National Parks

Restoration Case Studies

Grasslands Ecosystem Restoration (Grasslands National Park)

Project Lead: Parks Canada

Key Partners: (see list below)

Location: Grasslands National Park, Saskatchewan (see interactive map)

Natural Region: Prairie Grasslands (see National Park System Plan description)

Ecozone: Prairies (see map and description)

Timeframe: 2004 to 2008 and ongoing

Project Size: To date, approximately 700 ha of fields have been re-vegetated, 300 ha of prescribed burns have been conducted, and 44,000 ha have been fenced for bison grazing.

Quick Links:
Project Overview - Natural and Cultural Heritage Values - Defining the Problem - Goals and Objectives - Project Activities - Monitoring - Lessons Learned - What’s Next? - For More Information - Contacts - Key Partners
Bison herd in Grasslands National Park Bison herd in Grasslands National Park
© Parks Canada / N. Finney

Click to Return to the top of the page

Project Overview

Parks Canada led the ecological restoration of the mixed-grass prairie ecosystem in Grasslands National Park. The project focused on re-introduction of natural processes, such as large herbivore grazing by bison and cattle, and the use of prescribed burns. In addition, previously cultivated areas, as well as areas dominated by invasive plants, were re-vegetated. During the project, various partners and stakeholders were involved in the planning, decision-making, and celebration of the restoration work including local communities, Aboriginal people and park visitors.

The actions undertaken by the Grasslands National Park restoration team demonstrate the best practice approach described in Principles and Guidelines for Ecological Restoration in Canada’s Protected Natural Areas. The process of ecological restoration, as described by this approach, adheres to three guiding principles. Restoration should be:

  • effective in restoring and maintaining ecological integrity,
  • efficient in using practical and economic methods to achieve functional success, and
  • engaging through implementing inclusive processes and by recognizing and embracing interrelationships between culture and nature.

Click to Return to the top of the page

Natural and Cultural Heritage Values

Visitors pause to watch bison interact with prairie dogs, pronghorns…the earth itself. Grasslands National Park represents one of the finest intact, large contiguous areas of mixed-grass prairie in western Canada. Bison form an integral part of the prairie landscape, and were central to the lives and cultural practices of the many Aboriginal peoples who lived there. The park preserves an extraordinary archaeological record of these Aboriginal peoples.

Click to Return to the top of the page

Defining the Problem

Historically, the mixed-grass prairie ecosystem evolved with frequent natural disturbances such as grazing by large herbivores (especially bison). Bison had been absent from the landscape for over 100 years, but other large herbivores, such as cattle, had largely replaced the bison’s ecological role. When Parks Canada acquired the lands for Grasslands National Park in the 1980s, all grazing was excluded, and the benefits to the mixed-grass prairie ecosystem of grazing, wallowing, and fertilization were lost. Restoring the function of grazing was essential to maintaining a healthy prairie ecosystem and its diversity of species.

Fire had also historically helped maintain the diversity of native prairie species. These fires included both “wild” grass fires (e.g., lightning), and fires set by Aboriginal peoples, who burned the prairie to influence bison movements. Restoring fire was necessary to control invasive plants, encourage the growth of native prairie plants, and to provide a mosaic of habitat for prairie wildlife such as songbirds.

Outside the park boundaries, cultivated or previously cultivated lands made up a large portion of the terrain. Some of these areas were dominated by invasive plant species, such as leafy spurge, which had spread as a result of the planting of domestic grasses for hay production or grazing and the abandonment of cropland. These areas surrounding the park also needed to be managed to ensure that invasive species did not encroach into natural prairie in the park.

Click to Return to the top of the page

Goals and Objectives

The restoration objectives in Grasslands National Park focused on the ecological processes (especially grazing, fire, and plant succession) required to achieve a pattern that better represented the pre-contact prairie landscape (prior to European settlement) and more effectively conserved native biodiversity. In particular, a grazing experiment would test various levels of grazing intensity for its effects on native vegetation and wildlife.

Lands surrounding the park were dominated by agricultural use; therefore, a high level of active management would be required to restore and maintain the native prairie landscape within the park.

Building relationships with Aboriginal partners was an important objective of the restoration work, as well as engaging neighbouring communities.

The Environmental Assessment (EA) process helped ensure that a wide range of impacts were considered. The EAs for bison re-introduction and grazing contributed to modifying fence locations to protect the integrity of cultural resources. EAs also provided direction for specific follow-up monitoring. For example, some areas were identified as requiring rehabilitation as a result of environmental impacts, invasion of non-native species, or development of linear disturbances (new roads and trails).

Click to Return to the top of the page

Project Activities

Effective in restoring and maintaining ecological integrity.
Plains Bison Plains Bison
© Parks Canada / W. Lynch

To restore the ecological role of large herbivore grazing, 71 plains bison were reintroduced to a 18,100-hectare parcel in 2006. At the same time, cattle were used elsewhere in the park to achieve grazing objectives. The habitats of grassland songbirds such as Sprague’s pipit and McCown’s longspur, both species at risk, have benefited from grazing.



Prescribed burning in Grasslands National Park Prescribed burning in Grasslands National Park
© Parks Canada

The tradition of prescribed fire was reintroduced to influence large grazer distribution, reduce the prevalence of invasive species, and promote the growth of native grassland species.



Restoration of cultivated lands in Grasslands National Park Restoration of cultivated lands in Grasslands National Park
© Parks Canada / A. Sturch

Previously cultivated fields were re-vegetated with a mix of native grasses and wildflowers. Over 280 hectares of land were restored and these areas look similar to native prairie in as little as four years after native seeding.



Leafy spurge (Euphorbia esula), an invasive plant Leafy spurge (Euphorbia esula), an invasive plant
© Parks Canada / A. Sturch

A combination of herbicide and seeding with native species was used to re-vegetate areas dominated by crested wheatgrass. As a result, the frequency in the park of introduced plant species such as crested wheatgrass has been reduced. The spread of other invasive species such as leafy spurge into the park has also been prevented through working with partners outside the park boundaries.



Stakeholders meeting Stakeholders meeting
© Parks Canada

Restoration activities in Grasslands National Park were based on the results of scientific research in conjunction with local and traditional knowledge and advice. Stakeholders provided advice on fence design, bison health concerns, release location, the grazing tendering process, and grazing locations.



Efficient in using practical and economic methods to achieve functional success
Bison release at Grasslands National Park Bison release at Grasslands National Park
© Parks Canada

To be responsible to neighbours and keep domesticated cattle and wild bison herds from mixing, a 71 km-long fence was designed to allow some animals (e.g., deer, pronghorns, cougars) to move easily in and out of the park, but restrict the movements of bison, cattle, and horses.



Sampling vegetation in a crested wheatgrass field Sampling vegetation in a crested wheatgrass field
© Parks Canada / J. Wilmshurst

Communities, universities, and other stakeholders have undertaken scientific research aimed at developing and using innovative tools and strategies in prairie ecosystem management. These partnership agreements ensure better management decisions by Grasslands National Park, its neighbours, and other native prairie managers.



Grasslands National Park open house Grasslands National Park open house
© Parks Canada / C. Penney

Project activities and results have been reported regularly through an advisory committee, open houses, newsletters, and meetings.



Engaging through implementing inclusive processes and by recognizing and embracing interrelationships between culture and nature.
Bison release in Grasslands National Park Bison release in Grasslands National Park
© Parks Canada

Hundreds of community members, visitors and stakeholders witnessed the bison release in 2006. This event offered Canadians the opportunity to discover and experience Canada’s nature and increase their sense of attachment to the park.



Aboriginal traditional dancing at Grasslands National Park Aboriginal traditional dancing at Grasslands National Park
© Parks Canada

Traditional Aboriginal activities were an important element of the bison reintroduction ceremony. Opportunities for traditional spiritual and ceremonial activities in the park have helped build relationships with Aboriginal people and re-integrate nature and culture.



Partners collaborate in invasive species management Partners collaborate in invasive species management
© Parks Canada / A. Sturch

Park visitors, neighbours and other stakeholders have been engaged in project activities, including grazing management and invasive species control. Invasive species management has led to collaboration among multiple jurisdictions and partners in the Frenchman River – Wood River Weed Management Area. They conduct assessments, educate and engage the public and stakeholders, prevent new invasions, and control or eliminate priority species such as leafy spurge.



Outdoor class at Grasslands National Park Outdoor class at Grasslands National Park
© Parks Canada

In partnership with the local school division, the project has supported the first Prairie Learning Centre. The Centre provides unique learning opportunities for rural, urban, and Aboriginal youth from across Canada and internationally, and helps them develop a deep, rich connection to the natural and cultural wonder of the prairies.



Stakeholders’ meeting Stakeholders’ meeting
© Parks Canada

Restoration in Grasslands National Park has aimed to be an inclusive process. Neighbours and other stakeholders have been engaged in open-houses and informal meetings through which they and the park strive to hear, understand, and address each others’ concerns.



Click to Return to the top of the page

Monitoring

Results of restoration efforts are being monitored. Vegetation sampling is used to monitor species composition several years after restoration of a cultivated field to native prairie. In addition, Bison have been fitted with GPS units and their movements and behaviours tracked by visitors and staff. Visitors now have the opportunity to observe and learn about the ecological and cultural role of bison in a natural grassland system.

Project activities and results are evaluated and reported regularly through an advisory committee, open houses, newsletters and meetings, as well as through formal assessment and reporting structures such as the follow-up program for the environmental assessment, and State of the Park reporting. (Learn more about monitoring in National Parks.)

Click to Return to the top of the page

Lessons Learned

  • Listening was important, as good ideas came from many places.
  • Staff and stakeholders needed to be fully engaged in decision-making and actions.
  • Internal collaboration was key.
  • It worked better to take small steps; dream big but put it in doable steps.
  • It was important to keep communication open.
  • Check internally and externally with all of the small steps. Let people know in a timely fashion: ‘this is what was planned, this is what you said, this is what we are now doing based on your input and these are the next steps’. Ask for feedback on the next steps. A variety of means were used to do this including open houses, newsletters, community events, meetings and one-on-one conversations.
  • Ensure timely and appropriate recognition of volunteers.

Click to Return to the top of the page

What’s Next?

The strategies used in this restoration project were successful in refining the techniques required for maintaining and enhancing the prairie landscape. Following on these successes, over the next five years (2009-2014) the park will continue its restoration efforts, focusing on building the bison herd, increasing the use of prescribed fire, completely eliminating crested wheatgrass in the park, and re-vegetating all remaining cultivated fields in the park. In addition, the objectives for the grazing experiment will be met over the next five years. Black-footed Ferrets, which had been absent (extirpated) from the Canadian prairies since 1937, were also re-introduced in the park in 2009. New opportunities will be created for visitors and students to experience and learn about these restoration efforts.

Click to Return to the top of the page

For More Information

This case study is intended to provide general information about ecological restoration projects in Canada’s protected natural areas. For more detailed or technical information about this restoration project, please consult the following sources, or the contacts provided below.

Click to Return to the top of the page

Contacts

Katherine Patterson
Field Unit Superintendent
Grasslands National Park of Canada
katherine.patterson@pc.gc.ca
Tel: (306) 298-2258

Adrian Sturch
Manager, Resource Conservation
Grasslands National Park of Canada
Adrian.Sturch@pc.gc.ca
Tel: (306) 298-2166

Click to Return to the top of the page

Key Partners

If you wish to comment on this case study, please contact Parks Canada at restauration.restoration@pc.gc.ca


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Parcs nationaux

Études de cas de restauration

Restauration de l’écosystème des Prairies (parc national des Prairies)

Direction du projet : Parcs Canada

Partenaires principaux : (consulter la liste ci-dessous)

Endroit : Parc national des Prairies, Saskatchewan (consulter la carte interactive)

Région naturelle : Les Prairies (consulter la description du plan de réseau des parcs nationaux)

Écozone : Prairies (consulter la carte de l’écozone et sa description)

Période d’exécution : de 2004 à 2008; en cours

Dimensions : À ce jour, la végétation d’environ 700 ha de champs a été restaurée, des brûlages dirigés ont été effectués sur 300 ha et 44 000 ha ont été clôturés pour le pâturage des bisons.

Liens rapides :
Aperçu du projet - Valeurs du patrimoine naturel et culturel - Description du problème - Buts et objectifs - Activités du projet - Surveillance - Leçons apprises - Prochaines étapes - Pour plus de renseignements - Personnes-ressources - Partenaires principaux
Troupeau de bisons dans le parc national des Prairies Troupeau de bisons dans le parc national des Prairies
© Parcs Canada / N. Finney

Retourner au haut de la page

Aperçu du projet

Parcs Canada a dirigé les travaux de restauration écologique des prairies mixtes situées dans le parc national des Prairies. Le projet a été centré sur la réintroduction de processus naturels, tels que le pâturage des grands herbivores que sont les bisons et le bétail et le recours aux brûlages dirigés. De plus, des terres auparavant cultivées et des zones où dominaient les plantes envahissantes ont été végétalisées. Au cours du projet, divers partenaires et intervenants ont pris part à la planification, à la prise de décisions et à la célébration des travaux de restauration, dont les collectivités locales, les Autochtones et les visiteurs du parc.

Les mesures prises par l’équipe de restauration du parc national des Prairies illustrent les pratiques exemplaires décrites dans les Principes et lignes directrices pour la restauration écologique dans les aires naturelles protégées du Canada. Le processus de restauration écologique, selon cette approche, repose sur trois principes directeurs, à savoir que la restauration doit être :

  • efficace, pour restaurer et maintenir l’intégrité écologique;
  • efficiente, par l’emploi de méthodes pratiques et économiques permettant la réussite fonctionnelle;
  • engageante, par la mise en œuvre de processus inclusifs et par la reconnaissance et la valorisation de l’interrelation entre culture et nature.

Retourner au haut de la page

Valeurs du patrimoine naturel et culturel

Les visiteurs s’arrêtent pour regarder les bisons interagir avec les chiens de prairie, les antilocapres… la terre elle-même. Le parc national des Prairies représente une des régions de grandes terres contiguës de prairie mixte les mieux préservées de l’Ouest canadien. Les bisons font partie intégrante du paysage des prairies et ils étaient essentiels à la vie et aux pratiques culturelles des nombreux peuples autochtones qui y vivaient. Le parc conserve d’ailleurs d’exceptionnels dossiers archéologiques sur ces peuples autochtones.

Retourner au haut de la page

Description du problème

Au fil de l’histoire, l’évolution de l’écosystème de la prairie mixte a été ponctuée de fréquentes perturbations naturelles comme le broutage par de grands herbivores (surtout des bisons). Les bisons ont été absents du paysage pendant plus de 100 ans, mais d’autres grands herbivores, tels que le bétail, ont largement remplacé le rôle écologique des bisons. Lorsque Parcs Canada a fait l’acquisition des terres pour le parc national des Prairies dans les années 1980, il n’y avait plus de pâturage et les bienfaits que le broutage, les dépressions creusées par les bisons en se roulant par terre et la fertilisation procuraient à l’écosystème de la prairie mixte avaient disparus. Il était essentiel de restaurer la fonction du pâturage pour conserver un écosystème des prairies sain, de même que la diversité des espèces qui y vivent.

Dans le passé, le feu a contribué à conserver la diversité des espèces végétales des prairies indigènes. Ces feux comprenaient autant les feux d’herbe « naturels » (causés par la foudre par exemple) que les feux allumés par les Autochtones qui brûlaient la prairie pour influencer les déplacements des bisons. Il fallait restaurer les feux pour limiter la croissance des plantes envahissantes, favoriser celle des plantes des prairies indigènes et fournir une mosaïque d’habitats aux espèces fauniques des prairies, telles que les oiseaux chanteurs.

À l’extérieur des limites du parc, les terres cultivées, ou celles qui l’étaient auparavant, constituaient une grande partie du terrain. Certaines de ces zones étaient dominées par des espèces de plantes envahissantes, comme l’euphorbe ésule, qui se sont propagées à la suite de la plantation de graminées indigènes pour la production de foin ou de pâturages et de l’abandon de terres cultivées. Il fallait aussi gérer ces terres entourant le parc pour s’assurer que les espèces envahissantes n’empiètent pas sur la prairie naturelle du parc.

Retourner au haut de la page

Buts et objectifs

Les objectifs de la restauration effectuée dans le parc national des Prairies ont été centrés sur les processus écologiques (surtout le pâturage, le feu et la succession végétale) nécessaires à l’obtention d’une structure qui représenterait mieux le paysage des prairies de la période antérieure à l’arrivée des Européens et conserverait plus efficacement la biodiversité indigène. Plus particulièrement, une expérience de pâturage permettrait de connaître les effets du pâturage sur la faune et la flore indigènes, selon divers degrés d’intensité.

Les terres entourant le parc servaient principalement à l’agriculture; il allait donc falloir une gestion très active pour restaurer et maintenir le paysage du parc, constitué de prairies indigènes.

L’établissement de liens avec les partenaires autochtones était aussi un objectif important du projet de restauration, tout comme la participation des collectivités voisines.

Le processus d’évaluation environnementale (EE) a aidé à garantir qu’on tienne compte d’une grande variété de répercussions possibles. Les EE relatives à la réintroduction des bisons et au pâturage ont contribué à changer l’emplacement des clôtures pour protéger l’intégrité de ressources culturelles. Les EE ont également orienté le suivi à prévoir. Par exemple, on a déterminé que certaines zones nécessitaient une réhabilitation à la suite d’impacts environnementaux, d’un envahissement d’espèces exotiques ou de l’aménagement de perturbations linéaires (nouvelles routes et sentiers).

Retourner au haut de la page

Activités du projet

Efficace, pour restaurer et maintenir l’intégrité écologique
Bisons des plaines Bisons des plaines
© Parcs Canada / W. Lynch

Pour restaurer le rôle écologique du pâturage des grands herbivores, 71 bisons des plaines ont été réintroduits sur une parcelle de 18 100 hectares en 2006. En même temps, on s’est servi de bétail ailleurs dans le parc pour atteindre les objectifs de pâturage. Les habitats des oiseaux chanteurs des prairies tels que le pipit de Sprague et le bruant de McCown, deux des espèces en péril, ont tiré profit du pâturage.



Brûlage dirigé dans le parc national des Prairies Brûlage dirigé dans le parc national des Prairies
© Parcs Canada

La tradition des brûlages dirigés a été réintroduite afin d’influer sur la répartition des grands brouteurs, de réduire la prédominance des espèces envahissantes et de favoriser la croissance des espèces végétales des prairies indigènes.



Restauration de terres cultivées dans le parc national des Prairies Restauration de terres cultivées dans le parc national des Prairies
© Parcs Canada / A. Sturch

On a restauré la végétation des champs auparavant cultivés en utilisant un mélange de graminées indigènes et de fleurs sauvages. Plus de 280 hectares de terres ont été restaurées et quatre ans seulement après l’ensemencement, ces zones ressemblent déjà à la prairie indigène.



Euphorbe ésule (Euphorbia esula), une espèce envahissante Euphorbe ésule (Euphorbia esula), une espèce envahissante
© Parcs Canada / A. Sturch

On a combiné herbicides et ensemencement d’espèces indigènes pour végétaliser les zones où l’agropyre à crête dominait. La présence d’espèces de plantes introduites dans le parc, telles que l’agropyre à crête, a ainsi diminué. On a aussi prévenu la propagation d’autres espèces envahissantes, par exemple l’euphorbe ésule, grâce à la collaboration du parc avec des partenaires d’ailleurs.



Réunion d’intervenants Réunion d’intervenants
© Parcs Canada

Les activités de restauration dans le parc national des Prairies ont été fondées sur les résultats de recherches scientifiques, de même que sur les connaissances traditionnelles et des conseils locaux. Les intervenants ont donné leur avis sur la conception de la clôture, les préoccupations liées à la santé des bisons, le lieu de réintroduction, le processus d’appel d’offres de pâturage et les zones de pâturage.



Efficiente, par l’emploi de méthodes pratiques et économiques permettant la réussite fonctionnelle
Réintroduction des bisons dans le parc national des Prairies Réintroduction des bisons dans le parc national des Prairies
© Parcs Canada

Par respect pour les voisins et pour empêcher le bétail domestiqué et les troupeaux de bisons sauvages de se mêler, une clôture de 71 km de long a été conçue pour permettre à certains animaux (par exemple les cerfs, les antilocapres et les couguars) de pouvoir facilement entrer dans le parc et en sortir, tout en limitant les allées et venues des bisons, du bétail et des chevaux.



Échantillonnage de végétation dans un champ d’agropyre à crête Échantillonnage de végétation dans un champ d’agropyre à crête
© Parcs Canada / J. Wilmshurst

Les communautés, des universités et d’autres intervenants ont fait des recherches scientifiques pour la mise au point et l’utilisation de stratégies et d’outils novateurs de gestion de l’écosystème des prairies. Grâce à ces partenariats, le parc national des Prairies, ses voisins et d’autres gestionnaires de prairies indigènes peuvent prendre de meilleures décisions de gestion.



Journée portes ouvertes au parc national des Prairies Journée portes ouvertes au parc national des Prairies
© Parcs Canada

Les activités du projet ainsi que ses résultats ont été régulièrement communiqués par un comité consultatif, des journées portes ouvertes, des bulletins ou des rencontres.



Engageante, par la mise en œuvre de processus inclusifs et par la reconnaissance et la valorisation de l’interrelation entre culture et nature.
Réintroduction de bisons dans le parc national des Prairies Réintroduction de bisons dans le parc national des Prairies
© Parcs Canada

Des centaines de membres de la communauté, de visiteurs et d’intervenants ont assisté à la réintroduction des bisons en 2006. Cet événement a offert aux Canadiens la chance de découvrir la nature du Canada et d’y vivre une expérience, tout en approfondissant leur attachement à l’égard du parc.



Danses autochtones traditionnelles au parc national des Prairies Danses autochtones traditionnelles au parc national des Prairies
© Parcs Canada

Les activités autochtones traditionnelles ont été un élément important de la cérémonie de réintroduction des bisons. Les occasions de tenir des activités traditionnelles culturelles et cérémonielles dans le parc ont contribué à tisser des liens avec les peuples autochtones et à réintégrer nature et culture.



Des partenaires collaborent à  la gestion des espèces envahissantes Des partenaires collaborent à la gestion des espèces envahissantes
© Parcs Canada / A. Sturch

Les visiteurs du parc, les voisins et d’autres intervenants ont pris part aux activités du projet, dont la gestion du pâturage et la lutte contre les espèces envahissantes. La gestion des espèces envahissantes a mené à une collaboration entre diverses compétences et les partenaires des zones de gestion des mauvaises herbes des rivières Frenchman et Wood. Ils ont fait des évaluations, informé le public et les intervenants et cherché sa participation, empêché de nouveaux envahissements et limité ou éliminé les espèces prioritaires telles que l’euphorbe ésule.



Classe en plein air au parc national des Prairies Classe en plein air au parc national des Prairies
© Parcs Canada

En partenariat avec la division scolaire locale, le projet a contribué à la création du premier centre d’apprentissage des Prairies. Le centre offre des possibilités d’apprentissage uniques aux jeunes de milieux ruraux, urbains ou autochtones de partout au Canada et d’ailleurs dans le monde et les aide à créer des liens profonds et solides avec les merveilles naturelles et culturelles des prairies.



Réunion d’intervenants Réunion d’intervenants
© Parcs Canada

La restauration dans le parc national des Prairies se voulait un processus inclusif. Les voisins et d’autres intervenants ont pris part aux journées portes ouvertes et aux réunions amicales avec le personnel du parc et tous se sont efforcés d’écouter, de comprendre et d’examiner les préoccupations des uns et des autres.



Retourner au haut de la page

Surveillance

Les résultats des travaux de restauration sont suivis de près. On procède à des échantillonnages de la végétation pour surveiller la composition en espèces plusieurs années après qu’un champ cultivé a été restauré en prairie indigène. De plus, les bisons ont été munis d’unités GPS pour que les visiteurs et le personnel du parc puissent suivre leurs déplacements et leur comportement. Les visiteurs ont maintenant la possibilité d’observer les bisons et de se renseigner sur leur rôle écologique et culturel dans un réseau de prairies naturelles.

Les activités et les résultats du projet ont été régulièrement évalués et communiqués par l’entremise d’un comité consultatif, de journées portes ouvertes, de bulletins et de réunions, de même que dans le cadre d’évaluations et de rapports officiels comme l’évaluation des impacts gouvernementaux et le Rapport sur l'état du parc. (Pour en savoir plus sur la surveillance dans les parcs nationaux.)

Retourner au haut de la page

Leçons apprises

  • Il a été important d’être à l’écoute, car les bonnes idées sont venues de toutes parts.
  • Le personnel du parc et les intervenants sentaient le besoin d’être pleinement engagés dans les prises de décisions et les mesures mises de l’avant.
  • La collaboration interne a été essentielle.
  • Il a été plus efficace de franchir de petites étapes à la fois; il faut avoir de grands rêves, mais les diviser en étapes réalisables.
  • Il a été important de laisser place à la communication.
  • Vérifier chacune de toutes les petites étapes, à l’interne comme à l’externe. En temps opportun, informer les gens : « voici ce qui a été planifié, voici ce que vous avez dit, voici ce qu’on fait maintenant compte tenu de vos commentaires et voici les prochaines étapes ». Demander des réactions aux prochaines étapes prévues. Divers moyens ont été utilisés pour y arriver, dont des journées portes ouvertes, des bulletins, des activités communautaires, des réunions et des conversations individuelles.
  • S’assurer de reconnaître les efforts des bénévoles convenablement et en temps opportun.

Retourner au haut de la page

Prochaines étapes

Les stratégies utilisées dans ce projet de restauration ont permis de parfaire avec succès les techniques nécessaires à la conservation et à la mise en valeur du paysage des prairies. En misant sur ces réussites, le parc continuera, au cours des cinq prochaines années (de 2009 à 2014), à effectuer des travaux de restauration qui viseront à grossir le troupeau de bisons, à augmenter l’utilisation des brûlages dirigés, à éliminer complètement l’agropyre à crête du parc et à végétaliser tous les champs cultivés subsistants dans le parc. De plus, les objectifs de l’expérience de pâturage seront atteints au cours des cinq prochaines années. Les putois d’Amérique, qui étaient absents (disparus) des Prairies canadiennes depuis 1937, ont aussi été réintroduits dans le parc en 2009. Le parc offrira de nouvelles possibilités aux visiteurs et aux étudiants de connaître les efforts de restauration et d’en faire l’expérience.

Retourner au haut de la page

Pour plus de renseignements

La présente étude de cas a pour objet de renseigner de manière générale sur les projets de restauration écologique dans les aires naturelles protégées du Canada. Pour obtenir des renseignements détaillés ou techniques sur le projet de Restauration de l’écosystème des Prairies, veuillez consulter les sites Internet ou les personnes-ressources précisés ci dessous :

Retourner au haut de la page

Personnes-ressources

Pour obtenir des renseignements détaillés ou techniques au sujet de ce projet de restauration, veuillez communiquer avec :

Katherine Patterson
Directrice d’unité de gestion
Parc national du Canada des Prairies
katherine.patterson@pc.gc.ca
Tél: 306-298-2258

Adrian Sturch
Gestionnaire de la conservation des ressources
Parc national du Canada des Prairies
C.P. 150
Val Marie (Saskatchewan)
Canada S0N 2T0
Adrian.Sturch@pc.gc.ca
Tél: 306-298-2166

Retourner au haut de la page

Partenaires principaux

Si vous souhaitez commenter la présente étude de cas, veuillez écrire à Parcs Canada, à restauration.restoration@pc.gc.ca


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).