Ecosystem Management

Inventory and Monitoring

Canada's national parks provide a home for many plants and animals - from lilies to majestic forests, and from insects to grizzly bears. An important challenge for parks Canada is to know what plants and animals occur in a given park, what ecosystems they use, and how these species and ecosystems are changing over time.

Michigan lily (Lilium michiganese), Point Pelee National Park of Canada.
Michigan lily (Lilium michiganese), Point Pelee National Park of Canada.
© Parks Canada / J. Graham / 06.62.03.05(135), 1982
Children surrounding a large cedar on the Giant Cedar trail in Mount Revelstoke National Park of Canada.
Children surrounding a large cedar on the Giant Cedar trail in Mount Revelstoke National Park of Canada.
© Parks Canada / J. Woods / 10.103.04.09(11), 1984.

Long-horned Beetle, La Mauricie National Park of Canada
Long-horned Beetle, La Mauricie National Park of Canada
© Parks Canada / J. Pleau / 05.51.10.05(14), 1996
Grizzly bear (Ursus arctos), Kluane National Park and Reserve of Canada. Grizzly bear (Ursus arctos), Kluane National Park and Reserve of Canada.
© Parks Canada / W. Lynch / 11.110.10.01(28), 1988

Top

Park inventories tell us what kind of plants and animals we have, and for some species, about how many we have. In the same way that animals and plants can be classified into species, park ecosystems can be classified into ecosystem types. For example, wetlands, forests, grasslands, and arctic tundra are examples of park ecosystem types that we can identify and inventory by mapping.

Wetland in the eastern section of Riding Mountain National Park of Canada
Wetland in Riding Mountain National Park of Canada.
© Parks Canada / J. Pleau / 07.70.03.23(10) , 1974
Temperate rainforest in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve of Canada.
Temperate rainforest in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve of Canada.
© Parks Canada / Mia & Klaus / 10.104.03.05(103), 1994.

Mixed Grass Prairie, with the Badlands in the distance, Grasslands National Park of Canada.
Mixed Grass Prairie, with the Badlands in the distance, Grasslands National Park of Canada.
© Parks Canada / A. Cornellier / 08.81.03.05(30), 1988
Arctic tundra at Oliver Sound, Sirmilik National Park of Canada.
Arctic tundra at Oliver Sound, Sirmilik National Park of Canada.

© Parks Canada / D. Harvey / 13.01.03.05(01), 1989

In addition to knowing how many kinds of plants, animals, and ecosystems we have, we also need to know how the number or health of park species or ecosystems are changing over time - this is the job of monitoring.

This section of the Parks Canada internet site outlines the inventory and monitoring activities that we carry out in National Parks.

Top

Inventory

Warden collecting fish monitoring data.
Warden collecting fish monitoring data.
© Parks Canada

A principle role for Canada's national parks is to provide habitat for the plants and animals that are typical of the natural area in which the park is located. Parks provide habitat for very common species as well as rare and endangered species . Each park has a list of the major plant and animal species that occur in the park, and these species are tracked using the Species-In-Parks (SIPS) database. The species list is updated, as new information is made available.

It is obviously impossible to count the thousands of species that occur in our national parks. However, for many of the main species, such as mule deer, white-tailed deer, moose, Rocky Mountain elk, mountain goat, mountain sheep, caribou, and grizzly bears, Parks Canada biologists conduct regular surveys to estimate how many animals occur in and around a particular park. This work is often carried out with partners such as the Canadian Wildlife Service , or provincial and territorial governments.

Top
Short-Tailed Swallowtail (Papilio brevicauda) in Gros Morne National Park of Canada.
Short-Tailed Swallowtail (Papilio brevicauda) in Gros Morne National Park of Canada.
© Parks Canada / W. Lynch / 01.11.10.05(03), 1992

The hundreds of species that make up a park species list are actually only a small percentage of the total number of species that occur in a park. There are thousands of species of insects, invertebrates, protozoans, fungi and bacteria that occur in the millions in all of our park ecosystems. For example, it has been estimated that there may be thousands of species of these organisms in a single handful of forest soil.

These thousands of species perform very important ecological functions such as pollination of plants by insects, decomposition of leaf litter on the forest floor by bacteria that provides essential nutrients for tree growth, and fungi that live inside tree roots and help trees take up water and nutrients out of the soil.

Ecosystem succession: Forest trees grow and die, and are replaced by younger trees growing under the canopy.
Ecosystem succession: Forest trees grow and die, and are replaced by younger trees growing under the canopy.
© Parks Canada

We will probably never know all of these species and we certainly won't be able to count them all. The way we manage our parks to try and make sure that these species persist is by making sure that the range of ecosystem types that are typical of a natural region are represented across the park landscape. This is one of the principle functions of developing an inventory of park ecosystems.

Natural regeneration of a burn area, Kluane National Park and Reserve of Canada.
Natural regeneration of a burn area, Kluane National Park and Reserve of Canada.
© Parks Canada / W. Neily / 11.110.03.10(17), 1975

Inventories of park ecosystem types are conducted periodically to provide an assessment of the distribution and condition of park ecosystems. This inventory needs to be updated periodically to account for changes in ecosystems that result from ecosystem succession and disturbance. Ecosystems change over time in a process called ecosystem succession.

For example, forest trees grow and die and are replaced by younger trees that were growing slowly under the canopy. Forest ecosystems may also change very rapidly in response to large-scale disturbances such as forest fires, insect infestations, or landslides, and this initiates a new progression of forest ecosystem succession. Other ecosystems such as wetlands and grasslands also change slowly over time, and may be altered dramatically by disturbance.

Prescribed burning in Mount Revelstoke National Park of Canada.
Prescribed burning in Mount Revelstoke National Park of Canada.
© Parks Canada / R. Grey / 10.103.14.01(04), 1973
An avalanche slope on the Balu Pass trail, Glacier National Park of Canada.
An avalanche slope on the Balu Pass trail, Glacier National Park of Canada.
© Parks Canada / W. Lynch / 10.102.09.07(71), 1990.

Top

Monitoring

Caribou with EI Monitoring graph overlay.
Parks Canada Ecological Integrity Monitoring Program.
© Parks Canada

What is Ecosystem Monitoring?

Ecosystem monitoring measures changes in ecosystems over time. In Parks Canada we manage ecosystems to maintain and restore ecological integrity (EI). Thus the specific objective of the Parks Canada monitoring program is to measure changes in the ecological integrity of park ecosystems.

Why Monitor?

Parks Canada's central management mandate is to enhance and restore ecological integrity while fostering public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment. EI Monitoring provides park managers with critical information on changes in ecological integrity with regard to that mandate. Parks Canada is presently in the process of assessing our present monitoring program, and adjusting these programs to provide more comprehensive reporting of changes in park ecological integrity .

A well-designed EI monitoring program can provide useful information:

  • to assess the effectiveness of our management actions;
  • to increase our understanding of ecosystem change;
  • to find areas where further research is needed , and;
  • to serve as an 'ecological baseline' to which non-protected landscapes can be compared.

History of Parks Canada Monitoring

Over the years, Parks Canada has been a leader in ecosystem monitoring in the protected area community. Ecosystem management has occurred within parks since the 1930s, and the term ecological integrity was introduced to park policy as early as 1979. National parks across the system have been monitoring different aspects of park biology for many years, in response to a wide variety of management concerns. The important role of EI monitoring in national parks was brought into clear focus through the Parks Canada's response (coming soon) to the Report of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks (coming soon). What is new at this time is that managing for the integrity of park ecosystems has been legislated as the primary management focus, and parks are now required to report comprehensively on the whole park ecosystem.

Top

The EI Monitoring Framework

The EI monitoring framework was developed by Parks Canada to provide a conservation science context for comprehensive EI monitoring and reporting in national parks. The EI monitoring framework divides park ecological integrity into two components - plant and animal diversity, and ecosystem processes. The framework also identifies categories that describe the principal stressors that affect park ecosystems.

Assessing Ecological Integrity
Biodiversity
(characteristic of region)
Ecosystem Functions
(resilient, evolutionary potential)
Stressors
(unimpaired system)

Species richness
- change in species richness
- numbers and extent of exotics

Population dynamics
- mortality/natility rates of indicator species
- Imigration/ emigration of indicator species
- population viability of indicator species

Trophic structure
- size class distribution of all taxa
- predation levels

Succession/ retrogression
- disturbance frequencies and size (fire. insects, flooding)
- vegetation age class distributions

Productivity
- Remote or by site

Decomposition
-by site

Nutrient retention
- Ca, N par site

Human land-use patterns
- land use maps, roads densities, population densities.

Habitat fragmentation
- patch size, inter-patch distance, forest interior*

Pollutants
- sewage, petrochemicals etc.
- long-range transport of toxics

Climate
- weather data
- frequency of extreme events

Other
- park specific issues

Top

Changing the Way we Monitor Park EI

Number of monitoring projects by category for the Atlantic parks - A survey of monitoring projects in the Atlantic parks showed that the main areas for monitoring were: Reptiles/Amphibians, Fish/Aquatics, Mammals, Vegetation Biodiversity, Natural Stressors, Human Impacts, Geoindicators and Birds.  Birds are the most studied indicator in Atlantic National Parks, with over 45 monitoring projects focusing on them. Vegetation Biodiversity and Fish/Aquatics follow closely behind with 35 and 25 projects respectively.  Reptiles/Amphibians have the least number of monitoring projects dedicated to them, with only 8 projects
Number of monitoring projects by category for the Atlantic parks
© Parks Canada

A major task for each park will be to adjust their present EI monitoring programs to ensure that revised monitoring programs can report on specific management activities, and on the whole park ecosystem, as dictated by management objectives and outlined by the EI monitoring framework. This process is underway through a national survey summarizing all monitoring presently occurring in national parks. A pilot survey in Atlantic parks indicated that considerable monitoring is occurring, but is focussed primarily on monitoring animal populations.

Top

A major challenge for each park will be to develop core- monitoring indicators that are relevant for a park, but can be summarized regionally and nationally. The monitoring and reporting of the ecological integrity at park-level and national levels can be visualized as a monitoring pyramid.

The Parks Canada Ecological Integrity Monitoring Pyramid - The national monitoring program will be organised so that monitoring information is collected at national, bioregional and park scales.  The monitoring information at the national and regional levels will flow down to the parks to report on park-level ecological integrity.  The park and regional monitoring data will also flow up, for reporting at a national scale
The Parks Canada Ecological Integrity Monitoring Pyramid
© Parks Canada / 2003

Another major challenge of the program will be to develop new approaches to synthesizing and presenting complex ecological information into a format useful for park management, and for communicating to Canadians on the condition of national parks.

Gestion des écosystèmes

Inventaire et contrôle

Les parcs nationaux du Canada abritent beaucoup d'animaux et de plantes - à partir des lis jusqu'aux forêts majestueuses et depuis les insectes jusqu'aux grizzlys. L'un des défis importants que Parcs Canada doit relever est de savoir quelles plantes et quels animaux sont présents dans les différents parcs, quels écosystèmes ils utilisent et comment ces espèces et les écosystèmes évoluent au fil du temps.

Lis du Michigan (Lilium michiganese), parc national du Canada de la Pointe-Pelée.
Lis du Michigan (Lilium michiganese), parc national du Canada de la Pointe-Pelée.
© Parcs Canada / J. Graham / 06.62.03.05(135), 1982
Des enfants entourant un énorme cèdre sur le sentier pédestre des Cèdres géants dans le parc national du Canada du Mont-Revelstoke.
Des enfants entourant un énorme cèdre sur le sentier pédestre des Cèdres géants dans le parc national du Canada du Mont-Revelstoke
© Parcs Canada / J. Woods / 10.103.04.09(11), 1984.

Cérambycidé, parc national du Canada de la Mauricie.
Cérambycidé, parc national du Canada de la Mauricie
© Parcs Canada / J. Pleau / 05.51.10.05(14), 1996
Ours grizzli (Ursus arctos), parc national et réserve de parc national du Canada Kluane.
Ours grizzli (Ursus arctos), parc national et réserve de parc national du Canada Kluane.
© Parcs Canada / W. Lynch / 11.110.10.01(28), 1988

Haut

Les inventaires des parcs nous indiquent quelles espèces de plantes et d'animaux nous avons et, pour certaines espèces, combien nous en avons, environ. Tout comme on peut classer les animaux et les plantes selon les espèces, on peut aussi classer les écosystèmes des parcs selon les types. Ainsi, milieux humides, forêts, prairies et toundra arctique sont des exemples de types d'écosystèmes que nous pouvons identifier et inventorier dans nos parcs à l'aide de la cartographie.

Marécage dans la section est du parc national du Canada du Mont-Riding
Marécage du parc national du Canada du Mont-Riding.
© Parcs Canada / J. Pleau / 07.70.03.23(10) , 1974
La forêt pluviale tempérée de la réserve de parc national du Canada
La forêt pluviale tempérée de la réserve de parc national du Canada Pacific Rim.
© Parcs Canada / Mia & Klaus / 10.104.03.05(103), 1994.

Prairie mixte enherber, avec les bad-lands en arrière-plan, parc national du Canada des Prairies.
Prairie mixte enherber, avec les bad-lands en arrière-plan, parc national du Canada des Prairies.
© Parcs Canada / A. Cornellier / 08.81.03.05(30), 1988
Toundra arctique du baie Oliver, parc national du Canada Sirmilik.
Toundra arctique du baie Oliver, parc national du Canada Sirmilik.
© Parcs Canada / D. Harvey / 13.01.03.05(01), 1989

En plus de savoir combien d'espèces de plantes, d'animaux et d'écosystèmes nous avons, nous devons savoir de quelle façon le nombre ou la santé des espèces ou des écosystèmes des parcs évolue au fil du temps - la surveillance sert précisément à cela.

Cette section du site Internet de Parcs Canada indique les activités d'inventaire et de surveillance que nous effectuons dans nos parcs nationaux.

Haut

Inventaire

Garde faisant la collecte de données reliées à la surveillance de poissons.
Garde faisant la collecte de données reliées à la surveillance de poissons.
© Parcs Canada

L'un des principaux rôles des parcs nationaux du Canada est de fournir un habitat aux plantes et aux animaux caractéristiques de la région naturelle dans laquelle le parc se trouve. Les parcs fournissent un habitat aux espèces très courantes de même qu'aux espèces rares et aux espèces en péril . Chaque parc possède une liste des principales espèces de plantes et d'animaux qu'on trouve dans les limites du parc et ces espèces sont suivies à l'aide de la Banque de données sur les espèces dans les parcs (BDEP). La liste des espèces est mise à jour et l'information nouvelle est rendue accessible.

Il est évidemment impossible de dénombrer les milliers d'espèces que l'on trouve dans nos parcs nationaux. Cependant, pour bon nombre des principales espèces comme le cerf-mulet, le cerf de Virginie, l'orignal, le wapiti, la chèvre de montagne, le mouflon de montagne, le caribou et le grizzly, les biologistes de Parcs Canada effectuent des relevés réguliers afin d'estimer le nombre d'animaux qui se trouvent dans les différents parcs et dans leur voisinage. Ce travail s'effectue souvent avec des partenaires tels que le Service canadien de la faune , ou des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux.

Haut
Papillon queue-courte (Papilio brevicauda) au parc national du Canada du Gros-Morne.
Papillon queue-courte (Papilio brevicauda) au parc national du Canada du Gros-Morne.
© Parcs Canada / W. Lynch / 01.11.10.05(03), 1992

Les centaines d'espèces qui composent la liste des espèces du parc ne constituent en fait qu'un faible pourcentage du nombre total d'espèces qui fréquentent le parc. Il existe des milliers d'espèces d'insectes, d'invertébrés, de protozoaires, de champignons et de bactéries dont le nombre s'exprime en millions dans l'ensemble des écosystèmes de nos parcs. Ainsi, on a estimé qu'il peut exister des milliers d'espèces de ces organismes dans une seule poignée de sol forestier.

Ces milliers d'espèces assument des fonctions écologiques très importantes telles que la pollinisation des plantes par les insectes, la décomposition des couches de feuilles mortes sur la couverture morte par les bactéries fournissant alors des éléments nutritifs essentiels à la croissance des arbres, sans compter les champignons qui vivent à l'intérieur des racines des arbres et aident ces derniers à extraire du sol l'eau et les éléments nutritifs essentiels.

Succession de l'écosystème: les arbres de la forêt croissent et meurent, et sont remplacés par des arbres plus jeunes qui poussaient sous le couvert.
Succession de l'écosystème: les arbres de la forêt croissent et meurent, et sont remplacés par des arbres plus jeunes qui poussaient sous le couvert.
© Parcs Canada

Nous ne connaîtrons probablement jamais la totalité de ces espèces et nous ne serons certainement pas en mesure de les dénombrer toutes. Pour que ces espèces perdurent, nous gérons nos parcs de façon à nous assurer que l'éventail des types d'écosystèmes qui sont caractéristiques d'une région naturelle est représenté dans l'ensemble des paysages des parcs. L'inventaire des écosystèmes des parcs sert surtout à cela.

La régénération naturelle d'une superficie brulée, parc national et réserve de parc national du Canada Kluane
La régénération naturelle d'une superficie brulée, parc national et réserve de parc national du Canada Kluane
© Parcs Canada / W. Neily / 11.110.03.10(17), 1975

Des inventaires des types d'écosystèmes des parcs sont réalisés périodiquement afin d'évaluer la répartition et l'état des écosystèmes des parcs. Cet inventaire doit être mis à jour périodiquement afin de tenir compte des modifications aux écosystèmes résultant de la succession ou de la perturbation. Les écosystèmes se modifient au fil du temps selon un processus appelé succession de l'écosystème. Par exemple les arbres de la forêt croissent et meurent et sont remplacés par des arbres plus jeunes qui poussaient lentement sous le couvert. Les écosystèmes forestiers peuvent aussi changer très rapidement suite à des perturbations

à grande échelle telles que les incendies, les infestations d'insectes ou les glissements de terrain et cela provoque une nouvelle progression dans la succession de l'écosystème forestier. D'autres écosystèmes comme les milieux humides ou les prairies se modifient lentement au fil du temps et peuvent être grandement modifiés par une perturbation.

Le brûlage dirigé au parc national du Canada du Mont-Revelstoke.
Le brûlage dirigé au parc national du Canada du Mont-Revelstoke.
© Parcs Canada / R. Grey / 10.103.14.01(04), 1973
Un couloir d'avalanche sur le sentier du col Balu, parc national du Canada des Glaciers.
Un couloir d'avalanche sur le sentier du col Balu, parc national du Canada des Glaciers.
© Parcs Canada / W. Lynch / 10.102.09.07(71), 1990.

Haut

Surveillance

Qu'est-ce que la surveillance de l'écosystème?

Des caribou avec un graphe de surveillance de l'intégrité écologique.
Le programme de surveillance de l'intégrité écologique de Parcs Canada.
© Parcs Canada

La surveillance de l'écosystème mesure les modifications de l'écosystème au fil du temps. À Parcs Canada, nous gérons les écosystèmes afin de maintenir ou de rétablir l'intégrité écologique (IE). Par conséquent, l'objectif du programme de surveillance de Parcs Canada est de mesurer les modifications de l'intégrité écologique .

Pourquoi surveiller?

Le mandat principal de Parcs Canada est d'améliorer et de rétablir l'intégrité écologique tout en amenant le public à mieux comprendre, mieux apprécier et mieux profiter des parcs nationaux. La surveillance de l'IE fournit aux gestionnaires de l'information cruciale sur les modifications de l'intégrité écologique dans le cadre de ce mandat. Parcs Canada travaille actuellement à évaluer notre programme de surveillance et à rajuster ces programmes afin qu'ils rendent compte de façon plus globale des modifications de l'intégrité écologique .

Un programme de surveillance de l'IE bien conçu peut fournir de l'information utile :

  • pour évaluer l'efficacité de nos mesures de gestion;
  • pour mieux comprendre les modifications de l'écosystème;
  • pour déterminer les secteurs où il faut pousser la recherche plus loin;
  • pour bâtir une " base de référence écologique " à laquelle les paysages non protégés peuvent être comparés

Historique de la surveillance de Parcs Canada

Au cours des ans, Parcs Canada a été un chef de file en matière de surveillance des aires protégées. La gestion de l'écosystème s'exerce dans les parcs depuis les années 1930 et l'expression intégrité écologique a été intégrée dans la politique sur les parcs dès 1979. Les parcs nationaux du réseau surveillent depuis bien des années différents aspects de la biologie des parcs, en fonction d'une vaste gamme de préoccupations de gestion. La réponse (bientôt disponible) de Parcs Canada au Rapport de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada (bientôt disponible) a clairement souligné le rôle important joué par la surveillance de l'IE dans les parcs nationaux. Ce qui est nouveau maintenant, c'est que gérer en fonction de l'intégrité des écosystèmes des parcs a été défini dans la loi comme étant une priorité de gestion et que les parcs doivent dorénavant rendre compte intégralement de la santé de l'ensemble de leur écosystème.

Haut

Le cadre de surveillance de l'IE

Parcs Canada a élaboré le cadre de surveillance de l'IE afin de définir un contexte de science de la conservation pour assurer la surveillance et la reddition de compte globales dans les parcs nationaux. Le cadre de surveillance de l'IE divise l' intégrité écologique du parc en deux volets - diversité végétale et animale et processus de l'écosystème. Le cadre précise également les catégories qui décrivent les principaux facteurs de stress qui affectent les écosystèmes des parcs.

Évaluation de l'intégrité écologique - Suite d'indicateurs
Biodiversité
(typique de la région)
Fonctions des écosystèmes
(potentiel de résilience, évolutif)
Facteur de stress
(système non perturbé)

Diversité des espèces
- changement de la diversité des espèces
- nombre et étendue des espèces exotiques

Dynamique de la population
- taux de mortalité et de natalité des indicateurs
- immigration et migration des indicateurs
- durabilité de la population des indicateurs

Structure trophique
- répartition de la classe de taille de tous les taxa
- niveaux de prédation

Succession et rétrogression
- fréquence et ampleur des perturbations (incendie. insectes, inondations)
- répartition des classes d'âge de la végétation

Productivité
- éloignée ou par site

Décomposition
- par site

Rétention des nutrients
- Ca, N by site

Profils d'utilisation des terres par les humains
- cartes d'utilisation des terres, densités routières, densité des populations

Fragmentation de l'habitat
- taille des parcelles, distance entre parcelles, intérieur des forêts

Polluants
- eaux usées, produits pétrochimiques, etc.
- transport de matières toxiques sur de longues distances

Climat
- données météorologiques
- fréquence des phénomènes extrêmes

Autres
- problèmes propres au parc

Haut

Changer notre façon de surveiller l'IE des parcs

Le nombre de projets de surveillance par catégorie, pour les parcs atlantiques. - Une évaluation des projets de surveillance des parcs de l'Atlantique a démontré que les catégories principales évaluées sont : reptiles/amphibie, poissons/aquatique, mammifères, biodiversité de la végétation, facteurs de stress naturels, impact anthropique, indicateurs abiotique et oiseaux.  Les oiseaux sont l'indicateur le plus étudié dans les parcs nationaux de l'Atlantique, avec plus de 45 projets de surveillance concentrés sur eux.  La biodiversité de la végétation et les poissons/aquatique suivent les oiseaux de près avec respectivement 35 et 25 projets.  Les reptiles/amphibie sont les moins étudiés, avec seulement 8 projets d'évaluation portant sur eux
Le nombre de projets de surveillance par catégorie, pour les parcs atlantiques.
© Parcs Canada

L'une des tâches importantes de chaque parc sera d'ajuster ses programmes de surveillance de l'IE pour s'assurer que ces programmes révisés permettent de rendre compte d'activités de gestion précises et de l'ensemble de l'écosystème du parc, comme l'exigent les objectifs de gestion et comme le précise le cadre de surveillance de l'IE. Ce processus est en cours et prend la forme d'un sondage national visant à résumer toute la surveillance qui s'effectue actuellement dans les parcs nationaux. Un sondage pilote réalisé dans les parcs de l'Atlantique a montré qu'il se fait beaucoup de surveillance, mais que celle-ci vise surtout les populations animales.

Haut

Chaque parc devra relever un défi de taille, soit d'élaborer des indicateurs clés de la surveillance qui soient pertinents dans son cas, mais qui puissent être résumés à l'échelle régionale et nationale. La surveillance et la reddition de compte en matière d'intégrité écologique dans les parcs et à l'échelle nationale peuvent être illustrées par une pyramide de la surveillance.

La pyramide de surveillance de l'intégrité écologique de Parcs Canada - Le programme de surveillance national sera organisé de façon à ce que l'information reliée à la surveillance soit récoltée à l'échelle nationale, bio-régionale et locale.  L'information reliée à la surveillance aux niveaux national et régional sera transmise aux parcs pour faire rapport sur l'intégrité écologique au niveau du parc.  De plus, l'information reliée à la surveillance aux niveaux du parc et de la région sera transmise vers le haut pour faire rapport au niveau national
La pyramide de surveillance de l'intégrité écologique de Parcs Canada.
© Parcs Canada/ 2003

Un autre défi important se pose pour le programme, soit d'établir de nouvelles méthodes afin de synthétiser des données écologiques complexes et de les présenter sous une forme utile pour la gestion des parcs et pour la diffusion au public canadien d'information sur l'état des parcs nationaux.