Common menu bar links

World Heritage: Canada

The Klondike

Yukon and British Columbia


 

Name of country: CANADA

List drawn up by:
Parks Canada Agency
25 Eddy Street
Gatineau (Quebec) K1A 0M5

Date: March 2004

NAME OF PROPERTY

THE KLONDIKE

GEOGRAPHICAL LOCATION

YUKON and BRITISH COLUMBIA 64°N - 139°W

DESCRIPTION:

The transboundary serial cultural landscapes in First Nations traditional territories, including the Tr’ochëk fishing camp, and the Chilkoot Trail, the Klondike gold fields and the historic district of Dawson, illustrate life before, during and after the Klondike Gold Rush of 1896-1898, the last and most renowned of the world’s great 19th century gold rushes. First Nations story cycles and languages articulate this environment, which reflects centuries of continuing indigenous use as well as the physical and cultural transformations wrought by a half-century of corporate mining. The 53-km Chilkoot Trail, from Taiya Inlet in Alaska over the Coast Mountains to the headwaters of the Yukon River in British Columbia, links the Pacific coast to the Yukon interior. An Aboriginal trade and travel route for centuries, the trail brought thousands of Stampeders to the Klondike gold fields from 1896 to 1898. Downriver from this commemorative trail, at the confluence of the Klondike and Yukon rivers, is the Tr’ochëk fishing camp, the centre of the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in traditional territory. Dawson sits opposite. Its hastily constructed, false-fronted wooden buildings, with some relicts and open spaces amid them, illustrate life during the gold rush and after. More opulent administrative and institutional buildings speak to the one-time prosperity of this former territorial capital. Beyond lie the Klondike gold fields centred on Rabbit (later Bonanza) Creek, site of the 1896 discovery of gold by James “Skookum Jim” Mason (Keish), sites of the labour-intensive individual miner society, the gigantic Dredge No. 4, and massive tailing piles left by corporate mechanized mining. Nearby are the relict mining camp headquarters at Bear Creek. Small-scale mining operations continue in the gold fields today. First Nations and newcomers continue an ongoing cultural accommodation, including negotiated land settlement agreements. The American components of this proposal, including the historic district of Skagway, Alaska, are not yet on the American Tentative List.

JUSTIFICATION OF "OUTSTANDING UNIVERSAL VALUE"

Criteria met:

(iv) The Klondike is an outstanding example of a landscape which illustrates exceptional adaptation and innovation by First Nations people for thousands of years, up to the present day, in responding to a challenging environment;

(v) It is an outstanding example of a mining landscape which includes the resource, transportation, supply, administrative and institutional components.

Assurances of authenticity and/or integrity:

The site of a traditional Hän fishing camp was established as a Tr’ochëk heritage site under the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Land Claim Agreement, and is owned by the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in First Nation. In 2001 it was designated a National Historic Site of Canada. Parks Canada continues to work cooperatively with the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in on the protection and preservation of the site. The Chilkoot Trail is managed segmentally as a National Historic Site by Parks Canada, and as an International Historical Park by the U.S. National Park Service. The Dawson Historical Complex National Historic Site is managed by Parks Canada in cooperation with local stakeholders under a Commemorative Integrity Statement and a recent management plan. Parks Canada also owns and operates the Dredge No. 4, SS Klondike and SS Keno national historic sites under Commemorative Integrity Statements and management plans. Discovery Claim National Historic Site is managed by the Klondyke Centennial Society. The properties of Bear Creek, Bonanza Reserve and another portion of Discovery Claim are not designated as national historic sites, but are currently owned and managed by Parks Canada.

Comparison with other similar properties:

Cultural landscapes associated with the preludes and aftermaths of the California gold rush of 1848-49 (U.S.A.), the Central Victoria gold rush of 1851 (Australia) and the Witwatersrand gold rush of 1886 (South Africa) are differentiated from the Klondike by access, environment, time period, subsequent development patterns and negotiation of cultural accommodation with indigenous peoples.

Patrimoine mondial : Canada

Le Klondike

Yukon et Colombie-Britannique


 

Nom du pays : CANADA

Liste établie par :
Agence Parcs Canada
25, rue Eddy
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0M5

Date : Mars 2004

NOM DU BIEN

LE KLONDIKE

SITUATION GÉOGRAPHIQUE

YUKON ET COLOMBIE-BRITANNIQUE 64°N - 139°O

DESCRIPTION

Les paysages culturels transfrontaliers du territoire traditionnel des Premières nations, dont le camp de pêche des Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in, la piste Chilkoot et les champs aurifères du Klondike ainsi que l’arrondissement historique de Dawson City, représentent une région où la dernière des grandes ruées vers l’or du 19e siècle, celle du Klondike (1896-1898), et un demi-siècle d’extraction minière industrielle ont transformé le milieu physique et culturel qu’avaient créé des siècles d’utilisation autochtone. La piste Chilkoot, dont les 53 kilomètres débutent à Taiya Inlet, en Alaska, franchissent la chaîne côtière et atteignent le cours supérieur du fleuve Yukon en Colombie-Britannique, relie la côte du Pacifique et la zone intérieure du Yukon. La piste, route de commerce et de déplacement des Autochtones durant des siècles, amena des milliers de chercheurs d’or jusqu’aux champs aurifères du Klondike, entre 1896 et 1898. En amont de cette piste commémorative, au confluent de la rivière Klondike et du fleuve Yukon, se trouve le camp de pêche Tr’ochëk, centre du territoire traditionnel des Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in. La ville de Dawson se trouve en face. Ses bâtiments de bois à fausse façade, construits à la hâte, et parsemés de quelques vestiges et espaces ouverts, évoquent la vie durant et après la ruée vers lors. Des bâtiments institutionnels et administratifs plus opulents témoignent de la prospérité que connut jadis cette ancienne capitale territoriale. Plus loin s’étendent les champs aurifères du Klondike, centrés sur Rabbit Creek (plus tard devenu Bonanza Creek), lieu de la découverte d’or en 1896 par James « Skookum Jim » Mason (Keish), les sites reliques de mineurs individuels, à forte concentration de main-d’œuvre, la gigantesque Drague-Numéro-Quatre et les impressionnants tas de rebuts laissés par les entreprises d’exploitation mécanisée. Non loin de là, à Bear Creek, se trouvent les vestiges du bureau central du camp minier. Aujourd’hui encore, des opérations minières à petite échelle se poursuivent dans les champs aurifères. Les Premières nations et les nouveaux arrivants maintiennent leurs rapports culturels, incluant des ententes territoriales négociées. Les éléments américains de la présente proposition, y compris le district historique de Skagway (Alaska), ne figurent pas encore sur la liste indicative américaine.

JUSTIFICATION DE LA « VALEUR UNIVERSELLE EXCEPTIONNELLE » DU BIEN

Critères auxquels satisfait le bien

(iv) Le Klondike est un exemple éminent de paysage illustrant des mesures d’adaptation et d’innovation exceptionnelles qui furent prises par les Premières nations pendant des millénaires pour affronter un environnement extrême;

(v) il s’agit d’un exemple éminent de paysage minier, lequel inclut les ressources, les infrastructures de transport et d’approvisionnement, ainsi que les fonctions institutionnelles et administratives.

Garanties d’authenticité et/ou d’intégrité

Le site d’un camp de pêche traditionnel hän a été constitué en site du patrimoine tr’ochëk dans le cadre de l’Accord sur le règlement de la revendication territoriale des Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in, et il appartient à la Première nation des Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in. En 2001, le site a été désigné lieu historique national du Canada. Parcs Canada s’affaire, en collaboration étroite avec les Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in, à protéger et à préserver ce lieu. La piste Chilkoot est gérée par tronçons à titre de lieu historique national par Parcs Canada, ainsi qu’à titre de parc historique international par le National Park Service des États-Unis. Le lieu historique national du complexe historique de Dawson est géré par Parcs Canada en collaboration avec plusieurs partenaires locaux, dans le cadre d’un énoncé d’intégrité commémorative et d’un plan directeur récent. Parcs Canada possède et exploite aussi les lieux historiques nationaux de la Drague-Numéro-Quatre, du SS Klondike et du SS Keno, dans le cadre d’énoncés d’intégrité commémorative et de plans directeurs. Le lieu historique national de Discovery Claim est géré par la Klondyke Centennial Society. Les biens de Bear Creek, de Bonanza Reserve et d’une autre partie de Discovery Claim ne sont pas désignés comme des lieux historiques nationaux, mais sont actuellement possédés et gérés par Parcs Canada.

Comparaison avec d’autres biens similaires

Les sites associés à la ruée vers l’or en Californie de 1848-1849 (États-Unis), à la ruée vers l’or au Central Victorian en 1851 (Australie) de même qu’à la ruée vers l’or du Witwatersrand en 1886 (Afrique du Sud) se distinguent du Klondike aux chapitres de l’accès, de l’environnement, de la durée temporelle et des modèles de développement ultérieurs et d’ententes négociées avec les Premières nations.