Common menu bar links

Planning your Visit

Northern Canada

Dare to go where few have gone before, to the far-flung reaches of national parks and national historic sites in northern Canada. Outstanding, exotic experiences await you in the gorgeous tundra, mountainous landscapes and unbroken forests of the North.

Browsing what Northern Canada has to offer? Check out our Featured Experiences.

Looking for a specific location? Consult the map, or use the pull-down menu below to go directly there.

NUNAVUT: LIKE NOWHERE ELSE

Find yourself amid towering cliffs and spectacular mountains wrapped in glaciers that wind their way to the ocean. Beautiful and dynamic, this land welcomes you. The Arctic has its own pace and, falling in step, you recognize the rhythm never forgotten by those who live here. Today is the day your dream becomes your journey!

Mountaineering on Thor Mountaineering in Nunavut
© Parks Canada

Hit a High Point

Revel in the climb, that last push, that feeling of satisfaction as you open your arms wide and embrace the beauty that fills your view. Nunavut’s mountaineering possibilities include Thor Peak, the world’s highest vertical drop and Mount Barbeau, the highest point in Eastern North America. Check these peaks off your bucket list – they’re all here and all yours! Experience mountaineering in these Nunavut National Parks:

Auyuittuq National Park
Quttinirpaaq National Park
Sirmilik National Park


Skiing glacier at Bylot Backcountry skiing in Nunavut
© Bradford White

The Great White North

The brisk arctic air is a welcome relief after your ascent. Preparing your skis, you catch your breath and gaze out over distant glaciers and sharp, white peaks as far as the eye can see. Now, take a moment to consider: today you and your friends get first tracks... the only tracks. Head home with stories that nobody can top! Experience backcountry skiing in these Nunavut National Parks:

Auyuittuq National Park
Quttinirpaaq National Park
Sirmilik National Park


Kayaking in Quttinirpaaq Kayaking in Nunavut
© Parks Canada/Karen Petkau

Find Clarity

The sun never sets here in summer; you know it is night only by the profound stillness that settles over the land, the silence broken only by arctic terns calling overhead. You’ve never known an atmosphere so clear before; the distant mountains seem closer. Now’s the perfect time to push your kayak into the calm, icy water and live your dream! Experience kayaking in these Nunavut National Parks:

Quttinirpaaq National Park
Sirmilik National Park
Ukkusiksalik National Park


Polar Bear on granite Watching polar bears emerge from the water
© Paula Hughson

Wild. Life.

Watching the distant herd of muskoxen, you feel a calm stare. You turn your head and far off you see an arctic wolf, his curiosity no less than your own. Polar bear, arctic fox, walrus, narwhal... in Nunavut they are at home. This is the arctic, these are her creatures, and this is why you came.

Experience the wild in Nunavut’s National Parks.


Awe in Auyuittuq Taking in the views in Nunavut
© Michael Davies

Where Once They Stood

You can imagine you’re the first person to sit here in this land that time has seemingly forgotten. But looking closer, you notice subtle clues: ancient coinciding with recent - tent circles, an inuksuk - telling you stories of the peoples who once walked here and who walk here still.

Experience culture in all of Nunavut’s National Parks.


Want a print version? Download the visitor guide for Northern Canada or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

Planifiez votre visite

Le Nord canadien

Osez explorer des endroits où peu de gens se sont aventurés, dans les coins les plus reculés des parcs nationaux de l'Arctique canadien. Des expériences hors du commun, vous en vivrez dans la splendide toundra, dans les régions montagneuses et dans les forêts vierges du Nord.

Curieux de savoir ce que vous pouvez faire dans le Nord canadien? Découvrez nos expériences vedettes dans le Nord canadien.

Vous cherchez un endroit en particulier? Consultez la carte ou utilisez le menu déroulant pour vous y rendre directement.

NUNAVUT COMME NULLE PART AILLEURS

Retrouvez-vous au milieu de falaises à couper le souffle et de montagnes spectaculaires enveloppées de glaciers qui se fraient un chemin vers l'océan. Cette superbe contrée vous ouvre ses portes. L'Arctique vit à son propre rythme. Découvrez comment les gens qui y ont élu domicile vivent en harmonie avec ce lieu. C'est aujourd'hui que vous vivez votre rêve.

Alpinisme sur Thor Mettre ses talents d'alpinistes à l'épreuve
© Parcs Canada

Atteignez l'impossible

Une bonne dose d’adrénaline vous aide à escalader les derniers mètres. Ça y est vous avez atteint le sommet! De là-haut, la vue est à couper le souffle. Vous ouvrez grand les bras pour embrasser l’immensité de ces paysages sublimes. Le Nunavut offre de nombreuses possibilités en matière d’alpinisme, notamment le mont Thor, qui présente la dénivellation verticale la plus élevée au monde, et le mont Barbeau, le sommet le plus élevé de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord. Cochez ces sommets sur votre liste des choses à faire dans votre vie.
Mettez vos talents d’alpiniste à l’épreuve dans ces parcs nationaux du Nunavut :

Parc national Auyuittuq
Parc national Quttinirpaaq
Parc national Sirmilik


Ski glacier à Bylot Faire du ski dans les glaciers de l'Arctique
© Bradford White

Le grand Nord

L’air arctique est si vivifiant. Et vous en profitez pleinement après votre ascension. Préparez vos skis, reprenez votre souffle et admirez les glaciers au loin, ainsi que les sommets pointus et enneigés à perte de vue. Et maintenant, prenez un moment pour méditer : aujourd’hui, vous et vos amis êtes les premiers à tracer les pistes… les seules pistes. De retour à la maison, partagez vos aventures mémorables.
Pratiquez le ski dans l’arrière-pays dans ces parcs nationaux du Nunavut :

Parc national Auyuittuq
Parc national Quttinirpaaq
Parc national Sirmilik


Kayak dans Quttinirpaaq Faire une excursion en kayak sur les eaux calme et glacées de l'Artique
© Parcs Canada/Karen Petkau

Profitez de la clarté

Ici, le soleil ne se couche jamais en été. Vous savez que c’est la nuit en raison de ce calme profond qui enveloppe les terres et de ce silence interrompu uniquement par le cri des sternes arctiques qui volent au-dessus de votre tête. Vous n’avez jamais ressenti une atmosphère aussi paisible auparavant; les montagnes au loin vous semblent si près. Cest le moment parfait pour réaliser votre rêve : partir en excursion en kayak sur les eaux calmes et glacées de l’Arctique!
Pratiquez le kayak dans ces parcs nationaux du Nunavut :

Parc national Quttinirpaaq
Parc national Sirmilik
Parc national Ukkusiksalik


Ours polaire sur granite Observer des ours polaires
© Paula Hughson

Vie sauvage

Observez à distance les hardes de boeufs musqués et percevez leur regard apaisant. Puis, retournez-vous et apercevez au loin un loup arctique dont la curiosité n’a d’égal que la vôtre. Vous êtes au pays de l’ours polaire, du renard arctique, du morse, du narval… C’est d’ailleurs pour admirer cette faune unique que vous êtes venu ici en Arctique.

Découvrez la faune des parcs nationaux du Nunavut.


Awe dans Auyuittuq Admirer les paysages du Nunavut
© Michael Davies

La terre de nos ancêtres

Vous imaginez peut-être que vous êtes le premier à vous asseoir ici, sur ces terres que le temps semble avoir oubliées. Mais en regardant de plus près, vous repérez de subtils indices : l’ancien rencontre le moderne. Des tentes disposées en cercle, un inukshuk, ils sont là et ils vous racontent l’histoire des gens qui foulaient autrefois ce sol et qui le foulent encore aujourd’hui.

Découvrez la culture des peuples vivant dans les parcs nationaux du Nunavut.


Pour obtenir la version imprimée de cette page, téléchargez le guide du visiteur du Nord canadien (PDF, 5,2 Mo) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.