Common menu bar links

Planning your Visit

Ontario

While its forts dramatically echo the gunfire of the War of 1812 and the Rebellion of 1837-38, Ontario's historic houses mirror the lives of Canada's prime ministers and a legendary hero. The historic canals and waterways unlock the mysteries of early transportation and commerce. The beautiful national parks and national marine conservation areas introduce you to Ontario's most spectacular landscapes and unique ecosystems.

Browsing what Ontario has to offer? Check out our Featured Experiences.

Looking for a specific location? Consult the map, or use the pull-down menu below to go directly there.

ESCAPE THE OFFICE

It's time to reclaim that balance in your life and enrich those family bonds. Opportunities abound to have fun and recharge your batteries in our national parks and national historic sites. The choices are endless... All you have to do is pick one!

Musket demonstration by interpreters in period costume Musket firing at Fort George
© Parks Canada

Hands on History

Step through the gates, and travel back to when Canada's very existence hung in the balance. Enjoy a once in a lifetime opportunity to fire an authentic soldiers' musket, the same used 200 years ago to defend our country in the War of 1812. An experience like no other!

Fort George National Historic Site


Children mountain biking at Beausoleil Island Cycling by the bay
© Parks Canada

Bike and hike an island in Georgian Bay

Leaves crunch under your mountain bike tires as you cruise through the golden hues of the Huron Trail. When the hardwoods give way to hemlocks, follow the trail on foot. The panoramas are just ahead: granite outcrops, windswept white pines and blue water – the same views that inspired the Group of Seven. It’s an idyllic fall day!

Georgian Bay Islands National Park


Two women birdwatching Birdwatching at Point Pelee
© Parks Canada

One hundred species challenge

Ninety-eight, Ninety-nine... wow! There it is... 100! In only a few days, you’ve spotted both common and rare species. Completing the challenge merits a commemorative pin. After a morning of being engulfed by a symphony of song, you return to the Visitor Centre greeted by friends, old and new, eager to share your sightings.

Point Pelee National Park


Vegetables Heritage garden spoils
© Parks Canada

Cultivating experiences in a Prime Minister’s garden

The smells of hollyhocks lure you from the house to the heritage gardens. A costumed gardener offers a taste of the latest crop. It doesn’t get fresher than that! Before you know it you are getting your hands dirty, imagining how a young Sir John A Macdonald must have savoured this scene.

Bellevue House National Historic Site


Visitor experience with costumed interpreters Touring behind the scenes at Laurier House
© Parks Canada

Behind the Barriers

As a VIP guest, you have been granted access to the historic house of two of our prime ministers. You roam the halls of this grand house, visiting hidden rooms and perusing rare antiques, stunning art, and unseen artifacts. Don’t forget to add your signature to the list of famous visitors who have graced the rooms of Laurier House.

Laurier House National Historic Site


Want a print version? Download the visitor guide for Ontario (PDF 6,3 Mo) or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

Planifiez votre visite

Ontario

Tandis que les forts répercutent encore l'écho du grondement des canons de la guerre de 1812 et des rébellions de 1837-1838, des maisons historiques rappellent la vie des premiers ministres du Canada et d'un héros légendaire. Les canaux et voies navigables déroulent leurs méandres et dévoilent les mystères des voies de transport et du commerce d'autrefois. Nos merveilleux parcs nationaux vous invitent à découvrir les paysages spectaculaires et les remarquables écosystèmes de l'Ontario.

Curieux de savoir ce que vous pouvez faire en Ontario? Découvrez nos expériences vedettes en Ontario.

Vous cherchez un endroit en particulier? Consultez la carte ou utilisez le menu déroulant pour vous y rendre directement.

LOIN DU BUREAU, J'ADORE!

Il est temps de retrouver cet équilibre dans votre vie et d'enrichir vos liens familiaux. Les possibilités d'avoir du plaisir et de refaire le plein d'énergie abondent dans nos parcs et lieux historiques nationaux. Les options sont infinies... Tout ce que vous avez à faire, c'est d'en choisir une!

Démonstration de mousquet par des interprètes en costume d'époque. Tirer avec un authentique fusil de soldat au Fort-George
© Parcs Canada

Une page d'histoire

Traversez les portes et faites un voyage dans le temps pour vous retrouver à l'époque où l'existence même du Canada était mise en péril. Profitez d'une occasion unique de tirer avec un authentique fusil de soldat, le même qui a été utilisé il y a 200 ans pour défendre notre pays dans la guerre de 1812. Une expérience sans pareille!

Lieu historique national du Fort-George


Des enfants s'amusent sur des vélos de montagnes à l'île Beausoleil Faire du vélo sur les îles de la baie Georgienne
© Parcs Canada

Randonnée pédestre et à vélo sur une île de la baie Georgienne

Les feuilles craquent sous les pneus de votre vélo de montagne pendant que vous vous promenez au beau milieu des teintes dorées du sentier Huron. Quand les feuillus laissent la place à la pruche, suivez le sentier à pied. Les paysages sont époustouflants : les affleurements de granit, les pins blancs déformés par le vent et l'eau bleue; les mêmes coups d'œil qui ont inspiré le Groupe des Sept. C'est une journée idyllique d'automne!

Parc national des Îles-de-la-Baie-Georgienne


Deux amatrices d’ornithologie Observer les oiseaux à Pointe-Pelée
© Parcs Canada

Défi des cent espèces

Quatre-vingt-dix-huit, quatre-vingt-dix-neuf wow! Il y en a... 100! En quelques jours seulement, vous avez repéré des espèces communes et des espèces rares d'oiseaux. Vous avez relevé le défi, ce qui vous vaut une épinglette commémorative. Après cette matinée où vous avez été immergé dans une symphonie de chants, vous retournez au centre d'accueil salué par des amis, anciens et nouveaux, impatients de découvrir vos observations.

Parc national de la Pointe-Pelée


Légumes Découvrir un jardin patrimonial
© Parcs Canada

Culture dans le jardin d'un premier ministre

Les odeurs de rose trémière vous attirent hors de la maison vers les jardins patrimoniaux. Un jardinier costumé vous offre de goûter ce qu'il vient de récolter. Rien de plus frais! Avant même de vous en apercevoir, vos mains se salissent, et vous vous imaginez comment le jeune Sir John A. Macdonald a dû savourer cette scène.

Lieu historique national de la Villa-Bellevue


Expérience du visiteur avec un interprète. Une visite privilégiée dans la maison de Laurier
© Parcs Canada

Derrière les barrières

Comme invité de marque, on vous a accordé l'accès à la maison historique de deux de nos premiers ministres. Vous errez dans les couloirs de cette grande maison, visitez des pièces cachées et examinez attentivement de rares antiquités, des œuvres d'art incroyables et des artefacts inédits. N'oubliez pas d'ajouter votre signature à la liste des célèbres visiteurs qui ont honoré par leur présence les pièces de la maison Laurier.

Lieur historique national de la Maison-Laurier


Pour obtenir la version imprimée de cette page, téléchargez le guide du visiteur de l'Ontario (PDF, 6,3 Mo) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.