Common menu bar links

Planning your Visit

Western Canada

Spectacular glaciers and mountainous landscapes, unspoiled wilderness, ancient moss-covered mortuary poles, water that percolates upwards in hot springs, men and women who roped, wrangled and rode their way into cowboy history. The national parks and national historic sites of British Columbia and Alberta are guaranteed to stir your emotions.

Browsing what Western Canada has to offer? Check out our Featured Experiences.

Looking for a specific location? Consult the map, or use the pull-down menu below to go directly there.

1,2,3, GO!

Stow the electronics and pack up the kids! It's time to get out and get active with your family, at a price everybody can afford. The little ones will beg to come back again and you'll be happy to oblige when you see how quickly they conk out after a day of outdoor fun. Now that’s awesome!


Children  Carrying Fur Bale Carrying fur bales at Fort Langley
© Parks Canada / M. Boland

Join the Company of Adventurers!

Families wanted! Step right up! Bring your sense of adventure, become an 1800’s Hudson’s Bay Company worker. Dress up! Try out blacksmithing, barrel-making or trading. Be the boss, the one who declares British Columbia a new colony. Pick up your Xplorers book at the trade window to begin your adventure.

Fort Langley National Historic Site


Front of Cannery Learning about fishing at the Gulf of Georgia Cannery
© Parks Canada / Kelly Jill

Fishy Business!

Do you know where your seafood comes from? Pick up an Activity Guide to learn about diverse west coast fishing practices. Families put on your ‘thinking hats’ to answer questions on how different types of fish and shellfish are caught. Discover these in the museum, as well at various sites throughout the historic fishing village of Steveston.

Gulf of Georgia National Historic Site


School group wagon ride Taking a wagon ride at Bar U Ranch
© Parks Canada / Deb Pigeon

Escape to the Country

Take a wagon ride along the crystal waters of Pekisko creek. Listen to the creak of the leather harness and clip clop of the horses’ hooves. Further away hear the ring of the blacksmiths hammer. Step into the cookhouse for the aroma of ginger cookies that tickle your nose. It feels so good here you won’t want to go home.

Bar U Ranch National Historic Site


Family FunTipi Camping Exploring a teepee in Waterton Lakes
© Parks Canada

Wake up to Natoosi, the rising sun!

Drive into Waterton Lakes National Park, head to your very own Blackfoot-style tipi. En route, your child points out the window “look, a bear, a cub!” You pull over, grab the camera, take some amazing shots without leaving the safety of your car. The kids make lists of all the things they want to see and do, first, camping in the tipi!

Waterton Lakes National Park


Young girl on bike Mountain biking in Mount Revelstoke
© William Eaton Photography

Take Your Kids Mountain Biking

Kids take on a new bike playscape! Try out the junior skills trail for the youngest and great single track for the teens. Ride as far as you want through the forest of giant cedars with connections to other nearby trails . When you’re done, a quick downhill to the outdoor cafes in town.

Mount Revelstoke National Park


Want a print version? Download the visitor guide for Western Canada (PDF 6.3 MB) or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

Planifiez votre visite

L'Ouest canadien

Paysages montagneux et glaciers spectaculaires, nature sauvage, anciens totems mortuaires moussus, le clapotis de l'eau des sources thermales, les hommes et les femmes, armés de leurs chevaux et de leurs lassos, qui se sont frayé un chemin parmi les légendes des grands ranchs. Les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux de la Colombie-Britannique et de l'Alberta font vivre de grandes émotions.

Curieux de savoir ce que vous pouvez faire dans l'Ouest canadien? Découvrez nos expériences vedettes dans l'Ouest canadien.

Vous cherchez un endroit en particulier? Consultez la carte ou utilisez le menu déroulant pour vous y rendre directement.

1,2,3, GO!

Rangez les appareils électroniques et préparez les enfants! C'est le temps de sortir et de bouger avec votre famille, à un prix que tout le monde peut se permettre. Les petits vous supplieront de revenir et vous le ferez avec plaisir lorsque vous verrez avec quelle rapidité ils s'écroulent de fatigue après une journée d'activités en plein air. Ça c'est génial!


enfants portent un ballot des fourrures Porter des ballots de fourrures au Fort-Langley
© Parcs Canada / M. Boland

Joignez-vous aux aventuriers!

Familles recherchées! Portez-vous volontaire! Apportez votre sens de l'aventure, devenez un travailleur de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson des années 1800. Costumez-vous! Essayez d'être forgeron, fabricant de tonneaux ou négociateur. Soyez le patron, celui qui déclare que la Colombie-Britannique est une nouvelle colonie. Procurez-vous votre livret Xplorateurs au guichet de traite pour débuter votre aventure.

Lieu historique national du Fort-Langley


Avant de la Gulf of Georgia Cannery Apprendre les différentes pratiques de pêche
© Parcs Canada / Kelly Jill

Parlons pêche!

Savez-vous d'où viennent vos fruits de mer? Procurez-vous un Guide d'activités pour apprendre les différentes pratiques de pêche sur la côte Ouest. Familles, remuez-vous les méninges pour répondre aux questions portant sur la façon dont les variétés de poissons et de mollusques sont attrapées. Découvrez ces techniques dans le musée ainsi que dans les différents sites se trouvant dans l'ensemble du village de pêche historique de Steveston.

Lieu historique national Gulf of Georgia Cannery


Promenade en chariot d'un groupe d'écoliers Faire une promenade en chariot au Ranch-Bar U
© Parcs Canada / Deb Pigeon

Évadez-vous à la campagne!

Faites une promenade en chariot le long des eaux cristallines du ruisseau Pekisko. Écoutez le craquement du harnais de cuir et le claquement des sabots des chevaux. Vous entendrez un peu plus loin le tintement du marteau des forgerons. Entrez dans la cuisine de chantier et laissez l'odeur des biscuits au gingembre vous chatouiller le nez. Vous serez tellement bien ici que vous ne voudrez plus repartir chez vous.

Lieu historique national du Ranch-Bar U


Le camping dans un tipi, une activité familiale amusante Explorer un tipi aux Lacs-Waterton
© Parcs Canada

Réveillez-vous avec Natoosi, le soleil levant!

Parcourez le parc national des Lacs-Waterton, dirigez-vous vers votre propre tipi de style pied-noir. En route, votre enfant pointe la fenêtre et s'exclame : « regardez, un ours, un ourson! » Vous vous rangez sur le côté, attrapez l'appareil photo et prenez des clichés extraordinaires sans quitter la sécurité de votre voiture. Les enfants font des listes de toutes les choses qu'ils veulent voir et faire comme, camper dans le tipi!

Parc national des Lacs-Waterton


Jeune fille sur un vélo Faire du vélo de montagne au parc du Mont Revelstoke
© William Eaton Photography

Amenez vos enfents faire du vélo de Montagne!

Les enfants, amusez-vous dans la nouvelle aire de jeux pour vélo! Essayez les sentiers de niveau junior pour les plus jeunes et le grand sentier à une voie pour les adolescents. Promenez-vous aussi loin que vous le désirez dans la forêt de cèdres géants à l'aide des raccordements à d'autres sentiers situés tout près. Lorsque vous aurez fini, vous pouvez descendre rapidement la côte jusqu'à des cafés extérieurs en ville.

Parc national du Mont Revelstoke


Pour obtenir la version imprimée de cette page, téléchargez le guide du visiteur de l'Ouest canadien (PDF, 6,9 Mo) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.