Common menu bar links

Rouge National Urban Park Initiative

What's New

NEW! Rouge National Urban Park draft management plan released for public engagement

Find out more on our Public Involvement Page.

If you wish to be notified of Rouge National Urban Park news and events, please send an email to rouge@pc.gc.ca.

We look forward to hearing from or seeing you soon.

Historic Rouge National Urban Park Act Tabled

TORONTO, Ontario, June 16, 2014 – Dr. Colin Carrie, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of the Environment and Member of Parliament for Oshawa, on behalf of the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of the Environment and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, celebrated the bill to formally establish Rouge National Urban Park in the Greater Toronto Area. Corneliu Chisu, MP for Pickering-Scarborough East, joined Parliamentary Secretary Carrie for the celebration. 

Read the Press Release

Graphic showing Rouge Park size compare to Central Park, Stanley Park and Hyde Park Rouge National Urban Park will be one of the largest metropolitan parks in the WORLD!
© Parks Canada

Rouge National Urban Park invites you to the World’s Largest Bioblitz

The event will take place on Saturday, September 14, 2013 at 11:30 at the Rouge Valley Conservation Centre. For more information: www.ontariobioblitz.ca

Highlights from the Rouge National Urban Park Concept

Since the completion of our public engagement program on October 8, 2012, we have begun the process of reviewing the input from Canadians, both near and far. We have received thousands of comments and input and are elated by this incredible response. The Rouge National Urban Park concept has truly been developed by Canadians for Canadians. While our team at Parks Canada reviews and compiles the input, we are pleased to share a few highlights with you.
Highlights from the Rouge National Urban Park Concept (PDF - 14 Kb)

Public Landholders Working Together Towards a Land Transfer for Rouge National Urban Park

TORONTO, Ontario, June 25, 2012 -- The Honourable Peter Kent, Canada’s Environment Minister and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, is pleased with the level of collaboration by the public landholders expressing their commitment to work together toward a recommendation on park boundaries, and subsequent land transfer processes, for the creation of Rouge National Urban Park.

Read the Press Release

Harper Government announces funding for Rouge National Urban Park in the Greater Toronto Area

TORONTO, Ontario, May 25, 2012 -- The Honourable Peter Kent, Canada’s Environment Minister and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, and the Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance and Minister responsible for the Greater Toronto Area (GTA), today announced funding from Canada’s Economic Action Plan 2012 towards the establishment of Rouge National Urban Park and presented the proposed Study Area for the park, during a meeting held today with Aboriginal and community partners, and a broad range of stakeholders.

Read the Press Release

Budget 2012 Update:

The Government of Canada will take action on the creation of Rouge National Urban Park.

As stated in Budget 2012, the Government is committed to preserving Canada’s natural beauty and will take action on the creation of Canada’s first national urban park in the Rouge Valley in Ontario.

With this positive news, Parks Canada looks forward to continuing its work on the proposed concept for the national urban park in the Rouge Valley, which will be presented during public consultations planned for this summer.

Parks Canada is proud to be working with provincial, municipal, Aboriginal and community partners towards the creation of Rouge National Urban Park. Owing its existence to the dedication and engagement illustrated by many local visionaries, our collective passion for this park can be fully celebrated with this federal government commitment.

Initiative du parc urbain national de la Rouge

Quoi de neuf

Nouveau! Ébauche du plan directeur du parc urbain national de la Rouge

Apprenez-en plus sur notre page de Participation du public

Si vous souhaitez recevoir des mises à jour et plus d’information sur les événements à venir pour le parc urbain national de la Rouge, s'il vous plaît contactez-nous à : rouge@pc.gc.ca.

Nous espérons vous rencontrer très bientôt.

La loi concernant le parc urbain national de la Rouge est déposée

TORONTO (Ontario), le 16 juin 2014 -- Le Dr Colin Carrie, secrétaire parlementaire de la ministre de l’Environnement et député d’Oshawa, au nom de l’honorable Leona Aglukkaq, ministre de l’Environnement et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, a célébré le projet de loi visant à créer officiellement le parc urbain national de la Rouge dans la région du Grand Toronto. Corneliu Chisu, député de Pickering–Scarborough-Est s’est joint au secrétaire parlementaire Carrie pour cette célébration.

Lire le communiqué de presse

 Image montrant la taille du parc de la rouge en comparaison avec Central Park, le parc Stanley et Hyde Park Le parc urbain national de la Rouge sera l'un des plus grands parcs métropolitains au MONDE!
© Parcs Canada

Le parc urbain national de la Rouge vous invite au plus grand BioBlitz du monde

L’événement aura lieu le samedi 14 septembre 2013 à 13 h 30 au Centre de conservation de la Vallée Rouge. Pour plus d’infos: www.ontariobioblitz.ca (en anglais seulement)

Points saillants du concept de parc urbain national de la Rouge

Le programme de participation du public s’est achevé le 8 octobre 2012 et nous avons commencé à étudier les commentaires et suggestions reçues de Canadiens et de Canadiennes d’un bout à l’autre du pays. Nous avons reçu des milliers de commentaires et de présentations et nous sommes enchantés d’une telle réponse. Le concept de parc urbain national de la Rouge est vraiment élaboré par des Canadiens et pour des Canadiens. À mesure que l’équipe de Parcs Canada étudie et regroupe les commentaires, nous partagerons avec plaisir quelques points saillants.
Points saillants du concept de parc urbain national de la Rouge (PDF - 15 Ko)

Les propriétaires fonciers publics collaborent en vue d’un transfert de terres pour le parc urbain national de la Rouge

TORONTO (Ontario), le 25 juin 2012 -- Le ministre canadien de l’Environnement et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, l’honorable Peter Kent, est heureux du niveau de collaboration des propriétaires fonciers publics qui ont exprimé leur engagement à travailler de concert en vue de formuler une recommandation sur les limites du parc, et les processus ultérieurs liés au transfert de terres, pour la création du parc urbain national de la Rouge.

Lire le communiqué de presse 

Le gouvernement Harper annonce l'octroi de fonds pour le parc urbain national de la Rouge dans la région du Grand Toronto

TORONTO, (Ontario), le 25 mai 2012 -- L’honorable Peter Kent, ministre canadien de l’Environnement et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, et l’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances et ministre responsable de la région du Grand Toronto, ont annoncé aujourd’hui que des fonds sont prévus dans le Plan d’action économique de 2012 pour la création du parc urbain national de la Rouge et ont présenté l’aire à l’étude proposée pour les limites du parc, lors d’une réunion tenue aujourd’hui avec des partenaires autochtones et communautaires ainsi que d’une grande variété d’intervenants.

Lire le communiqué de presse

Budget 2012 Mise à jour : Le gouvernement du Canada s’engage à prendre les mesures aux fins de la création du Parc urbain national de la Rouge

Tel que contenu dans le Budget 2012, le gouvernement s’est engagé à préserver le paysage naturel canadien, et par le fait même, prendra des mesures aux fins de la création du premier parc urbain national du Canada, dans la vallée de la Rouge, en Ontario.

Sur cette note positive, Parcs Canada est enthousiaste à continuer son travail sur le concept proposé pour le parc urbain national de la vallée de la Rouge, lequel sera présenté lors des consultations publiques prévues cet été.

Parcs Canada est fier de travailler avec ses partenaires provinciaux, municipaux, autochtones et communautaires vers la création du parc urbain national de la Rouge. Devant son existence à la volonté et l’engagement démontrés par de nombreux visionnaires locaux, notre passion collective pour ce parc peut être pleinement célébrée suite à cet engagement du gouvernement fédéral.