Common menu bar links

Planning your Visit

Northern Canada

Dare to go where few have gone before, to the far-flung reaches of national parks and national historic sites in northern Canada. Outstanding, exotic experiences await you in the gorgeous tundra, mountainous landscapes and unbroken forests of the North.

Browsing what Northern Canada has to offer? Check out our Featured Experiences.

Looking for a specific location? Consult the map, or use the pull-down menu below to go directly there.

STARE AWESOME IN THE FACE

See the bison, muskox and caribou journey across these lands. Spot whooping cranes soaring across ancient Salt Plains. Hear the stories of the Dene, Metis and Inuvialuit people who have called this place home for generations. Paddle legendary rivers. Listen to the thunder of Náįlįcho (Virginia Falls). Kick back and relax at an Arctic base camp beneath the midnight sun.

Enjoying Tuktut Nogait Taking inthe views of Brock River
© Parks Canada/Pinette Robinson

Thrill of a Lifetime

Welcome to the home of the Bluenose West caribou herd, wolves, grizzly bears, muskoxen, arctic char and many raptors. Paddle the crystal clear Hornaday River. Stay at an Arctic base camp and day-hike the rolling terrain to marvel at the lush tundra in bloom. Take in the view of the Brock River. There’s no need to rush in this ancient land.

Tuktut Nogait National Park


Twin Baby Muskox Muskoxen watching
© Parks Canada/Eric Baron

Modern Explorer

Journey to the “place where people travel,” witness to 3,500 years of human history. See the largest concentration of muskoxen in the world as they graze on softly rolling hills. Paddle the Thomsen River, the most northerly navigable river in Canada. Meander through arctic tundra. Be one of the few modern adventurers to experience this ancient landscape. What a thrill!

Aulavik National Park


Boys at Salt Plains Strolling the salt-dusted plains
© Parks Canada

North Within Reach

Follow the road to Canada’s largest national park. Catch a coveted glance of a whooping crane or free-roaming wood bison. Stroll through unique salt-dusted plains to touch and taste salt from ancient seas. Play in the gentle waters of a sinkhole lake. Wait for sundown: the brilliant stars over this Dark Sky Preserve, the world’s largest, will wow you.

Wood Buffalo National Park


Canoeists at Moose Ponds Enjoying a river journey
© Parks Canada/L.Dueck

Be Among the First!

Challenge yourself to a river journey through boulder gardens and rapids. Ride the wild headwaters of the South Nahanni. Travel through the traditional lands of the Shútagot’ine, the Mountain Dene. Bask in the solitude on the shores of lakes ringed by majestic ranges. Be awed by Nááts'ihch'oh, the mountain of great spiritual power. Put on your boots and hike the rugged terrain. Discover Nááts’ihch’oh, one of the newest national parks in Canada.

Nááts’ihch’oh National Park Reserve


Virginia Falls Experiencing the thrilling splash of whitewater
© Parks Canada / Aaron Donahue

Quest in the Land of Giants

Your flight into Nahanni is a sensory overload. Feel the thrilling splash of whitewater. Trek through the spires of the Ragged Range. Make a pilgrimage to Gahnįhthah Tufa Mounds, home of the Horizon Walker. Feed the fire in a traditional Dene ceremony. Challenge your mind, your body, your soul. Find your Nahanni.

Nahanni National Park Reserve


Want a print version? Download the visitor guide for Northern Canada or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

Planifiez votre visite

Le Nord canadien

Osez explorer des endroits où peu de gens se sont aventurés, dans les coins les plus reculés des parcs nationaux de l'Arctique canadien. Des expériences hors du commun, vous en vivrez dans la splendide toundra, dans les régions montagneuses et dans les forêts vierges du Nord.

Curieux de savoir ce que vous pouvez faire dans le Nord canadien? Découvrez nos expériences vedettes dans le Nord canadien.

Vous cherchez un endroit en particulier? Consultez la carte ou utilisez le menu déroulant pour vous y rendre directement.

TERRITOIRES DU NORD-OUEST : TOMBEZ SOUS LE CHARME

Venez voir les bisons, les boeufs musqués et les caribous qui vivent sur ces terres. Observez des grues blanches fendre le ciel des anciennes plaines salées. Écoutez les récits des Dénés, des Métis et des Inuvialuit qui vivent en ces lieux depuis tant de générations. Pagayez sur des rivières emblématiques. Écoutez le grondement de Náįlįcho (chute Virginia). Détendez-vous sous le soleil de minuit dans un camp de base en Arctique.

Bénéficiant Tuktut Nogait Admirer les paysages de la rivière Brock
© Parcs Canada/Pinette Robinson

L'aventure d'une vie

Bienvenue à Bluenose-West, où vivent des hardes de caribous, des loups, des grizzlis, des boeufs musqués, des ombles arctiques ainsi que de nombreux rapaces. Pagayez sur les eaux cristallines de la rivière Hornaday. Séjournez dans un camp de base en Arctique et partez en randonnée d’une journée dans un terrain vallonné où vous vous émerveillerez devant la luxuriante toundra en fleur. Admirez la rivière Brock. Relaxez. Rien ne presse lorsque vous vous trouvez sur ces terres anciennes.

Parc national Tuktut Nogait


Bébé bœuf musqué double Admirer les bœufs musqués
© Parcs Canada/Eric Baron

Explorateur moderne

Rendez-vous dans ce « lieu où les gens voyagent » et découvrez 3 500 années d’histoire de l’humanité. Observez la plus grande concentration de hardes de boeufs musqués au monde. Admirez-les paître sur les collines aux courbes douces. Pagayez sur la rivière Thomsen, la rivière navigable la plus au nord du Canada. Explorez la toundra arctique. Faites partie des rares aventuriers modernes à découvrir ce paysage ancien. Des moments inoubliables!

Parc national Aulavik


Garçons à Salt Plains Traverser les plaines recouvertes d'une poussière saline
© Parcs Canada

Le Nord à votre portée

Suivez la route menant au plus grand parc national du Canada. Observez la grue blanche ou le bison des bois qui erre en toute liberté. Traversez les plaines recouvertes d’une poussière saline unique afin de toucher et de goûter le sel des mers préhistoriques. Batifolez dans les eaux paisibles d’un lac qui s’est formé dans une doline. Attendez le coucher du soleil et contemplez le firmament de cette plus grande réserve de ciel étoilé au monde.

Parc national Wood Buffalo


Canoéistes à Moose Pond Faire du canot sur une rivière
© Parcs Canada/L.Dueck

Soyez parmi les premiers!

Mettez-vous au défi de descendre les rapides d’une rivière. Parcourez les eaux d’amont de la rivière Nahanni Sud. Voyagez sur les terres ancestrales des Shútagot’ine, les Dénés des montagnes. Prenez un bain de soleil sur les rives des lacs bordés de chaînes de montagnes majestueuses. Imprégnez-vous de la puissance spirituelle qui émane de la montagne Nááts’ihch’oh. Enfilez vos chaussures de randonnée et aventurez-vous sur le terrain accidenté. Découvrez le parc national Nááts’ihch’oh, l’un un des plus récents parcs nationaux du Canada.

Réserve de parc national Nááts’ihch’oh


Virginia Falls Admirez des canyons grandioses creusés par les eaux vives de la rivière
© Parcs Canada / Aaron Donahue

Lancez-vous dans une quête sur la terre des géants

Votre vol en direction de Nahanni ne vous laissera pas indifférent. Laissez-vous impressionner par le rythme des eaux vives. Partez en randonnée sur les sommets du chaînon Ragged. Entreprenez un pèlerinage vers les amoncellements de tuf calcaire de Gahnįhthah, la demeure des arpenteurs d’horizon. Attisez le feu lors d’une cérémonie dénée. Mettez votre esprit, votre corps et votre âme au défi. Trouvez votre Nahanni.

Réserve de parc national Nahanni


Pour obtenir la version imprimée de cette page, téléchargez le guide du visiteur du Nord canadien (PDF, 5,2 Mo) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.