, vous savourerez un repas traditionnel composé de saumon, de côtes levées ou de ragoût. Vous vous réveillerez au son des sabots des moutons sur les trottoirs en bois ou au chant du coq. Mais qu'à cela ne tienne! Un petit déjeuner vous attendra dans le café! Au menu : café frais, saucisses, crêpes et oeufs... dans une ambiance des plus chaleureuses.

Lieu historique national du Fort-St. James


Nageurs dans les sources thermales du parc national Banff Relaxer dans les eaux calmantes des sources thermales
© Brenda Falvey

Les gens de la region le savent...

Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé ce qu'une personne du coin pourrait vous dire à propos d'une destination emblématique? À Banff, ils vous donneront ce conseil : profitez de l'eau calmante des sources thermales Upper Hot Springs de Banff au cours de la saison froide. La piscine dégage une atmosphère de sérénité, de calme; débarrassez-vous de vos préoccupations dans l'eau chaude. Profitez du soleil qui se reflète sur les montagnes aux sommets enneigés ou promenez-vous parmi les feuilles dorées de l'automne. Suivez les conseils des gens de la région!

Sources thermales Upper Hot Springs de Banff


Soldats tirant de la mitraillette Participer à des reconstitutions historiques
© Gary Woodward

Puissance du feu

Vous désirez quelque chose de nouveau et de différent? Faites partie des commémorations du 100e anniversaire de la Première Guerre mondiale et du 75e anniversaire de la Seconde Guerre mondiale du Fort Rodd Hill. Vivez les histoires de guerre uniques du Canada. Participez à des reconstitutions historiques. Amusez-vous, rapprochez-vous de votre famille tout en apprenant ce que cela signifie d'être canadien. Passez la nuit dans le fort d'artillerie le plus ancien de la côte ouest canadienne.

Lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard


Pour obtenir la version imprimée de cette page, téléchargez le guide du visiteur de l'Ouest canadien (PDF, 6,9 Mo) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.