Common menu bar links

Planning your Visit

The Canadian Prairies

Saskatchewan and Manitoba – a land of contrast, mystery, history and beauty. Discover the subarctic tundra and Hudson Bay coastline where whales, caribou, and polar bears abound. Take in the vastness of the open prairie. Marvel at sunsets and the unexpected encounters with rare plants and animals. Explore the pristine and untouched boreal forest where great owl and moose live as they always have.

Browsing what the Canadian Prairies have to offer? Check out our Featured Experiences.

Looking for a specific location? Consult the map, or use the pull-down menu below to go directly there.

1,2,3, GO!

Stow the electronics and pack up the kids! It's time to get out and get active with your family, at a price everybody can afford. The little ones will beg to come back again and you'll be happy to oblige when you see how quickly they conk out after a day of outdoor fun. Now that's awesome!

Children with female interpreter in cook tent Tasting from the food tent
© Parks Canada

Fort adventure in the cypress hills

Dive into the 1870s and discover how Canadian law was brought to the West. Meet characters in period costume, scout out the new trading post and Métis cabins activities, and be witness to a trial. Be sure to follow your nose and taste from the food tent!

Fort Walsh National Historic Site


Children searching for caches Finding caches in Batoche
© Parks Canada

Seek and scamper geocaching challenge

Here? There? How about over there? Hike the scenic Batoche landscape and trails along the beautiful South Saskatchewan River to discover hidden secrets. Can you find all the caches? Try your luck and earn your souvenir Batoche Geocoin during this fun geocaching adventure.

Batoche National Historic Site


Children having fun at a playground Playing around at the Forks
© Parks Canada

Pint-Sized Park

Discover the history of The Forks and its people at the Variety Heritage Adventure Park and engage all the senses. Climb a Red River Cart and lookout for charging bison, use your creativity on a traditional beadwork board, or hop aboard the Countess of Dufferin locomotive as you trace your journey through the Prairies!

The Forks National Historic Site


Children having a cup of tea Having tea at Lower Fort Garry
© Parks Canada

Tea for two... or three...

You’re invited to the Big House where a pint-sized tea party is underway - don’t be late! Little ones take a seat at tiny tables where tiny tea sets and tiny costumes await. Have an imaginary tea party and learn how they did it in the 1850s.

Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site


Family playing in the sand Enjoying the beach at Riding Mountain
© Parks Canada

Wonderful Wasagaming! Pristine Waters...

There is so much to do at Clear Lake: swimming, canoeing, kayaking, fishing, shopping, restaurants, trails and more ... the sky’s the limit. Build a sandcastle, golf, hike, or bike some of the best in the region. Once you visit you will always come back... P.S. Don’t forget the ice cream! : )

Riding Mountain National Park


Want a print version? Download the visitor guide for the Canadian Prairies (PDF, 4.79 MB) or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

Planifiez votre visite

Les prairies canadiennes

Saskatchewan et Manitoba, terres de contrastes, de mystères, d'histoire et de beauté. Découvrez la toundra subarctique et le littoral de la baie d'Hudson, là où vivent en abondance la baleine, le caribou et l'ours polaire. Laissez-vous captiver par l'immensité de la prairie. Admirez avec émerveillement les couchers de soleil, les plantes et les animaux rares qui s'offrent à vos yeux. Explorez la forêt boréale, vierge et belle, qui abrite la chouette lapone et l'orignal comme elle le fait depuis toujours.

Curieux de savoir ce que vous pouvez faire dans les prairies canadiennes? Découvrez nos expériences vedettes dans les prairies canadiennes.

Vous cherchez un endroit en particulier? Consultez la carte ou utilisez le menu déroulant pour vous y rendre directement.

1-2-3, GO!

Rangez les appareils électroniques et préparez les enfants! C'est le temps de sortir et de bouger avec votre famille, à un prix que tout le monde peut se permettre. Les petits vous supplieront de revenir et vous le ferez avec plaisir lorsque vous verrez avec quelle rapidité ils s'écroulent de fatigue après une journée d'activités en plein air. Ça c'est génial!

Une femme interprète et les enfants sous la tente à manger. Se régaler à la tente de restauration
© Parcs Canada

À l'assaut du Fort Walsh au cœur des collines Cypress

Replongez dans les années 1870 et apprenez comment les lois canadiennes ont été établies dans l'Ouest. Allez à la rencontre des personnages en costumes d'époque, découvrez les nouvelles activités du poste de traite et des cabanes des Métis, et assistez à un procès. Rendez vous ensuite à la tente de restauration pour vous régaler!

Lieu historique national du Fort-Walsh


Enfants cherchant des caches À la recherche d’indices à Batoche
© Parcs Canada

À la découverte de secrets cachés : la géocachette

Ici? Là? Et par là-bas? Partez à la recherche des secrets cachés du paysage pittoresque de Batoche, en parcourant les sentiers le long de la magnifique rivière Saskatchewan-Sud. Parviendrez-vous à trouver toutes les caches? Lancez-vous dans cette aventure amusante de géocachette et tentez votre chance d'obtenir votre géopièce-souvenir de Batoche.

Lieu historique national de Batoche


Enfants jouants dans une aire de jeu S’amuser dans un parc à La Fourche
© Parcs Canada

Un parc miniature

Retracez l'histoire de la Fourche et de ses habitants au Parc des aventuriers du patrimoine Variety et partez à l'aventure! Grimpez sur une charrette de la rivière Rouge et essayez de repérer un bison, ou montez à bord de la locomotive Countess of Dufferin pour une expédition à travers les Prairies!

Lieu historique national de La Fourche


Enfants prenant le thé Prendre le thé au Lower Fort Garry
© Parcs Canada

Une tasse de thé?

Vous êtes invités à prendre le thé dans la Grande maison. Soyez à l'heure! Les enfants prennent place autour de toutes petites tables où les attendent dinette et costumes d'époque. Profitez de ce goûter imaginaire pour découvrir comment on prenait le thé dans les années 1850.

Lieu historique national de Lower Fort Garry


Famille jouant dans le sable S’amuser à la plage au Mont-Riding
© Parcs Canada

Les paysages merveilleux de Wasagaming

Il y a tant d'activités à faire au lac Clear : nager, faire du canot ou du kayak, pêcher, magasiner, aller au restaurant, parcourir les sentiers et bien d'autres choses encore... Ici, les loisirs sont illimités! Construisez un château de sable, jouez au golf, parcourez les plus beaux sentiers de la région à pied ou à vélo. On revient toujours au lac Clear... P.-S. : N'oubliez pas de déguster une crème glacée!

Parc national du Mont-Riding


Pour obtenir la version imprimée de cette page, téléchargez le guide du visiteur des prairies canadiennes (PDF, 6,2 Mo) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.