World Heritage: Canada

Establishing the World Heritage List

There is a well-developed process leading to the inscription of a property as a World Heritage Site. These stages are outlined in figure 1. More details can be obtained on the World Heritage Centre's Web site.

Figure 1: How are World Heritage Sites established?

Stage One

A national Tentative List is prepared by the State Party. In order for a site to be nominated as a potential World Heritage Site, it must first be on a State Party's Tentative List.

A detailed nomination dossier is prepared by those responsible for the site.

Stage Two

The nomination dossier is submitted to the World Heritage Centre, which checks that nominations are complete. The centre may ask for additional information from the nominating State Party.

Stage Three

Experts from the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) for cultural sites and from the World Conservation Union (IUCN) for natural sites visit the nominated site to evaluate its heritage values, its protection and management regime, and to confirm the level of support of the various stakeholders. The international experts prepare a technical report, which includes recommendations for consideration by the World Heritage Committee.

Stage Four

The World Heritage Committee makes a decision on the nomination. It can inscribe the site on the World Heritage List; refer the nomination back to the State Party for more information; defer it until further research work is conducted; or not inscribe the site on the list.

The timeframe from the reception of a nomination dossier by the World Heritage Centre to the Committee's decision is at least 18 months.

Patrimoine mondial : Canada

L'établissement de la Liste du patrimoine mondial

L'inscription d'un bien à titre de site du patrimoine mondial suit un processus bien établi, dont les diverses étapes sont illustrées à la figure 1. Il est possible d'obtenir de plus amples détails en consultant le site Web du Centre du patrimoine mondial.

Figure 1 : Manière dont les sites du patrimoine mondial sont établis

Étape Un

LÉtat partie dresse une liste indicative nationale. Pour que la candidature d'un site puisse être proposée à titre d'éventuel site du patrimoine mondial, il faut d'abord que ce site figure sur la liste indicative d'un État partie.

Les responsables pour chaque site établissent un dossier de proposition d'inscription détaillé.

Étape Deux

Le dossier de proposition d'inscription est soumis au Centre du patrimoine mondial, qui vérifie si la proposition est complète. Le Centre peut demander à l'État partie qui soumet la proposition de fournir des renseignements additionnels.

Étape Trois

Des experts du Conseil international des monuments et des sites (ICOMOS), pour ce qui est des sites culturels, et des experts de l'Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN), pour ce qui est des sites naturels, se rendent dans le site proposé pour en évaluer les valeurs patrimoniales et le régime de protection et de gestion, ainsi que pour confirmer le degré d'appui des divers intervenants. Les experts internationaux rédigent ensuite un rapport technique, qui comporte des recommandations destinées au Comité du patrimoine mondial.

Étape Quatre

Le Comité du patrimoine mondial rend une décision au sujet de la proposition d'inscription. Il peut inscrire le site sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial; il peut renvoyer la proposition à l'État partie en vue d'obtenir davantage de renseignements; il peut différer la proposition jusqu'à ce que l'on ait effectué des recherches complémentaires; il peut aussi ne pas inscrire le site sur la Liste.

Le temps qui s'écoule entre le moment où le Centre du patrimoine mondial reçoit un dossier de proposition d'inscription et celui où le Comité rend une décision est d'au moins 18 mois.