Common menu bar links

Heritage Lighthouses of Canada

Bois Blanc Lighthouse and Blockhouse National Historic Site Bois Blanc Lighthouse and Blockhouse National Historic Site of Canada
© Parks Canada

Links

Let us help you connect to some helpful online resources!

Parks Canada 
Canadian Register of Historic Places 
Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada
Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada

Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act Implementation

Department of Justice Canada
Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act

Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Directory of Federal Real Property

Consultative Group:
The Minister and Chair of the Board appointed a Consultative Group to provide strategic advice to the Board with respect to its role as the Minister's advisory committee under the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act. Members are as follows:

Hon. Pat Carney, PC, CM,
Saturna Island BC - Chairperson
Senator (Retired)
patcarney@telus.net
www.patcarney.ca

Carol Livingstone
Prince Edward Island Lighthouse Society
peilight@pei.sympatico.ca  

Larry Miller
MP for Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound (Ontario)
millela1@parl.gc.ca

Peter Noreau
President, Corporation des gestionnaires de phares de l'estuaire et du golfe Saint-Laurent
b&blamereveilleuse@videotron.ca  

Robert Square
Chair, Cove Island Lightstation Heritage Association
robert.square@sympatico.ca

 

FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)

Questions? We have answers.


Q 1: What is the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act?

The Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act is a law designed to protect lighthouses owned by the federal government that have significant heritage value. The Act protects the heritage character of designated lighthouses and requires that they be reasonably maintained. Subject to certain conditions, heritage lighthouses may be sold or transferred to other levels of government, to not-for-profit community organizations, or to individuals in order to promote new uses and to ensure their long-term protection.

Q 2: How did lighthouses become nominated for heritage designation?

A public petition process was established to enable residents of Canada to nominate lighthouses important to them for designation. The petition process ran for two years, from 29 May 2010 to 29 May 2012. Petitions had to specify which lighthouse was being nominated and be signed by at least 25 residents of Canada 18 years of age or older. Any lighthouse in Canada owned by the federal government was eligible to be nominated for designation under the Act.

Q 3: How are heritage lighthouses designated?

The Minister responsible for Parks Canada (the Minister of the Environment) may designate a lighthouse as a heritage lighthouse. In deciding whether or not to designate, the Minister must take into account the established criteria adopted for the purposes of the Act and must consider the advice of an advisory committee that advises and assists on matters relating to heritage lighthouses. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada acts as the Minister’s advisory committee for all matters relating to heritage lighthouses, including their designation.

More detailed information on the designation process can be found on our Evaluation & Designation page.

Q 4: What are the designation criteria?

The designation criteria are designed to identify and articulate the historical, architectural and community values of Canadian lighthouses. A lighthouse that is found to have sufficient heritage value may be designated as a “heritage lighthouse”. Related buildings, such as a keeper’s residence or fog alarm building, may be included in a designation if they contribute to the lighthouse’s heritage character.

The designation criteria are posted on our Evaluation & Designation page.

Q 5: Are Parks Canada’s lighthouses eligible for designation?

Yes. Parks Canada administers 11 lighthouses, all of which have been nominated to be considered for heritage lighthouse designation. The Parks Canada administered lighthouses are used for various program requirements, including interpretation, visitor facilities and the protection of species at risk. None of the Parks Canada administered lighthouses will be made surplus. 

  • Active Pass Lightstation (within Gulf Islands National Park Reserve of Canada), BC 
  • Bois Blanc Island Lighthouse and Blockhouse National Historic Site of Canada, ON 
  • Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site of Canada, NL 
  • East Point Lightstation (within Gulf Islands National Park Reserve of Canada), BC 
  • Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Site of Canada, BC 
  • Flowerpot Island Lightstation (within Fathom Five National Marine Conservation Area of Canada), ON 
  • Point Clark Lighthouse National Historic Site of Canada, ON 
  • Pointe-au-Père Lighthouses National Historic Site of Canada, QC 
  • Portlock Point Lightstation (within Gulf Islands National Park Reserve of Canada), BC 
  • Prince Edward Point Lighthouse (within Prince Edward Point National Wildlife Area), ON 
  • Windmill Lighthouse (Battle of the Windmill National Historic Site of Canada), ON

Q 6: What is a “surplus” lighthouse? Can a surplus lighthouse be designated?

A surplus lighthouse is one that is surplus to federal operational requirements. It may or may not contain an active aid to navigation. Under the Act, a surplus lighthouse that meets the designation criteria may be designated if a person or body submits a written commitment to buy or otherwise acquire the lighthouse and protect its heritage character. A written commitment did not need to accompany a petition, as the terms and conditions for the sale or transfer of a surplus lighthouse are negotiated and finalized between DFO and the person or body wishing to buy or otherwise acquire a surplus lighthouse.

The Act required all federal Ministers who administer lighthouses to maintain and make accessible to the public during the two-year petitioning period (29 May 2010 – 29 May 2012) a list of all lighthouses considered to be surplus to operational requirements. None of Parks Canada’s lighthouses are surplus to operational requirements. Please consult with Fisheries and Oceans Canada for information on surplus lighthouses under its administration.

Q 7: If I signed a petition for the designation of a surplus lighthouse, am I obligated to acquire the lighthouse?

No. A petition only served to nominate a lighthouse to be considered for designation as a heritage lighthouse. A petition’s signatories may be but do not need to be part of a body that intends to buy or otherwise acquire the lighthouse and protect its heritage character.

Q 8: What are the ongoing responsibilities for a group after taking ownership of a heritage lighthouse?

New owners will be required to respect the heritage character of the heritage lighthouse and of any related buildings that are included in the designation.

The Act requires that any sale or transfer of a heritage lighthouse provide for the protection of its heritage character. There are a variety of legal tools to achieve this and the type of protection will vary depending upon the location of the lighthouse. All non-federal owners of heritage lighthouses will be encouraged to adopt the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada to guide their conservation efforts.

Q 9: What are the Heritage Lighthouse Program’s key dates?

The Act came into force on 29 May 2010 and the two-year petitioning period began. The two-year petitioning period ended on 29 May 2012. All petitions must have been evaluated and any resulting designation made by the Minister by 29 May 2015. Results of the program must be published in the Canada Gazette by 27 August 2015.

Q 10: What if I have a question not listed here?

You are welcome to contact the Heritage Lighthouse Program office for any questions you may have.

Les phares patrimoniaux du Canada

Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-et-du-Blockhaus-de-l'Île-Bois-Blanc Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-et-du-Blockhaus-de-l'Île-Bois-Blanc
© Parcs Canada

Liens

Laissez-nous vous aider à vous connecter à des ressources utiles en ligne!

Parcs Canada 
Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada
Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada
Répertoire canadien des lieux patrimoniaux

Pêches et Océans Canada
Mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux

Ministère de la Justice
Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Répertoire des biens immobiliers fédéraux

Groupe consultatif :
Le Ministre et le président de la Commission ont nommé un Groupe consultatif pour conseiller la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada à l’égard de son rôle en tant que Comité consultatif en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux. Les membres sont comme suit :

Hon. Pat Carney, PC, CM, Saturna Island C-B - Présidente
Sénatrice (à la retraite)
patcarney@telus.net
www.patcarney.ca

Carol Livingstone
Prince Edward Island Lighthouse Society
peilight@pei.sympatico.ca

Larry Miller
Député pour Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound (Ontario)
millela1@parl.gc.ca

Peter Noreau
Président, Corporation des gestionnaires de phares de l'estuaire et du golfe Saint-Laurent
b&blamereveilleuse@videotron.ca

Robert Square
Président, Cove Island Lightstation Heritage Association
robert.square@sympatico.ca

 FAQ (Foire aux questions)

Vous avez des questions? Nous avons les réponses.


Q. 1 En quoi consiste la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux?

La Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux assure la protection des phares de propriété fédérale qui ont une importante valeur patrimoniale. Elle protège le caractère patrimonial des phares désignés et exige leur entretien dans une mesure raisonnable. Sous réserve de certaines conditions, un phare patrimonial peut être vendu ou transféré à un autre ordre de gouvernement, à une organisation communautaire sans but lucratif ou à une personne afin de favoriser de nouvelles vocations et d’assurer la protection du phare à long terme

Q. 2 Comment a-t-on proposé les phares en vue d’une désignation patrimoniale?

Un processus public de pétitions a été instauré en vue de permettre aux Canadiens de présenter, aux fins de désignation, les phares qui leur sont chers. Le processus de pétition a duré deux ans, soit du 29 mai 2010 au 29 mai 2012. La pétition devait préciser le phare mis en candidature et être signée par au moins 25 résidents du Canada âgés de 18 ans ou plus. Tout phare au Canada appartenant au gouvernement fédéral pouvait faire l’objet d’une mise en candidature aux fins d’une désignation en vertu de la Loi.

Q. 3 Comment les phares patrimoniaux sont ils désignés?

C'est au ministre responsable de l'Agence Parcs Canada (le ministre de l'Environnement) qu'il revient d'accorder ou non à un phare le titre de phare patrimonial. Pour savoir s’il doit ou non accorder la désignation, le ministre doit prendre en considération les critères établis adoptés aux fins de la Loi et tenir compte des conseils formulés par un comité consultatif qui donne son avis et des conseils sur les questions touchant les phares patrimoniaux. La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada fera office de comité consultatif pour tout ce qui se rapporte aux phares patrimoniaux, notamment leur désignation.

D’autres renseignements détaillés sur le processus de désignation sont accessibles à la page Évaluation et désignation.

Q. 4 Quels sont les critères de désignation?

Les critères de désignation visent à cerner et à définir la valeur historique, architecturale et communautaire des phares canadiens. Un phare considéré comme ayant une valeur patrimoniale suffisante peut recevoir le titre de « phare patrimonial ». Les bâtiments connexes, tels la résidence du gardien de phare et le bâtiment de la corne de brume, peuvent être inclus dans une désignation s’ils contribuent au caractère patrimonial du phare.

Les critères de désignation sont affichés à la page Évaluation et désignation

Q 5: Est-ce que les phares administrés par Parcs Canada sont admissibles à la désignation?

Oui. Parcs Canada administre 11 phares, qui ont tous fait l’objet d’une mise en candidature en vue d’une désignation patrimoniale. Les phares administrés par Parcs Canada sont utilisés pour répondre aux exigences de divers programmes, comme l’interprétation, les installations à l’intention des visiteurs et la protection des espèces en péril. Les phares administrés par Parcs Canada ne seront pas déclarés excédentaires. 

  • Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Cap-Spear, T.N. 
  • Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Fisgard, C.B. 
  • Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-la-Pointe-Clark, ON 
  • Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Pointe-au-Père, QC 
  • Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-et-du-Blockhaus-de-l'Île-Bois-Blanc, ON 
  • Phare de Active Pass (dans la Réserve de parc national du Canada des Îles-Gulf), C.B. 
  • Phare de East Point (dans la Réserve de parc national du Canada des Îles-Gulf), C.B. 
  • Phare de Flowerpot Island (dans le Parc marin national du Canada Fathom Five), ON 
  • Phare de Portlock Point (dans la Réserve de parc national du Canada des Îles-Gulf), C.B. 
  • Phare de Prince Edward Point (dans la Réserve nationale de faune de Prince Edward Point), ON 
  • Phare du Moulin à Vent (Lieu historique national du Canada de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent), ON

Q. 6 Qu’est ce qu’un phare « excédentaire »? Un phare excédentaire peut il faire l’objet d’une désignation?

Un phare excédentaire est un phare jugé excédentaire par rapport aux exigences opérationnelles du gouvernement fédéral. Un phare excédentaire peut être ou non équipé d'un dispositif d'aide à la navigation. Selon la Loi, un phare excédentaire qui répond aux critères de désignation peut faire l’objet d’une désignation à condition qu’une personne ou un organisme s’engage par écrit à l’acheter ou à en faire l’acquisition autrement et à en protéger le caractère patrimonial. Il n’était pas nécessaire que cet engagement accompagne la pétition, étant donné que les modalités relatives à la vente ou au transfert d’un phare excédentaire sont négociées et officialisées entre le ministère des Pêches et des Océans et le particulier ou l’organisme qui désire l’acheter ou en faire l’acquisition.

La Loi exigeait de tous les ministres fédéraux qui administrent des phares qu’ils maintiennent et rendent accessible au public durant les deux années de la période de pétitions (du 29 mai 2010 au 29 mai 2012) une liste de tous les phares déclarés excédentaires compte tenu des exigences opérationnelles. Aucun des phares administrés par Parcs Canada n’est jugé excédentaire. Veuillez consulter le ministère des Pêches et des Océans pour obtenir de l’information sur les phares excédentaires qui relèvent de son administration.

Q. 7 Si j'ai signé une pétition pour proposer la désignation d’un phare excédentaire, dois je faire l’acquisition du phare?

Non. Une pétition ne servait qu’à mettre un phare en candidature en vue de sa désignation au titre de phare patrimonial. Le signataire d’une pétition peut faire partie ou non d’un organisme qui se propose d’acheter le phare ou d’en faire l’acquisition autrement et d’en protéger le caractère patrimonial.

Q. 8 Quelles sont les responsabilités que doit assumer un groupe ayant fait l’acquisition d’un phare patrimonial?

Les nouveaux propriétaires sont tenus de respecter le caractère patrimonial du phare patrimonial et de tout bâtiment connexe faisant partie de la désignation.

La Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux exige par ailleurs que pour toute vente ou tout transfert d'un phare patrimonial il soit prévu un mécanisme en vue de protéger le caractère patrimonial du phare. Il existe plusieurs outils juridiques pour ce faire, et le type de protection variera en fonction de l’emplacement du phare. Les propriétaires de phares patrimoniaux non fédéraux seront encouragés à respecter les Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada dans leurs efforts de conservation.

Q. 9 Quelles sont les dates clés du Programme des phares patrimoniaux?

La Loi est entrée en vigueur le 29 mai 2010. Cette date marquait également le début de la période de deux ans du processus de présentation des pétitions; cette période s’est terminée le 29 mai 2012. Au plus tard le 29 mai 2015, toutes les pétitions devront être évaluées, et les désignations qui en résultent devront être annoncées par le ministre. Les résultats du programme devront être publiés dans la Gazette du Canada d’ici le 27 août 2015.

Q. 10 Que dois-je faire si j’ai une question qui n’est pas traitée ici?

Pour toute question, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec le personnel du Programme des phares patrimoniaux.