Common menu bar links

World Heritage: Canada

British Columbia

Painting of what is left of six memorial poles on SGaang Gwaii Island. The green on the ground, the gray of the poles, the red of the sky and the blue of the clouds offer a remarkable and  poignant vision. Memorial poles at SGang Gwaay
© Parks Canada, Bernard Pelletier

What was once a vigorous Haida community of 300 people is today a haunting assemblage of weathered and fragmented house frames and mortuary and memorial poles. By the 1880s, disease had decimated the population of Nan Sdins village on SGang Gwaay, an island at the southern tip of the Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands) archipelago, and by the turn of the century only remnants of the houses and poles remained.

Fifteen poles were moved to museums in the 1930s and 1950s. More of the village has been taken by nature, consumed by age and the elements, and returned to the forest. What remains is unique in the world, a 19th-century Haida village where the ruins of 10 houses and 32 memorial or mortuary poles bespeak the power and artistry of a rich and flamboyant society.

The Haida have always thrived on the wealth of both the sea and the forest. Shellfish and salmon were staple foods. Giant Western red cedars were the raw material of ocean-going canoes, vast post and plank houses, and great poles bearing both symbols of family history and, holding inside, the bones of ancestors. The Haida lived on SGang Gwaay for thousands of years (as two-metre-thick refuse heaps of shells attest). The remnants of the village represent an ongoing chapter in an epic story of human settlement and artistry.

More information

Parks Canada Web sites:
Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve of Canada and Haida Heritage Site

World Heritage Centre Web site:
World Heritage - SGang Gwaay

Virtual Museum of Canada Web site
Haida Heritage

Royal British Columbia Museum Web site
The Haida Totems



More Images

Picture memorial poles in the forest.
Memorial Poles
© Parks Canada, Bruce Amos
Picture of Haida memorial poles in the forest close to the sea. Memorial Poles
© Parks Canada, T. Sawyer
Picture of a pole during its removal to be transfered to the Royal British Columbia Museum. Memorial pole
© 1995 by The Royal British Columbia Museum
Picture of memorial poles before their transfert to Royal British Columbia Museum in 1957. These poles are in a much better shape than the ones which have stayed on the island. Memorial Poles in 1957
© 1995 by The Royal British Columbia Museum

Patrimoine mondial : Canada

Colombie-Britannique


Peinture représentant ce qu'il reste de 6 mâts commémoratifs sur l''île de SGang Gwaii. Le vert du sol, le gris des mâts, le rouge du ciel et le bleu des nuages offrent une composition remarquable et poignante.
Mâts commémoratifs de SGaang Gwaii
© Parcs Canada, Bernard Pelletier

Jadis un village haïda dynamique de 300 personnes, SGang Gwaay est aujourd'hui un rassemblement quelque peu mystérieux des ruines de charpentes de maisons, de colonnes mortuaires et de mâts totémiques abîmés par le temps. Vers les années 1880, des maladies avaient décimé la population du village de Nan Sdins situé sur l'île SGang Gwaay à l'extrémité sud de l'archipel de Haïda Gwaii (îles de la Reine-Charlotte). Au tournant du siècle, il ne restait que les ruines.

Quinze totems ont été logés dans des musées dans les années 1930 et 1950, et plusieurs autres pièces, endommagées par le temps et les éléments, sont retournées à la forêt. Mais ce qui reste est unique au monde : un village haïda du 19e siècle, composé des ruines de 10 maisons et de 32 mâts et colonnes qui témoignent de la puissance et du talent artistique d ’une société riche et flamboyante.

Les Haïdas ont toujours profité des richesses de la mer et des forêts. Les fruits de mer et le saumon servent de denrées de base, alors que les thuyas géants permettent de construire des canots de mer, des maisons faites de larges planches et poteaux et de grands mâts qui portent des symboles de l’histoire familiale et, à l’intérieur, des ossements d’ancêtres. Les Haïdas ont habité SGaang Gwaii durant des millénaires, comme le prouvent les dépôts de coquillages de deux mètres de haut. Les restes de Nan Sdins aident à perpétuer l’histoire épique de cette communauté aux artistes de talent indéniable.

Plus d'information

Sites Web de Parcs Canada :
Réserve de parc national du Canada et site patrimonial Haïda de Gwaii Haanas
Réserve d'aire marine nationale de conservation Gwaii Haanas proposée

Site Web du Centre du patrimoine mondial :
Patrimoine mondial - SGaang Gwaii (Île Anthony)

Site Web du Musée virtuel du Canada :
La culture Haïda

Site Web du Royal British Columbia Museum (en anglais seulement)
Les totems Haïda (en anglais seulement)

Plus d'images

 Image de mâts commémoratifs dans la forêt. Mâts commémoratifs
© Parcs Canada, Bruce Amos
Image de mâts commémoratifs dans la forêt au bord de la mer. Mâts commémoratifs
© Parcs Canada, T. Sawyer
Image d'un mât commémoratif durant la préparation pour son  transfert au Royal British Columbia Museum.
Mât commémoratif
© 1995 par The Royal British Columbia Museum
Image de mâts commémoratifs avant leur transfert au Royal British Columbia Museum en 1957. Ces mâts sont beaucoup moins abimés que ceux qui sont restés sur place.
Mâts commémoratifs en 1957
© 1995 par The Royal British Columbia Museum