Common menu bar links

Canadian Register of Historic Places (CRHP)

 Masonry cleaning of a historic place
Masonry cleaning of a historic place in accordance with the Standards and Guidelines' treatment of materials.
© Parks Canada

The Standards and Guidelines

The Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada provide sound, practical guidance to achieve good conservation practice. They establish a consistent, pan-Canadian set of conservation principles and guidelines that will be useful to anyone with an interest in conserving Canada’s historic places. The Standards and Guidelines offer results-oriented guidance for sound decision-making when planning for, intervening on, and using historic places.

Since their initial publication in 2003, the Standards and Guidelines have become an essential tool for heritage conservation across Canada. Together with the Canadian Register of Historic Places, the practice of heritage conservation has been transformed, opening the door to new tools and programs that support the continued use and enjoyment by Canadians of the historic places around them. The Standards and Guidelines have already been adopted by a number of federal, provincial, territorial and municipal authorities as a benchmark for assessing proposed conservation interventions on historic places.

On February 25, 2011, the Government of Canada launched the second edition of the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada. The second edition expands and clarifies the information contained in the original 2003 edition. The revisions in this edition:

  • Address comments received from users of the first edition of the Standards and Guidelines;

  • Clarify the relationship between the Standards and Guidelines and a Statement of Significance;

  • Better explain the conservation decision-making process;

  • Provide interpretation of the fourteen Standards to clarify these important principles;

  • Add guidance for typical sustainability-related interventions;

  • Address new topics such as cultural landscapes, including heritage districts;

  • Address recent heritage, including the specific issues of conserving modern materials and assemblies;

  • Improve the guidance provided for engineering works; and

  • Provide a more comprehensive set of Guidelines for Archaeological Sites generally, and in a specific setting.

Répertoire canadien des lieux patrimoniaux (RCLP)

Nettoyage de la maçonnerie d’un lieu patrimonial Le nettoyage de la maçonnerie d’un lieu patrimonial selon les conseils des Normes et lignes directrices.
© Parcs Canada

Les Normes et lignes directrices

Les Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada donnent une orientation solide et pratique permettant d’appliquer des pratiques exemplaires en matière de conservation. Elles établissent, pour l’ensemble du Canada, une série de principes et de lignes directrices uniformes qui s’avéreront utiles pour quiconque s’intéresse à la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux du Canada. Les Normes et lignes directrices proposent une orientation axée sur les résultats à l’appui du processus décisionnel de planification, d’intervention et d’utilisation touchant les lieux historiques.

Depuis leur publication en 2003, les Normes et lignes directrices sont devenues un outil essentiel pour la conservation du patrimoine à l’échelle du pays. De concert avec le Répertoire canadien des lieux patrimoniaux, la pratique de la conservation patrimoniale s’est vue transformée, ce qui a ouvert la voie à de nouveaux outils et programmes pour appuyer les Canadiennes et Canadiens afin qu’ils continuent d’utiliser et de profiter pleinement des lieux patrimoniaux qui les entourent. Plusieurs autorités fédérales, provinciales, territoriales et municipales ont déjà adopté les Normes et lignes directrices pour évaluer les interventions proposées dans des lieux patrimoniaux.

Le 25 février 2001, le gouvernement du Canada a lancé la seconde édition des Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. Celle-ci précise et ajoute de l’information contenue dans la première édition de 2003. Voici les principales modifications :

  • donne suite aux commentaires reçus des utilisateurs de la première édition des Normes et lignes directrices;

  • précise la relation entre les Normes et lignes directrices et un énoncé d’importance;

  • explique mieux le processus de décisions en matière de conservation;

  • donne une interprétation des quatorze normes et précise ces importants principes;

  • ajoute des directives sur des interventions types liées à la durabilité;

  • traite de nouveaux sujets tels que les paysages culturels et les arrondissements patrimoniaux;

  • traite du patrimoine récent, y compris des questions particulières touchant la conservation des matériaux et ensembles modernes;

  • détaille les directives fournies pour les travaux d’ingénierie;