Common menu bar links

World Heritage: Canada

Alberta and British Columbia

Painting of Jasper Lake of a spectacular green. A few ice pieces float on it. A steep bank partially covered with snow far away. Painting by Bernard Pelletier
© Parks Canada, Bernard Pelletier

Some of the best-known mountain scenery on Earth is concentrated in a set of seven parks in the Canadian Rocky Mountains. Indeed, in much of the world, mention of Canada evokes images of snow-capped peaks and chateauesque hotels in parks named Banff or Jasper. More than nine million people annually visit the seven preserves along the Alberta-British Columbia border.

There are four national parks in the ensemble — Banff, Jasper, Yoho and Kootenay. They account for most of the preserve’s 22,990 square kilometres. Adjoining them are three British Columbia provincial parks — Mount Robson, Mount Assiniboine and Hamber. Banff, built around the Cave and Basin Hot Springs found by CPR workers building the transcontinental railway in the early 1880s, became Canada’s first park preserve in 1885, and the birthplace of Canada ’s national park system.

In the following half-century, the park was expanded to encompass a wealth of natural wonders: jagged peaks and conifer-clad slopes, silt-laden glacial streams and turquoise lakes, the vast Columbia Icefield and the complex Castleguard Caves. The Burgess Shale, in Yoho, contains one of the world’s most significant finds of soft-bodied, Middle Cambrian-age marine fossils, with about 150 species, including some bearing no resemblance to known animals.

More information


Parks Canada Web sites:
Banff National Park of Canada
Jasper National Park of Canada
Kootenay National Park of Canada
Yoho National Park of Canada
Cave and Basin National Historic Site of Canada
Canadian Rockies Hot Springs

Province of British Columbia Web sites:
Mount Robson Provincial Park

Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Hamber Provincial Park

World Heritage Centre Web site:
World Heritage - Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks

The Yoho-Burgess Shale Foundation Web site:
Introduction to the Burgess Shale



More Images

Picture of Jasper Lake, mainly, with two mountains in the background. Jasper Lake
© Parks Canada
Picture of Tangle creek coming down from the mountain very steeply. Trees and forest on each side. Tangle Creek
© Parks Canada, W.Lynch
The majestic mount Robson in the provincial of the same name. At the foreground water and a forest. Mount Robson
© Queen's Printer for British Columbia

Patrimoine mondial : Canada

Alberta et Colombie-Britannique

Painting of Jasper Lake of a spectacular green. A few ice pieces float on it. A steep bank partially covered with snow far away. Peinture de Bernard Pelletier
© Parcs Canada, Bernard Pelletier

Pour observer certains des panoramas de montagnes les plus connus sur la terre, peu de sites peuvent rivaliser avec les sept parcs des montagnes Rocheuses canadiennes. À travers le monde, la mention du Canada évoque les sommets de montagnes couverts de neige et les hôtels (ou plutôt les châteaux) des parcs Banff et Jasper. Plus de neuf millions de personnes visitent chaque année ces parcs situés à la frontière de l'Alberta et de la Colombie-Britannique.

La région compte quatre parcs nationaux (Banff, Jasper, Yoho et Kootenay) qui comprennent la plus grande partie des 22 990 kilomètres carrés du site. S’y ajoutent trois parcs provinciaux de la Colombie-Britannique, soit ceux du mont Robson, du mont Assiniboine et de Hamber. Banff a été construit autour des sources thermales Cave et Basin, découvertes par les travailleurs du Canadien Pacifique lors de la construction du chemin de fer transcontinental au début des années 1880. En 1885, la région devient le premier parc au Canada, annonçant la naissance du réseau des parcs nationaux.

Au cours du demi-siècle qui a suivi, le parc a été élargi afin d’englober tout un trésor de merveilles naturelles : des sommets en dents de scie et des pentes couvertes de conifères, des lacs et des ruisseaux aux eaux turquoise glaciales chargées de limon, le vaste champ de glace Columbia et l’inextricable labyrinthe des cavernes Castleguard. Le schiste de Burgess, sis dans le parc Yoho, recèle l’un des plus riches gisements fossilifères au monde d’animaux marins au corps mou, datant du milieu de l’ère cambrienne et comptant quelque 150 espèces, dont certaines ne présentent aucune ressemblance avec les animaux connus.

Plus d'information


Sites Web de Parcs Canada:
Parc national du Canada Banff
Parc national du Canada Jasper
Parc national du Canada Kootenay
Parc national du Canada Yoho
Lieu historique national du Canada Cave and Basin Sources thermales des Rocheuse canadiennes

Sites Web de la province de la Colombie-Britannique :

Parc provincial Mount Robson (en anglais seulement)

Parc provincial Mount Assiniboine (en anglais seulement)
Parc provincial Hamber (en anglais seulement)

Site Web du Centre du patrimoine mondial :
Patrimoine mondial - Parcs des montagnes Rocheuses canadiennes

Site Web de la Yoho-Burgess Shale Foundation :
Introduction to the Burgess Shale (en anglais seulement)

Plus d'images

Image du lac Jasper, principalement avec au loin deux montagnes. Lac Jasper
© Parcs Canada
Image du ruisseau Tangle descendant de la montagne très abruptement. Des arbres et la forêt de chaque côté. Ruisseau Tangle
© Parcs Canada, W.Lynch
Image du majestueux mont Robson, dans le parc provincial du même nom. À l'avant plan de l'eau et la forêt. Le mont Robson
© Queen's Printer for British Columbia