World Heritage: Canada

Criteria for determining Outstanding Universal Value

A property which is nominated for inclusion on the World Heritage List will be considered to be of outstanding universal value when the World Heritage Committee finds that it meets one or more of the following criteria:

  1. represent a masterpiece of human creative genius;

  2. exhibit an important interchange of human values, over a span of time or within a cultural area of the world, on developments in architecture or technology, monumental arts, town-planning or landscape design;

  3. bear a unique or at least exceptional testimony to a cultural tradition or to a civilization which is living or which has disappeared;

  4. is an outstanding example of a type of building, architectural or technological ensemble or landscape which illustrates (a) significant stage(s) in human history;

  5. is an outstanding example of a traditional human settlement, land-use, or sea-use which is representative of a culture (or cultures) or human interaction with the environment especially when it has become vulnerable under the impact of irreversible change;

  6. be directly or tangibly associated with events or living traditions, with ideas, or with beliefs, with artistic and literary works of outstanding universal significance. The Committee considers that this criterion should preferably be used in conjunction with other criteria;

  7. contain superlative natural phenomena or areas of exceptional natural beauty and aesthetic importance;

  8. be outstanding examples representing major stages of earth’s history, including the record of life, significant on-going geological processes in the development of landforms, or significant geomorphic or physiographic features;

  9. be outstanding examples representing significant ongoing ecological and biological processes in the evolution and development of terrestrial, fresh water, coastal and marine ecosystems and communities of plants and animals;

  10. contain the most important and significant natural habitats for in-situ conservation of biological diversity, including those containing threatened species of outstanding universal value from the point of view of science or conservation.

Qualifying conditions — authenticity and integrity

Properties nominated for inclusion on the World Heritage List must satisfy the qualifying conditions of authenticity and/or integrity.

Legal/Management Requirements

All properties inscribed on the World Heritage List must have adequate long-term legislative, regulatory, institutional, management and/or traditional protection to ensure that their condition at the time of inscription will be maintained or enhanced in the future.

These criteria, adopted in 2004, correspond to the pre-2004 criteria as follows: i = C i; ii = C ii; iii = C iii; iv = C iv; v = C v; vi = C vi; vii = N iii; viii = N i; ix = N ii; x = N iv.

Patrimoine mondial : Canada

Critères pour déterminer la valeur universelle exceptionnelle

Un bien proposé pour inscription sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial est considéré comme ayant une valeur universelle exceptionnelle lorsque le Comité du patrimoine mondial considère qu’il répond à au moins l’un des critères suivants :

  1. représenter un chef-d’œuvre du génie créateur humain ;

  2. témoigner d’un échange d’influences considérable pendant une période donnée ou dans une aire culturelle déterminée, sur le développement de l’architecture ou de la technologie, des arts monumentaux, de la planification des villes ou de la création de paysages ;

  3. apporter un témoignage unique ou du moins exceptionnel sur une tradition culturelle ou une civilisation vivante ou disparue ;

  4. être un exemple éminent d’un type de construction ou d’ensemble architectural ou technologique ou de paysage illustrant une période ou des périodes significative(s) de l’histoire humaine ;

  5. être un exemple éminent d’établissement humain traditionnel, d’occupation du territoire ou d’utilisation de la mer qui soit représentatif d’une culture (ou de cultures), ou de l’interaction humaine avec l’environnement surtout quand il devient vulnérable sous l’effet de mutations irréversibles ;

  6. être directement ou matériellement associé à des événements ou des traditions vivantes, des idées, des croyances ou des œuvres artistiques et littéraires ayant une signification universelle exceptionnelle. Le Comité considère que ce critère devrait de préférence être utilisé conjointement avec d’autres critères ;

  7. contenir des phénomènes naturels remarquables ou des aires d’une beauté naturelle et d’une importance esthétique exceptionnelles ;

  8. être des exemples éminemment représentatifs des grands stades de l’histoire de la terre, y compris le témoignage de la vie, de processus géologiques en cours dans le développement des formes terrestres ou d’éléments géomorphiques ou physiographiques ayant une grande signification ;

  9. être des exemples éminemment représentatifs de processus écologiques et biologiques en cours dans l’évolution et le développement des écosystèmes et communautés de plantes et d’animaux terrestres, aquatiques, côtiers et marins ;

  10. contenir les habitats naturels les plus représentatifs et les plus importants pour la conservation in situ de la diversité biologique, y compris ceux où survivent des espèces menacées ayant une valeur universelle exceptionnelle du point de vue de la science ou de la conservation.

Conditions qualificatives — authenticité et intégrité

Les biens proposés pour inclusion sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial doivent répondre aux conditions d’authenticité et/ou d’intégrité.

Nécessité d’une protection administrative ou légale

Tous les biens inscrits sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial doivent avoir une protection législative, réglementaire, institutionnelle et/ou traditionnelle adéquate à long terme pour assurer la sauvegarde du bien.

Ces critères, adoptés en 2004, correspondent aux critères antérieurs à 2004 de la manière suivante : i = C i; ii = C ii; iii = C iii; iv = C iv; v = C v; vi = C vi; vii = N iii; viii = N i; ix = N ii; x = N iv.