Common menu bar links

Planning your Visit

Northern Canada

Dare to go where few have gone before, to the far-flung reaches of national parks and national historic sites in northern Canada. Outstanding, exotic experiences await you in the gorgeous tundra, mountainous landscapes and unbroken forests of the North.

Browsing what Northern Canada has to offer? Check out our Featured Experiences.

Looking for a specific location? Consult the map, or use the pull-down menu below to go directly there.

YUKON EPIC!

Check off your bucket list and head to the Yukon! Fly over ancient icefields and past Canada's tallest peak. Follow the trail of the Klondike Gold Rush. Paddle backcountry rivers or fly to an Arctic base camp for the hiking trip of a lifetime. You'll wonder why it took you this long to visit.
Now that's awesome!

Service Cabin Crowd Following in a poets footsteps
© CCT/F. Mueller

Endless Adventures in Never-Ending Daylight

Daylight is all around you and this amazing view just won't quit. It's hard to believe it's evening as the sunlight and hillside invite you to play again, just one more time, before you call it a night. What a day: a grizzly bear in the distance, a moose so close, a creek crossing that cooled your feet, and good friends to share the adventure. And the best part? There's still tomorrow!

Kluane National Park and Reserve


Family Pyramid Paddlewheeler Exploring a paddlewheeler
© Parks Canada/F. Mueller

Paddlewheeler Play

Smile as you watch your kids bounce from one discovery to another exploring this stately paddlewheeler, pretending to embark on a great adventure. Marvel at the mighty Yukon River swirling by as you enjoy your picnic lunch on the riverbank. While making beautiful memories, you wonder where this trip will take you next.

S.S. Klondike National Historic Site


Hikers Vast Glaciers Camping under the midnight sunt
© Parks Canada/F. Mueller

"O Dear Little Cabin"

It's a beautiful day in Dawson City: clear blue sky, sun sparkling through the trees. Your group hikes up the hillside where poet Robert Service was inspired to write his memorable verse. As you journey along the trail to the Crocus Bluff you are filled with a sense of awe, while listening to Service's words, "There's gold, and it's haunting and haunting; It's luring me on as of old; ... It's the beauty that thrills me with wonder, It's the stillness that fills me with peace."

Klondike National Historic Sites


Hiking along Turquoise Lake Hiking the Chilkoot Trail
© Parks Canada/Government of Yukon

A Trail Like No Other

You glance back at the trail you’ve covered. Unbelievable! You realize you’re reliving the journey of all those gold-seekers that stampeded to the Klondike. Every moment is a thrill and a rush. Up the Golden Stairs, reaching the summit of the Chilkoot Pass, the vast beauty that surrounds you is breathtaking. All those years dreaming of this place, and now you’ve made it. e

Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site


Hiker on majestic landscape Hiking majestic tors
© Parks Canada/J.F. Bisaillon

Follow Your #Arcticdream

Fly over the Mackenzie Delta and into the heart of the British Mountains. Enjoy arctic base camp living at Sheep Creek. Hike with local guides to Inspiration Point and the majestic tors of Halfway to Heaven. Listen to the stories of Inuvialuit people whose connections to this land go back generations. Bask in the glow of the midnight sun.

Ivvavik National Park


Want a print version? Download the visitor guide for Northern Canada or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

Planifiez votre visite

Le Nord canadien

Osez explorer des endroits où peu de gens se sont aventurés, dans les coins les plus reculés des parcs nationaux de l'Arctique canadien. Des expériences hors du commun, vous en vivrez dans la splendide toundra, dans les régions montagneuses et dans les forêts vierges du Nord.

Curieux de savoir ce que vous pouvez faire dans le Nord canadien? Découvrez nos expériences vedettes dans le Nord canadien.

Vous cherchez un endroit en particulier? Consultez la carte ou utilisez le menu déroulant pour vous y rendre directement.

YUKON WOW

Cochez votre liste des endroits à visiter en partant pour le Yukon. Survolez d’anciens champs de glace ainsi que le sommet qui fut autrefois le plus élevé du Canada. Partez sur les traces des chercheurs d’or du Klondike. Pagayez sur les rivières de l’arrière-pays ou envolez-vous vers un camp de base en Arctique pour y faire de la randonnée et vivre l’aventure de votre vie. Vous vous demanderez pourquoi vous avez attendu si longtemps avant de visiter cet endroit. Ça c’est génial!


Foule à la cabine Service Suivez les pas d'un poète reconnu
© CCT/F. Mueller

Des aventures extraordinaires là où le soleil ne se couche jamais

Le soleil vous accompagne partout et vous ne pourrez jamais oublier ces paysages spectaculaires. Il est difficile de croire que la journée tire à sa fin quand la lumière du soleil de minuit vous invite à jouer encore un peu. Quelle journée! Un grizzly aperçu au loin, un orignal si près, la traversée d’un ruisseau pour se rafraîchir les pieds et des amis fidèles pour partager cette aventure. Et le meilleur dans tout ça? Demain, ça continue!

Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane


Famille pyramide vapeur à aube Explorer un vapeur à aubes
© Parcs Canada/F. Mueller

Amusez-vous sur un vapeur à aubes

Vous observez, l’air amusé, vos enfants aller de découverte en découverte tandis qu’ils explorent ce vapeur à aubes majestueux et s’imaginent vivre une formidable aventure. Émerveillez-vous devant le tout-puissant fleuve Yukon en savourant votre pique-nique sur la rive. À mesure que vous faites le plein de souvenirs mémorables, vous vous demandez où ce périple vous mènera ensuite.

Lieu historique national S.S. Klondike


Randonneurs de vastes glaciers Camper sous le soleil de minuit
© Parcs Canada/F. Mueller

« Ma chère petite cabane »

C’est une journée radieuse à Dawson : le ciel est bleu. Les rayons de soleil scintillent entre les arbres. Votre groupe gravit le versant de montagne qui inspira le célèbre poème de Robert Service. Vous parcourez le sentier qui vous mène à Crocus Bluff, lorsqu’une sensation d’émerveillement vous envahit; vous entendez le poète prononcer ces paroles : « Il y a de l’or, qui hante et qui obsède. Il me leurre comme autrefois; … C’est la beauté qui m’enchante et m’émerveille, c’est le calme qui m’apaise. »

Lieux historiques nationaux du Klondike


Randonnée le long de lac turquoise Randonnée sur la piste Chilkoot
© Parcs Canada/Gouvernment d'Yukon

Un sentier unique en son genre

Vous vous retournez pour observer le chemin que vous venez de parcourir. Incroyable! Vous réalisez soudainement que vous revivez le périple de tous ces chercheurs d’or qui se sont rués vers le Klondike. Que d’émotions! Vous en avez des frissons. Une dernière montée et vous atteignez le sommet du col de Chilkoot. Du haut de l’escalier doré, vous admirez ces vastes espaces, des paysages à couper le souffle. Tant d’années à rêver de cet endroit, vous y êtes enfin. C’est l’extase!

Lieu historique national de la Piste-Chilkoot


Randonneur sur le paysage majestueux Randonnée au cœur des monts Britanniques
© Parcs Canada/J.F. Bisaillon

Réalisez votre #rêve arctique

Survolez le delta du Mackenzie et plongez au coeur des monts Britanniques. Découvrez la vie dans un camp de base arctique au poste du ruisseau Sheep. En compagnie de guides locaux, partez en randonnée à la découverte d’Inspiration Point et des tors majestueux de Halfway to Heaven. Écoutez les récits du peuple Inuvialuit dont les liens avec ces terres remontent à plusieurs générations. Vivez l’expérience du soleil de minuit.

Parc national Ivvavik


Pour obtenir la version imprimée de cette page, téléchargez le guide du visiteur du Nord canadien (PDF, 5,2 Mo) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.