Heritage Lighthouses of Canada

Pointe-au-Père Lighthouse National Historic Site Pointe-au-Père Lighthouse National Historic Site of Canada
© Parks Canada

Evaluation and Designation

Heritage designation criteria are used to identify and articulate the historical, architectural, and community values of potential heritage lighthouses.

The Minister responsible for Parks Canada may designate a nominated lighthouse as a heritage lighthouse under the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act, taking into account the advice of an advisory committee and established criteria.

The Minister will consider all lighthouses for which a petition is received and determine which should be designated as heritage lighthouses on or before 29 May 2015.

Please note special considerations for lighthouses that are surplus to federal operational requirements:

  • The Act contains special provisions related to lighthouses that are surplus to federal operational requirements. For a nominated surplus lighthouse that meets the designation criteria, a written commitment to buy or otherwise acquire the lighthouse and to protect its heritage character must be accepted by Fisheries and Oceans Canada in order for it to be designated under the Act.
  • To establish the basis for the written commitment required by the Act, potential owners of a nominated surplus lighthouse must submit a business plan to Fisheries and Oceans Canada that shows their proposed use of the property will be economically viable over the long term, and that they have the capacity to manage the property.



Process for a petitioned lighthouse that is not surplus to federal operational requirements

For a lighthouse that is not surplus to operational requirements, the evaluation and designation process is relatively straightforward:

Step 1 – The Heritage Lighthouse Program prepares heritage research for the consideration of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (the Board).

Step 2 – The lighthouse is evaluated by the Board, taking into account the designation criteria. The Board makes a recommendation to the Minister that the lighthouse be designated or not.

If applicable, the Board also considers and makes a recommendation on related buildings, such as keepers’ residences and fog alarm buildings. Related buildings may be included in a heritage lighthouse designation if they are found to contribute to the heritage character of the lighthouse.

Step 3 – Taking into account the recommendation of the Board and the heritage designation criteria, the Minister will determine whether to designate the lighthouse as a heritage lighthouse and whether to include any related building(s) in the designation.


Process for a petitioned lighthouse that is surplus to federal operational requirements

Additional actions are required in the evaluation and designation process for a lighthouse that is surplus to operational requirements, as indicated by the sections underlined below:

Step 1 – Once Fisheries and Oceans Canada advises the Heritage Lighthouse Program that a business plan proposal has been accepted, the Heritage Lighthouse Program prepares heritage research for the consideration of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (the Board).

Step 2 – The lighthouse is evaluated by the Board, taking into account the designation criteria. The Board makes a recommendation to the Minister that the lighthouse be designated or not.

If applicable, the Board also considers and makes a recommendation on related buildings, such as keepers’ residences and fog alarm buildings. Related buildings may be included in a heritage lighthouse designation if they are found to contribute to the heritage character of the lighthouse.

Step 3 – Pending confirmation from Fisheries and Oceans Canada that a written commitment to buy or otherwise acquire and protect the lighthouse has been finalized, and taking into account the recommendation of the Board and the heritage designation criteria, the Minister will determine whether to designate the lighthouse as a heritage lighthouse and whether to include any related building(s) in the designation.

Advisory Committee

The Act requires the Minister to consult with an advisory committee before determining if a nominated lighthouse (and any related building) should be designated.

The Minister appointed the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (the Board) as the advisory committee for the Act. The Board advises the Minister on the commemoration of historic places and is composed of representatives from each of the provinces and territories, as well as one representative each from Library and Archives Canada and the Museum of Civilization.

The Heritage Designation Criteria

In consultation with the Board, the Minister established the following designation criteria to identify and articulate the historical, architectural, and community values of potential heritage lighthouses.

The Board will recommend designation under the Act if its evaluation results in:

i) two scores of A;
ii) one score of A, plus two scores of B, and not more the one score of D; or
iii) four scores of B.



Criterion 1, Historical Values – Reflecting an important theme in Canadian maritime history

This criterion aims to situate and evaluate the lighthouse’s importance in the larger history of the Canadian lighthouse system. Many historical themes may be invoked, including Canada’s earliest lighthouses; expansion of the aids to navigation system; shipwrecks; lightkeeping and life-saving; and lighthouse legend and lore.

How well does the lighthouse reflect an important theme in Canadian maritime history?
A) It is an excellent example
B) It is a very good example
C) It is a good example
D) It is an obscure example





Criterion 2, Historical Values - Illustration of the socio-economic development of the associated community

This criterion places particular value on those lighthouses and lightstations whose establishment are meaningfully associated with a significant event, movement or developmental phase in their associated communities. For the purposes of the criterion, an “associated community” is a clearly defined population centre or a community of users, such as mariners and industry. There may be more than one community to consider.

How well does the lighthouse (or lightstation) illustrate the socio-economic development of its associated community?
A) It is an excellent example
B) It is a very good example
C) It is a good example
D) It is an obscure example





Criterion 3, Architectural Values - Aesthetic / visual quality of the lighthouse, in the context of its design type
This criterion evaluates a lighthouse’s aesthetic / visual quality against others of a comparable design, and distinguishes the “excellent” and “very good” from other examples. Under this approach, even architecturally simple design types may produce “excellent” or “very good” examples if they have aesthetic or visual merit. To encourage a system of Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act designations that reflects the Canadian lighthouse system as a whole, comparative analyses should be limited, in so far as possible, to comparable lighthouses that are eligible for evaluation under the Act.
What is the aesthetic / visual quality of the lighthouse, in the context of its design type?
A) It is an excellent example
B) It is a very good example
C) It is a good example
D) It is an obscure example





Criterion 4, Architectural Values - Quality of the design, structural innovation, craftsmanship, materials, optical or audible technologies, and/or functionality of the lighthouse

This criterion assesses the actual execution of the design, with a focus on quality, as well as the building’s suitability in relation to its primary functions. In other words, it aims to evaluate the overall success of the building program.

What is the quality of the design, structural innovation, craftsmanship, materials, optical or audible technologies, and/or functionality of the lighthouse?
A) Excellent
B) Very good
C) Good
D) Fair





Criterion 5, Community values - Visual influence on the present character of the area

This criterion assesses the visual influence of the lighthouse on its surrounding built and/or natural environment.

What is the visual influence of the building on the present character of the area with which it is associated?
A) It establishes the present character
B) It reinforces the present character
C) It is compatible with the present character
D) It is a negative influence on the present character





Criterion 6, Community values - Identity with its associated community

This criterion is concerned with the lighthouse’s present-day social importance, for example as a meeting place, as a tourist attraction or as an integral component of a community’s maritime identity. An “associated community” is a clearly defined population centre or community of users, such as mariners and industry. There may be more than one community to consider.

What is the nature of the lighthouse’s identity with its associated community?
A) It is the symbol of an associated community
B) It is a highly valued resource for an associated community
C) It is valued by an associated community
D) It is not a recognized resource





Related buildings
The Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act authorizes the designation of a lighthouse’s “related buildings,” which are broadly defined in the legislation as “any building on the site on which the lighthouse is situated that contributes to the heritage character of the lighthouse.” Related buildings, such as keepers’ dwellings and fog alarm buildings, may be designated as complementary buildings that contribute to the heritage character of a designated lighthouse. A related building that merits designation will contribute directly to a lighthouse’s heritage character and its character-defining elements, as determined by the Board.

Les phares patrimoniaux du Canada

Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Pointe-au-Père Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Pointe-au-Père
© Parcs Canada

Évaluation et désignation

Les critères de désignation permettent de cerner et de définir la valeur historique, architecturale et communautaire des phares patrimoniaux potentiels.

Au titre de la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux, le ministre responsable de Parcs Canada peut accorder la désignation patrimoniale à un phare mis en candidature, en tenant compte des conseils formulés par un comité consultatif et des critères établis en vertu de la Loi.

Veuillez noter des dispositions particulières pour les phares jugés excédentaires par rapport aux exigences opérationnelles du gouvernement fédéral :

  • La Loi contient des dispositions particulières concernant la désignation des phares jugés excédentaires par rapport aux exigences opérationnelles du gouvernement fédéral. Un phare excédentaire proposé et répondant aux critères de désignation ne peut être désigné que si une personne ou un organisme s’engage par écrit avec Pêches et Océans Canada à acheter le phare ou à en faire l’acquisition autrement et à en protéger le caractère patrimonial.
  • Pour établir la base de l’engagement écrit exigé par la Loi, les acquéreurs potentiels doivent présenter un plan d’entreprise au Ministère des pêches et océans démontrant la viabilité économique à long terme de leur utilisation proposée de la propriété ainsi que leur capacité à la gérer.


Processus pour un phare pétitionné jugé non excédentaire par rapport aux exigences opérationnelles du gouvernement fédéral

Pour un phare qui n’est pas jugé excédentaire par rapport aux exigences opérationnelles, les processus d’évaluation et de désignation sont relativement simples :

Étape 1 – Le Programme des phares patrimoniaux rédige un rapport patrimonial afin que le phare soit évalué par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (la Commission).

Étape 2 – Le phare est évalué par la Commission en fonction des critères de désignation. La Commission émet à l’intention du ministre un avis qui sera favorable ou défavorable à la désignation du phare.

Le cas échéant, la Commission tient compte des bâtiments connexes, tels la résidence du gardien de phare et le bâtiment de la corne de brume, et émet un avis à leur sujet. Les bâtiments connexes peuvent être inclus dans la désignation d’un phare patrimonial s’ils contribuent à son caractère patrimonial.

Étape 3 – En tenant compte de l’avis émis par son comité consultatif et des critères de désignation, le ministre détermine s’il accordera au phare la désignation de phare patrimonial et si la désignation comprendra un ou des bâtiments connexes.


Processus pour un phare pétitionné jugé excédentaire par rapport aux exigences opérationnelles du gouvernement fédéral

Pour un phare jugé excédentaire par rapport aux exigences opérationnelles, l’évaluation et sa désignation nécessitent des actions supplémentaires, qui sont décrites dans les passages soulignés ci-après :

Étape 1 – Une fois que Pêches et Océans Canada a avisé le Programme des phares patrimoniaux qu’une proposition de plan d’entreprise a été acceptée, le Programme des phares patrimoniaux rédige un rapport patrimonial afin que le phare soit évalué par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (la Commission).

Étape 2 – Le phare est évalué par la Commission en fonction des critères de désignation. La Commission formule à l’intention du ministre un avis favorable ou défavorable à la désignation du phare.

Le cas échéant, la Commission tient compte des bâtiments connexes, tels la résidence du gardien de phare et le bâtiment de la corne de brume, et émet un avis à leur sujet. Les bâtiments connexes peuvent être inclus dans la désignation d’un phare patrimonial s’ils contribuent à son caractère patrimonial.

Étape 3 – Sous réserve de la confirmation de Pêches et Océans Canada qu’une promesse écrite d’acheter le phare ou d’en faire l’acquisition autrement et d’en protéger le caractère patrimonial a été reçue, et après avoir pris en considération l’avis de la Commission et les critères de désignation patrimoniale, le ministre détermine s’il accordera au phare la désignation de phare patrimonial et si la désignation comprendra un ou des bâtiments connexes.

Le comité consultatif

La Loi exige du ministre qu’il fasse appel à un comité consultatif avant de déterminer si un phare proposé (et tout bâtiment connexe) mérite d’être désigné phare patrimonial.

Le ministre a nommé la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (la Commission) au titre de comité consultatif. La Commission conseille le ministre sur la commémoration de lieux qui revêtent une importance historique. Elle se compose de représentants de chaque province et territoire ainsi que de représentants de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada et du Musée canadien des civilisations.

Les critères de désignation patrimoniale

En consultation avec la Commission, le ministre a établi les critères de désignation patrimoniale énumérés ci-après. Les critères permettent de cerner et de définir la valeur historique, architecturale et communautaire des phares patrimoniaux potentiels.

La Commission recommandera la désignation aux termes de la Loi à la condition que son évaluation donne un des résultats suivants :

i) deux cotes A;
ii) une cote A plus deux cotes B, et pas plus d’une cote D;
iii) quatre cotes B.




Critère 1, Valeurs historiques – Illustration d’un thème important de l’histoire maritime canadienne

Ce critère vise à situer et à évaluer l’importance du phare dans l’histoire du réseau de phares du Canada. Il peut être lié à de nombreux thèmes historiques, notamment à l’histoire des premiers phares du Canada, au développement des aides à la navigation, aux épaves, à l’histoire des gardiens de phare et du sauvetage des naufragés ainsi qu’aux légendes et aux traditions entourant les phares.

Dans quelle mesure le phare illustre-t-il un thème important de l’histoire maritime canadienne ?
A) Il est un excellent exemple
B) Il est un très bon exemple
C) Il est un bon exemple
D) Il est un exemple obscur





Critère 2, Valeurs historiques – Illustration du développement socio-économique de la collectivité

Ce critère accorde une valeur particulière aux phares dont l’établissement a un lien significatif avec un événement, une phase importante ou une étape clé de l’histoire de la collectivité. Dans le contexte de ce critère, une « collectivité » correspond à une agglomération ou à un groupe d’utilisateurs clairement défini, tels que les marins et les industries. Il est possible qu’un phare soit associé à plus d’une collectivité.

Dans quelle mesure le phare (ou sa station) illustre-t-il le développement socio-économique de la collectivité ?
A) Il est un excellent exemple
B) Il est un très bon exemple
C) Il est un bon exemple
D) Il est un exemple obscur





Critère 3, Valeurs architecturales – Qualité visuelle ou esthétique du phare, compte tenu de son style architectural
Ce critère permet d’évaluer la qualité visuelle ou esthétique d’un phare par rapport aux autres phares de style architectural semblable. Il distingue les exemples « excellents » et « très bons » des autres. Même les bâtiments de style architectural modeste peuvent constituer des exemples « excellents » ou « très bons » s’ils présentent un intérêt au plan esthétique ou visuel. Pour que les phares désignés en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux représentent le mieux possible l’ensemble du réseau de phares du Canada, seuls les phares semblables qui remplissent les conditions requises pour être évalués conformément aux exigences de la Loi devraient faire l’objet d’une analyse comparative, dans la mesure du possible.
Quelle est la qualité visuelle ou esthétique du phare, compte tenu de son style architectural ?
A) Excellente
B) Très bonne
C) Bonne
D) Passable





Critère 4, Valeurs architecturales – Qualité du design, de l’innovation structurale, de l’exécution, des matériaux, des technologies optiques ou acoustiques et/ou de la fonctionnalité du phare

Ce critère permet d’évaluer l’exécution proprement dite du bâtiment. Il met l’accent sur la qualité ainsi que sur l’adéquation du bâtiment par rapport à ses fonctions premières. En d’autres mots, ce critère vise à évaluer le succès global de la campagne de construction et d’édification de l’ensemble.

Quelle est la qualité du design, de l’innovation structurale, de l’exécution, des matériaux, des technologies optiques ou acoustiques et/ou de la fonctionnalité du phare?
A) Excellente
B) Très bonne
C) Bonne
D) Passable





Critère 5, Valeurs communautaires – Contribution au caractère visuel actuel du secteur où il se trouve

Ce critère permet d’évaluer l’influence visuelle du phare sur l’environnement bâti et/ou naturel qui l’entoure.

Dans quelle mesure le bâtiment contribue-t-il au caractère visuel actuel du secteur où il se trouve ?
A) Il est le fondement du caractère actuel
B) Il renforce le caractère actuel
C) Il est compatible avec le caractère actuel
D) Il exerce une influence négative sur le caractère actuel





Critère 6, Valeurs communautaires – Identification avec une collectivité associée

Ce critère porte sur l’importance sociale actuelle du phare (p. ex. lieu de rencontre, attraction touristique ou partie intégrante de l’identité maritime d’une collectivité). Une « collectivité » correspond à une agglomération ou à un groupe d’utilisateurs clairement défini, tels que les marins et les industries. Il est possible qu’un phare soit associé à plus d’une collectivité.

Dans quelle mesure le phare est-il identifié à une collectivité associée ?
A) Il est le symbole de la collectivité
B) Il est une ressource culturelle hautement valorisée par la collectivité
C) Il est une ressource culturelle valorisée par la collectivité
D) Il n’est pas une ressource reconnue





Bâtiments connexes
La Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux permet la désignation d’un « bâtiment connexe », c’est-à-dire de « tout bâtiment situé sur le même site que le phare qui contribue à son caractère patrimonial ». Selon la Loi, les bâtiments connexes (comme la résidence du gardien de phare ou le bâtiment de la corne de brume) peuvent être désignés comme des bâtiments complémentaires qui contribuent au caractère patrimonial d’un phare désigné. Un bâtiment connexe qui mérite d’être désigné contribuera directement aux valeurs patrimoniales et aux éléments caractéristiques d’un phare, tels que définis par la Commission.