Common menu bar links

Planning your Visit

Atlantic Canada

Atlantic Canada is a humpback whale diving deep off Terra Nova. It's the mighty tides of Fundy, and the grizzled face of a fisherman living what is real as he stares at the North Atlantic. It's a place where the epic struggles and grand sagas of nature have been playing out for billions of years - a place with a cultural landscape so unique that the very air you breathe seems to pulse with mystery and intrigue. pulse with mystery and intrigue.

Browsing what Atlantic Canada has to offer? Check out our Featured Experiences.

Looking for a specific location? Consult the map, or use the pull-down menu below to go directly there.

ESCAPE THE OFFICE

It’s time to reclaim that balance in your life and enrich those family bonds. Opportunities abound to have fun and recharge your batteries in our national parks and national historic sites. The choices are endless... all you have to do is pick one!

Man sitting on the top of a cliff is watching the horizon Admiring the Earth’s mantle in Gros Morne
© Parks Canada / Brushett

See the Earth Naked

Go on. Admit it. You always wanted to know what Earth looked like under all those trees and water, didn’t you? Here’s your chance! Get to the Tablelands, where Earth’s mantle is revealed, and then head off trail to discover what the world is really made of. One thing’s for sure: you’ll never look at Earth the same way again.

Gros Morne National Park


Young girl holding a crab in her hand Exploring the ocean’s secrets
© Parks Canada / C. Reardon

Walk the Ocean’s Floor!

As the tide completes its six-hour long descent and reaches its lowest point, discover the many living things left behind. Walk the ocean’s floor and explore the secrets of the vast intertidal zone. Eventually the incoming tide starts poking at your feet until it regains its lost ground. Savor this fleeting moment.

Fundy National Park


Couple sitting on the top of a trail watching the sunset Taking in a gorgeous sunset in Cape Breton Highlands
© Parks Canada / D. Wilson

Sunset at Land’s End

Immerse yourself in nature’s masterpiece where the mountains truly meet the sea. Be led on an open headland 400 metres above the Atlantic Ocean to witness a breathtaking sunset at the end of the Skyline trail. Don’t forget your camera: bald eagles, moose and whales often make an appearance!

Cape Breton Highlands National Park


Visitors in a canoe approaching a large group of seals Paddling with seals in Kouchibouguac
© Parks Canada / C. Reardon

Adventure in a voyageur canoe

Take off your lifejacket and grab your camera, the adventure begins. You have the feeling of being a fearless traveller looking for treasure. You get close to the sandbanks when suddenly, you hear mysterious sounds. Terns, ospreys and... hundreds of grey seals, they're everywhere! Some bask in the sun, while others do their morning swimming exercises. You're completely amazed.

Kouchibouguac National Park


A fisherman watching the sea a harpoon in his hand Exploring the sights, sound and smells of the life and times of Basque
© Parks Canada / C. Reardon

Soundings

Explore the sights, sounds, and smells of the life and times of Basque Whalers at Red Bay Basque Whaling Station World Heritage Site. You'll hear stories of hardship and promise, love and loss, whales and woes, and along they way, sample some food and maybe, just maybe, catch sight of that Basque ship anchored in the bay.

Red Bay National Historic Site and UNESCO World Heritage Site


Want a print version? Download the visitor guide for Atlantic Canada or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

Planifiez votre visite

Le Canada atlantique

Le Canada atlantique, c'est une baleine à bosse qui plonge profondément dans les eaux au large de Terra-Nova. C'est la force spectaculaire des marées de Fundy. C'est le visage grisonnant d'un pêcheur qui vit le moment présent, le regard fixé sur l'Atlantique Nord. C'est un endroit où les luttes épiques et les grandes sagas de la nature ont laissé leur trace depuis des milliards d'années. C'est une région aux paysages culturels si exceptionnels que même l'air que vous respirez semble imprégné de mystère et d'intrigues.

Curieux de savoir ce que vous pouvez faire au Canada atlantique? Découvrez nos expériences vedettes au Canada atlantique.

Vous cherchez un endroit en particulier? Consultez la carte ou utilisez le menu déroulant pour vous y rendre directement.

LOIN DU BUREAU, J'ADORE!

Il est temps de retrouver cet équilibre dans votre vie et d'enrichir vos liens familiaux. Les possibilités d'avoir du plaisir et de refaire le plein d'énergie abondent dans nos parcs et lieux historiques nationaux. Les options sont infinies... Tout ce que vous avez à faire, c'est d'en choisir une!

Un homme est assis au sommet d’une montagne  et  regarde l’horizon au loin Admirer le manteau de la Terre à Gros-Morne
© Parcs Canada / C. Reardon

Voyez la Terre nue

Allez, avouez-le. Vous avez toujours voulu savoir à quoi ressemble la Terre sous tous ces arbres et cette eau, n'est-ce pas? Voici l'occasion de le faire! Visitez les Tablelands, où le manteau de la Terre est dénudé et parcourez le sentier afin de découvrir de quoi est réellement composée la planète. Une chose est sûre, vous ne verrez plus jamais la Terre de la même façon.

Parc national du Gros-Morne


Jeune fille tenant un crabe dans sa main La mer dévoile ses secrets à Fundy
© Parcs Canada / C. Reardon

Arpentez le plancher océanique!

Découvrez, pendant que la marée effectue sa descente de six heures pour atteindre son point le plus bas, la multitude d'êtres vivants qu'elle laisse derrière elle. Arpentez le plancher océanique et explorez les secrets de la vaste zone intertidale. La marée qui remonte finira par revenir vous chatouiller les pieds jusqu'à ce qu'elle regagne le terrain perdu. Savourez ce moment éphémère.

Parc national Fundy


Couple sitting on the top of a trail watching the sunset Un couple assis sur un cap et regarde le coucher de soleil sur l’océan
© Parcs Canada / C. Reardon

Coucher du soleil à l'horizon des terres

Immergez-vous dans le chef-d'œuvre de la nature à l'endroit où les montagnes rencontrent la mer. Laissez-vous conduire sur un cap dégagé à 400 mètres au-dessus de l'océan Atlantique pour admirer un coucher de soleil qui vous coupera le souffle à l'extrémité du sentier Skyline. N'oubliez pas votre appareil photo : les pygargues à tête blanche, les orignaux et les baleines font souvent une apparition!

Parc national du Canada des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton


Des visiteurs en canot observent un groupe de phoques qui sont près de leur embarcation Pagayer avec les phoques à Kouchibouguac
© Parcs Canada / C. Reardon

Aventure en canot voyageur

Enfilez vos gilets et sortez vos appareils photos, l'aventure commence. Vous avez l'impression d'être un intrépide voyageur à la recherche de trésors. Vous approchez des bancs de sable lorsque soudain vous entendez des sons mystérieux. Des sternes, des balbuzards et… des centaines phoques gris, ils sont partout! Certains se prélassent au soleil, tandis que d'autres font leurs exercices de nage matinale. Vous êtes complètement émerveillés.

Parc national de Kouchibouguac


Un pêcheur regarde la mer, un harpon à la main Découvrir les scènes, les sons et les odeurs de la vie des baleiniers
© Parcs Canada / C. Reardon

Contemplations

Explorez les scènes, les sons et les odeurs de la vie et de l'époque des baleiniers basques au lieu historique national du Canada de Red Bay, aussi un site du patrimoine mondial. Vous entendrez des récits de misère et de promesses, d'amour et de disparitions, de baleines et de malheurs. Profitez de votre visite pour déguster quelques aliments et peut-être, seulement peut-être, apercevoir un bateau basque ancré dans la baie.

Lieu historique national de Red Bay et site du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO


Pour obtenir la version imprimée de cette page, téléchargez le guide du visiteur du Canada atlantique (PDF, 9,6 Mo) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.