Common menu bar links

Planning your Visit

The Canadian Prairies

Saskatchewan and Manitoba - a land of contrast, mystery, history and beauty. Discover the subarctic tundra and Hudson Bay coastline where whales, caribou, and polar bears abound. Take in the vastness of the open prairie. Marvel at sunsets and the unexpected encounters with rare plants and animals. Explore the pristine and untouched boreal forest where great owl and moose live as they always have.

Browsing what the Canadian Prairies have to offer? Check out our Featured Experiences.

Looking for a specific location? Consult the map, or use the pull-down menu below to go directly there.

ESCAPE THE OFFICE!

It's time to reclaim that balance in your life and enrich those family bonds. And what better place to do that than in a national park or national historic site? Opportunities abound to have fun and relax as a family. There's nothing like the great outdoors to escape and recharge your batteries. The choices are endless... all you have to do is pick one!

Visitors around a campfire Relaxing by the campfire at Grasslands
© Parks Canada

Choose your own ultimate adventure

Relax by the campfire at Friday night’s ‘Fireside Chats, Stories and S’more’ program. Fall asleep in our new campground dreaming of wildlife and beautiful landscapes - adventure awaits during tomorrow’s ‘Family Super Saturday’ experience. Cap the weekend off with a guided ‘Walk in the Park’ on Sunday morning. With so many fun things to choose from, you’ll wish you had more time!

Grasslands National Park


Kids feeding a horse Feeding the horses at Motherwell Homestead
© Parks Canada

From field to fork

Become a farm hand and see which animal tries to steal your attention. After all the ‘horseplay’, find the clothesline and get dressed up for an original family photo op. To finish your day, indulge in the delicious tastes of the ‘Off the Beaten Path Café’. Cap it off with a relaxing horse-drawn weekend wagon ride around the homestead.

Motherwell Homestead National Historic Site



Whales Watching beluga whales in the Churchill River
© Parks Canada

The accessible arctic experience

Join Parks Canada staff for a guided tour of Cape Merry Battery National Historic Site, easily reached by Churchill. Learn about this site’s role in the epic struggle between the English and the French for control of Hudson Bay. Summer is the perfect time to watch thousands of beluga whales travel the Churchill River.

Prince of Wales Fort - Cape Merry Battery National Historic Sites


Young adults searching for caches Finding caches at The Forks
© Parks Canada

Cache Me If You Can!

Can you solve the mystery of The Forks? Put on your thinking caps and crack the case through a self-directed GPS tour that will take you through the secrets and mysteries of this historic space. Find the hidden geo-cache and track down the site's elusive and storied history.

The Forks National Historic Site


Family in bunk beds enjoying camping experience inside oTENTik tent Experiencing camping in an oTENTik
© Parks Canada

Camping will never be the same!

It only took 15 minutes to set up camp and the oTENTik already feels like home. Next on the to-do list – the beach! It’s all about sand castles, splashing in the water, and taking the kayak for a spin. Later you plan to bike into Waskesiu for ice cream, have s’mores by the fire and crawl into your comfy bed. The perfect summer day!

Prince Albert National Park



Want a print version? Download the visitor guide for the Canadian Prairies (PDF, 4.79 MB) or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

Planifiez votre visite

Les prairies canadiennes

Saskatchewan et Manitoba, terres de contrastes, de mystères, d'histoire et de beauté. Découvrez la toundra subarctique et le littoral de la baie d'Hudson, là où vivent en abondance la baleine, le caribou et l'ours polaire. Laissez-vous captiver par l'immensité de la prairie. Admirez avec émerveillement les couchers de soleil, les plantes et les animaux rares qui s'offrent à vos yeux. Explorez la forêt boréale, vierge et belle, qui abrite la chouette lapone et l'orignal comme elle le fait depuis toujours.

Curieux de savoir ce que vous pouvez faire dans les prairies canadiennes? Découvrez nos expériences vedettes dans les prairies canadiennes.

Vous cherchez un endroit en particulier? Consultez la carte ou utilisez le menu déroulant pour vous y rendre directement.

LOIN DU BUREAU, J'ADORE!

Il est temps de retrouver cet équilibre dans votre vie et d'enrichir vos liens familiaux. Les possibilités d'avoir du plaisir et de refaire le plein d'énergie abondent dans nos parcs et lieux historiques nationaux. Les options sont infinies... Tout ce que vous avez à faire, c'est d'en choisir une!

Visiteurs autour d’un feu de camp Se détendre autour d’un feu de camp au parc des Prairies
© Parcs Canada

À vous de choisir votre aventure palpitante!

Le vendredi soir, ne manquez pas de prendre place autour du feu de camp pour profiter des causeries, des récits et des s'mores. Endormez-vous dans notre nouveau camping où vous rêverez de la faune sauvage et des paysages uniques qui vous entourent. Le lendemain, repartez à l'aventure grâce aux « super samedis en famille ». Profitez d'une promenade guidée dans le parc le dimanche matin. Avec un tel choix d'activités, vous n'aurez qu'un regret : ne pas avoir plus de temps!

Parc national des Prairies


Enfants nourrissant un cheval Devenir un ouvrier agricole à Homestead-Motherwell
© Parcs Canada

Du champ à l'assiette

Mettez-vous dans la peau d'un ouvrier agricole et voyez quel animal essaie d'attirer votre attention? Après la visite des chevaux, partez à la recherche de la corde à linge et enfilez les costumes d'époque pour une photo de famille originale. À la fin de la journée, savourez les délices du casse-croûte « Off the Beaten Path ». Durant les fins de semaines, complétez votre visite avec une balade reposante en charrette.

Lieu historique national du Homestead-Motherwell


Baleines Observer des belugas de la rivière Churchill
© Parcs Canada

L'Arctique accessible

En compagnie d'un interprète de Parcs Canada, visitez le lieu historique national de la Batterie du Cap Merry, facilement accessible à partir de Churchill. Découvrez le rôle qu'a joué ce lieu dans la lutte épique que se sont livrée les Anglais et les Français pour le contrôle de la baie d'Hudson. L'été est la période idéale pour observer les milliers de bélugas qui habitent les eaux de la rivière Churchill.

Lieux historiques nationaux du Fort-Prince-de-Galles et de la Batterie du Cap Merry


Jeunes adultes faisant du géocaching À la recherche de géocache à La Fourche
© Parcs Canada

Cache-cache à travers l'histoire

Saurez-vous élucider le mystère de La Fourche? Faites travailler votre matière grise et jouez les détectives à l'aide d'un GPS qui vous mènera à travers les secrets et les mystères de ce lieu historique. Partez à la recherche de la géocache et découvrez la riche histoire de ce lieu unique.

Lieu historique national de La Fourche


Une famille s'amuse en camping sur des lits superposés à l'intérieur d'une tente oTENTik Faire l’expérience d’une oTENTik
© Parcs Canada

Faire du camping ne sera jamais plus pareil!

Quinze minutes seulement pour monter le camp et vous vous sentez déjà chez vous dans la tente oTENTik. Maintenant, direction la plage! Au programme : châteaux de sable, trempette dans l'eau et tour de kayak. Ensuite, allez à Waskesiu en vélo pour déguster une bonne crème glacée. Ce soir, savourez des s'mores autour d'un feu de camp et glissez-vous dans le confort de votre lit. Voilà l'illustration de la journée d'été parfaite!

Parc national de Prince Albert


Pour obtenir la version imprimée de cette page, téléchargez le guide du visiteur des prairies canadiennes (PDF, 6,2 Mo) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.