Common menu bar links

Rouge National Urban Park Initiative

Backgrounder

Rouge Park, as it exists today, is one of North America's largest urban parks, currently spanning 47 square kilometres in the eastern sector of the Greater Toronto Area (GTA). Located within the heart of Canada's largest and most diverse metropolitan area, it is an assembly of natural, cultural, agricultural and recreational lands within a boundary that overlaps private properties, and municipal and provincial infrastructure corridors, within the City of Toronto and the towns of Markham and Pickering.

The park has a rich diversity of natural and cultural heritage resources, including: a rare Carolinian forest; numerous species at risk; a national historic site; geological outcrops from the interglacial age that are internationally significant; and, in-situ evidence of human history dating back over 10,000 years, including some of Canada's oldest known Aboriginal historic sites and villages.

In 2010, a review of the parks governance, organization and finance concluded that a new model was required which led to the recommendation to create a national urban park. A public opinion poll was commissioned resulting in an overwhelming 88% of respondents supporting the concept of establishing Rouge Park as Canada's first national urban park.

Des enfants s'amusent dans le parc de la vallée de la Rouge à l'embouchure du lac Ontario Children enjoying Rouge Park at the mouth of Lake Ontario.
© Parks Canada

The Government of Canada announced in the 2011 Speech from the Throne its commitment to work towards the creation of a national urban park in the Rouge Valley. The opportunity to establish Rouge Park under the stewardship of Parks Canada, as the first national urban park, builds on the success of the Agency's past efforts and is well aligned with its current priority to meaningfully reach Canada's increasingly diverse urban population. Since its inception 100 years ago, Parks Canada has played and continues to play a vital role in preserving and presenting heritage areas representative of Canada's vast natural landscapes and rich history.

Parks Canada is excited about this groundbreaking initiative. We envision the building of a "people's park", where connections are forged between the people of this great nation and the elements that make us truly Canadian. The park's proximity to Canada's largest city – and 20 percent of our nation's population – is an excellent opportunity to engage current and future generations of stewards towards ensuring the Rouge Valley's rich natural and cultural heritage is protected for the benefit, education and enjoyment of Canadians.

Initiative du parc urbain national de la Rouge

Fiches d'information

Le parc de la vallée de la Rouge, tel qu'il est aujourd'hui, est l'un des plus grands parcs urbains en Amérique du Nord; il couvre actuellement 47 kilomètres carrés dans le secteur est de la région du Grand Toronto. Situé au cœur de la région métropolitaine la plus grande et la plus cosmopolite du Canada, le parc est un ensemble complexe de terres naturelles, culturelles, agricoles et récréatives, situées à l'intérieur de limites qui chevauchent des propriétés privées et des corridors municipaux et provinciaux des villes de Toronto, Markham et Pickering.

Le parc comporte une riche diversité de ressources naturelles et culturelles patrimoniales, notamment une forêt carolinienne rare, de nombreuses espèces en péril, deux lieux historiques nationaux, des affleurements géologiques d'importance internationale datant de l'époque interglaciaire et des vestiges de l'histoire de l'humanité, datant de plus de 10 000 ans, dont certains vestiges des plus anciens lieux historiques et villages autochtones connus du Canada.

En 2010, un examen de la gouvernance, de l'organisation et des finances des parcs a mené à la conclusion qu'un nouveau modèle était nécessaire et à la recommandation de créer un parc urbain national. Un sondage d'opinion publique a été commandé, et une forte majorité de 88 % des répondants a appuyé le concept de l'établissement du parc de la vallée de la Rouge en tant que premier parc urbain national du Canada.

Des enfants s'amusent dans le parc de la vallée de la Rouge à l'embouchure du lac Ontario Des enfants s'amusent dans le parc de la vallée de la Rouge à l'embouchure du lac Ontario.
© Parcs Canada.

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé, dans son discours du Trône de 2011, son engagement envers la création d'un parc urbain national dans la vallée de la Rouge. La possibilité de placer le parc de la vallée de la Rouge sous la gouvernance de Parcs Canada, à titre de premier parc urbain national, s'inspire du succès de précédents efforts de l'Agence et s'harmonise à sa priorité actuelle, qui est d'établir des liens significatifs avec la population urbaine, de plus en plus diversifiée, du Canada. Depuis sa création, il y a 100 ans, Parcs Canada a joué, et continue de jouer, un rôle essentiel dans la préservation et la présentation de lieux patrimoniaux représentatifs des vastes paysages naturels et de la riche histoire du Canada.

Parcs Canada se réjouit de cette initiative hors du commun. Nous envisageons d'établir un « parc du peuple » où les gens qui font partie de la grande nation canadienne pourront forger des liens avec les éléments qui forment notre véritable identité nationale. L'emplacement du parc à proximité de la métropole du Canada — là où habite 20 pour cent de la population canadienne — offre une occasion unique d'amener les générations actuelles et à venir à jouer un rôle de protecteur du riche patrimoine naturel et culturel de la vallée de la Rouge, afin que le peuple canadien puisse le découvrir et en profiter pleinement.