Heritage Lighthouses of Canada

Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site of Canada
© Parks Canada

Designated Lighthouses

The Minister responsible for Parks Canada designates heritage lighthouses on behalf of the Government of Canada.

The Minister responsible for Parks Canada will consider all lighthouses for which a valid petition was received and determine which should be designated as heritage lighthouses on or before 29 May 2015, taking into account the advice of an advisory committee and the established criteria.

To learn more about processes related to the evaluation and designation of petitioned lighthouses, please visit our Evaluation & Designation page.

To learn which lighthouses were petitioned to be considered for heritage designation under the Act, you can access province-by-province listings that are available from our Petitioned Lighthouses page.

Discover heritage lighthouses!

* To date, there have been no heritage lighthouse designations in the indicated province.

Heritage lighthouses in British Columbia

East Point (Saturna Island)
A 14-metre (46 ft) steel skeleton lighthouse tower with six integrated platforms and connecting flights of stairs; the lighting apparatus rests on the uppermost square platform surrounded by a railed gallery. Established 125 years ago, the East Point lightstation on Saturna Island was the first to mark the intricate channel between the Juan de Fuca and Georgia straits. The East Point heritage lighthouse designation includes the former fog alarm building which has been adapted for use as an interpretive centre on Saturna Island's rich history.
Location: Saturna Island, British Columbia
Statement of Significance (LH-091): English (PDF, 103 Kb) | French (PDF, 145 Kb)
Designated in May 2013.

Fisgard
A 17.1-metre (56 ft) tapered cylindrical tower surmounted by a multi-faceted lantern and attached to a two-storey keeper's dwelling. Constructed in 1859-1860 to mark the entrance to Esquimalt Harbour, it is the first and oldest lighthouse on Canada's Pacific Coast. Intimately associated with the early period of development of Vancouver Island and British Columbia as a whole, it also served as an important symbol of sovereignty - British, then colonial and finally Canadian. The designation includes a replica boathouse built in 1978 and a replica storehouse built in the 1960s.
Location: Colwood, British Columbia
Statement of Significance (LH-168): English (PDF, 124 Kb) | French (PDF, 110 Kb)
Designated in May 2013.

Active Pass
The Active Pass lighthouse is a 13.7 metres (45 feet) tall cylindrical concrete structure topped by an octagonal metal lantern. It is one of the “apple core” lighthouses, a popular design on the West Coast at the end of the 1960s and early 1970s. It is located on the north eastern extremity of Mayne Island in the Georgia Strait. Built in 1969 as the third coastal light on the site, it marks the eastern entrance to Active Pass.
Location: Mayne Island, British Columbia
Statement of Significance (LH-066): English (PDF, 115 Kb) | French (PDF, 156 Kb)
Designated in December 2013.

Estevan Point
The Estevan Point Lighthouse is a 30.5 metres (100 ft) tall white octagonal tower of reinforced concrete comprised of a central column surrounded by eight immense flying buttresses and surmounted by a gallery topped by a red circular metal lantern. It is located at the southern extremity of the Hesquiat Peninsula on Vancouver Island’s rugged and remote western coast.
Location: Estevan Point, Vancouver Island, British Columbia
Statement of Significance (LH-076): English (PDF, 148 Kb) | French (PDF, 116 Kb)
Designated in December 2013.

Nootka
The Nootka lighthouse is a square, galvanized-steel tower surrounded by a steel skeleton tower originally designed to support the lantern gallery and a wooden daymark. Built on San Rafael Island as a replacement lighthouse in 1958, the Nootka heritage lighthouse is located on the west coast of Vancouver Island at the entrance to Nootka Sound, overlooking Friendly Cove.
Location: Yuquot, Vancouver Island, British Columbia
Statement of Significance (LH-065): English (PDF, 68 Kb) | French (PDF, 68 Kb)
Designated in February 2014.

Heritage lighthouses in Ontario

McNab Point
A 8.5 metre (28 ft) square wooden structure with tapered walls, surmounted by an iron lantern and a cylindrical ventilator; unlike many similar towers it has no gallery. Constructed in 1877 as part of a major harbour improvement project, it was relocated from the northern tip of Horseshoe Bay to its present location on McNab Point in 1901.
Location: Town of Saugeen Shores, Southampton ON
Statement of Significance (LH-009): English (PDF, 95 Kb) | French (PDF, 100 Kb)
Designated in August 2012.

Saugeen River Front Range
A 9.5 metre (31 ft) square wooden structure with tapered walls, surmounted by a metal railed gallery and a wooden lantern. Located on Lake Huron on the end of a pier extending westward from the north side of the mouth of the Saugeen River in the community of Southampton, it and the nearly identical rear range light located 750 metres to the east were constructed in 1903.
Location: Town of Saugeen Shores, Southampton ON
Statement of Significance (LH-007): English (PDF, 100 Kb) | French (PDF, 100 Kb)
Designated in August 2012.

Saugeen River Rear Range
A 9.5 metre (31 ft) square wooden structure with tapered walls, surmounted by a metal railed gallery and a wooden lantern. Located on a rise of land on the north side of the Saugeen River in the community of Southampton, it and the nearly identical front range light located 750 metres to the west were constructed in 1903. Originally located 215 metres to the east of the front light, it was moved to its current location in 1906.
Location: Town of Saugeen Shores, Southampton ON
Statement of Significance (LH-008): English (PDF, 100 Kb) | French (PDF, 100 Kb)
Designated in August 2012.

Windmill Point 
The Windmill Point Lighthouse (also known as Battle of the Windmill Lighthouse and Windmill Tower) is an18.9 metres (62 feet) round, tapered, stone tower crowned with a cast iron lantern. It is located on a height of land near the town of Prescott, where it overlooks the old King’s Highway and the St. Lawrence River. Initially built as a windmill in ca. 1832, it was the site of the Battle of the Windmill during the Rebellion of 1837-38. In 1872, it was converted to a lighthouse and became operational by 1874, remaining in service for over a century.
Location: Prescott, ON
Statement of Significance (LH-213): English (PDF, 115 Kb) | French (PDF, 123 Kb)
Designated in December 2013.

Heritage lighthouses in Nova Scotia

St. Paul Island Southwest
A prefabricated, cast-iron, cylindrical tower surmounted by a 12-sided iron lantern. It was built to warn vessels away from the dangerous St. Paul Island in the Cabot Strait with a flashing light that was visible to a distance of 18 nautical miles. It illustrates the importance and ingenuity of the Dominion Lighthouse Depot and the Canadian Coast Guard in providing a marine aids to navigation program in Canadian waters.
Location: Dingwall, Cape Breton NS
Statement of Significance (LH-043): English (PDF, 95 Kb) | French (PDF, 105 Kb)
Designated in August 2012.

Heritage lighthouses in Prince Edward Island

Brighton Beach Front Range
The Brighton Beach Front Range heritage lighthouse is a 12.2-metre (40 ft) square, tapered, wooden tower painted in the traditional red and white of the Canadian Coast Guard. It is a highly valued symbol of Charlottetown’s Brighton Ward and for the city as a whole. Built in 1889 at the confluence of the North (Yorke) River with Charlottetown Harbour, the lighthouse supported the maritime economy of Charlottetown through the late nineteenth century and throughout the twentieth. Together with its companion Brighton Beach Rear Range light, it is a very good example of the system of marine aids to navigation developed for Prince Edward Island.
Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island 
Statement of Significance (LH-335): English (PDF, 110 Kb) | French (PDF, 110 Kb)
Designated in May 2013.

Heritage lighthouses in Newfoundland and Labrador

Point Amour 
Built in 1857, the Point Amour Lighthouse is located on the southeast side of Forteau Bay
in the Strait of Belle Isle. At 33.2 metres (109 feet), it is the tallest lighthouse in Newfoundland and Labrador and the second tallest in Canada. The lighthouse has a tapered limestone and brick shaft, capped by a stepped and flared cornice, upon which rests the gallery and the lantern. A two-storey, gable-roofed duplex dwelling, also constructed of limestone, is attached to the lighthouse by its rear wing. It is an excellent example of a major coastal lighthouse, serving the communities in the region from L’Anse au Clair to Red Bay.
Location: L’Anse Amour, Newfoundland and Labrador
Statement of Significance (LH-151): English (PDF, 116 Kb) | French (PDF, 119 Kb)
Designated in December 2013.

Cape Ray
The Cape Ray lighthouse consists of a freestanding, reinforced-concrete, tapered octagonal tower surmounted by an aluminum and glass lantern. Situated near a small fishing village by the same name, in an isolated area on the southwest coast of Newfoundland, the lighthouse guides international and coastal shipping vessels navigating the Cabot Strait, where the Atlantic Ocean intersects with the Gulf of St. Lawrence.
Location: Cape Ray, Newfoundland and Labrador
Statement of Significance (LH-346): English (PDF, 68 Kb) | French (PDF, 275 Kb)
Designated in February 2014.

Fort Amherst
The Fort Amherst lighthouse is a square, tapered, wooden tower overlooking the Narrows, the channel leading to St. John’s Harbour in Newfoundland and Labrador. It is located where Fort Amherst, a British military tower and battery, once stood. Built in 1951, it is the third lighthouse on the site.
Location: St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador
Statement of Significance (LH-332): English (PDF, 74 Kb) | French (PDF, 160 Kb)
Designated in February 2014.

Long Point (Twillingate)
The Long Point (Twillingate) lighthouse is a brick lighthouse built in 1876, which was later encased in reinforced-concrete in 1929. Situated 331 feet above sea level, atop a cliff in Notre Dame Bay on the northeastern coast of Newfoundland, the lighthouse guides vessels into Twillingate Harbour and is a popular eco-tourism destination.
Location: Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador
Statement of Significance (LH-285): English (PDF, 68 Kb) | French (PDF, 233 Kb)
Designated in February 2014.

Les phares patrimoniaux du Canada

Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Cap-Spear Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Cap-Spear
© Parcs Canada

Phares désignés

Le ministre responsable de Parcs Canada désigne des phares patrimoniaux au nom du gouvernement du Canada.

Le ministre responsable de Parcs Canada examinera tous les phares à l'égard desquels il a reçu une pétition valide et déterminera, au plus tard le 29 mai 2015, ceux qui devraient être désignés comme phares patrimoniaux, compte tenu des conseils d'un comité consultatif et des critères établis.

Pour en savoir davantage au sujet du processus d'évaluation et de désignation des phares ayant fait l'objet d'une pétition, consultez la page Évaluation et désignation.

Vous pouvez consulter la liste des phares ayant fait l'objet d'une mise en candidature dans chaque province à la page Phares pétitionnés.

Découvrez les phares patrimoniaux !

* Jusqu'à maintenant, il n'y a eu aucune désignation de phare patrimonial dans la province indiquée.

Phares patrimoniaux en Colombie-Britannique

East Point (Île Saturna)

Le phare patrimonial de East Point (Île Saturna) East Point (Île Saturna)
© Photo reproduite avec la permission de Kraig Anderson - lighthousefriends.com

Emplacement :
Île Saturna, Colombie-Britannique

Énoncé d'importance (RP-091) :

Français (PDF, 145 Ko)
Anglais (PDF, 103 Ko)

Désigné en mai 2013.



Une structure à claire-voie en acier de 14 mètres (46 pieds) de hauteur avec ses six plateformes intégrées et les volées d'escaliers qui les relient; l'appareil d'éclairage repose sur la plateforme carrée située au sommet et entourée d'une rambarde. Construit il y 125 ans, le phare patrimonial d'East Point, sur l'île Saturna, fut le premier à signaler le chenal complexe situé entre les détroits de Juan de Fuca et de Georgia. La désignation du phare patrimonial d'East Point comprend la station ayant abrité la corne de brume et qui a été restaurée pour servir de centre d'interprétation de la riche histoire de l'île Saturna.



Fisgard

Le phare patrimonial de Fisgard Fisgard
© Parcs Canada

Emplacement :
Colwood, Colombie-Britannique

Énoncé d'importance (RP-168) :

Français (PDF, 110 Ko)
Anglais (PDF, 124 Ko)

Désigné en mai 2013.



Une tour conique de 17,1 mètres (56 pieds) de hauteur surmontée d'une lanterne à plusieurs facettes et joint à la demeure de deux étages du gardien de phare. Construit en 1859-1860 pour signaler l'entrée du port d'Esquimalt, le phare patrimonial de Fisgard est le premier et le plus ancien sur la côte ouest. Étroitement associé aux débuts du développement de l'île de Vancouver et de la Colombie-Britannique, il est un important symbole de souveraineté : d'abord britannique, puis coloniale et enfin canadienne. La désignation comprend une réplique d'un hangar à bateau construite en 1978 et une réplique d'une remise construite dans les années 1960.



Active Pass

Le phare patrimonial de Active Pass Active Pass
© Photo reproduite avec la permission de Kraig Anderson - lighthousefriends.com

Emplacement :
Mayne Island, Colombie-Britannique

Énoncé d'importance (RP-066) :

Français (PDF, 156 Ko)
Anglais (PDF, 115 Ko)

Désigné en décembre 2013.



Le phare Active Pass consiste en un fût cylindrique de béton armé d’une hauteur de 13,7 mètres (45 pieds) surmonté d’une lanterne métallique rouge à huit côtés. Il fait partie des phares de type « tronçon de pomme » qui était un modèle répandu sur la côte ouest à la fin des années 1960 et au début des années 1970. Il est situé à l’extrémité nord-est de l’île Mayne dans le détroit de Georgia. Construit en 1969, il est le troisième phare côtier sur cet emplacement et il marque l’entrée est du chenal Active Pass.



Estevan Point

Le phare patrimonial de Estevan Point Estevan Point
© Photo reproduite avec la permission de Kraig Anderson - lighthousefriends.com

Emplacement :
Point Estevan, Île de Vancouver, British Columbia

Énoncé d'importance (RP-076) :

Français (PDF, 116 Ko)
Anglais (PDF, 148 Ko)

Désigné en décembre 2013.



Le Phare Estevan Point est une tour octogonale blanche de 30.5 mètres (100 pieds) de hauteur en béton armé composée d’une colonne centrale entourée de huit immenses arcs-boutants, le tout couronné d’un garde-corps et d’une lanterne circulaire rouge en métal. Il est situé à l’extrémité sud de la péninsule Hesquiat, sur le littoral rugueux et isolé de l’ouest de l’île de Vancouver.



Nootka

Le phare patrimonial de Nootka Nootka
© Pêches et Océans Canada

Emplacement :
Yuqout, Île de Vancouver, British Columbia

Énoncé d'importance (RP-065) :


Français (PDF, 68 Ko)
Anglais (PDF, 68 Ko)

Désigné en février 2014.



Le phare de Nootka est une tour carrée en acier galvanisé entourée d’une tour à claire voie en acier conçue à l’origine pour soutenir la galerie de la lanterne et une marque de jour en bois. Bâti sur l’île San Rafael en 1958 pour remplacer un autre phare, le phare patrimonial de Nootka est situé sur la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver, à l’entrée de la baie Nootka et surplombant l’anse Friendly.





Phares patrimoniaux en Ontario

McNab Point

Le phare patrimonial de McNab Point McNab Point
© Photo reproduite avec la permission de Kraig Anderson - lighthousefriends.com

Emplacement :
Municipalité de Saugeen Shores, Southampton ON

Énoncé d'importance (RP-009) :

Français (PDF, 100 Ko)
Anglais (PDF, 95 Ko)

Désigné en août 2012.



Une structure en bois à base carrée, ayant la forme d'une pyramide tronquée et mesurant 8,5 mètres (28 pi) de hauteur. La structure est surmontée d'une lanterne en fer et d'un évent cylindrique, et contrairement à bien d'autres phares du genre, elle ne comporte pas de plateforme. Construit en 1877 dans le cadre d'un grand projet d'améliorations portuaires, le phare a été déplacé de l'extrémité nord de la baie Horseshoe à son emplacement actuel de McNab Point en 1901.



Saugeen River, feu d'alignement antérieur

Le phare patrimonial de Saugeen River, feu d'alignement antérieur Saugeen River, feu d'alignement antérieur
© Photo reproduite avec la permission de Kraig Anderson - lighthousefriends.com

Emplacement :
Municipalité de Saugeen Shores, Southampton ON

Énoncé d'importance (RP-007) :

Français (PDF, 100 Ko)
Anglais (PDF, 100 Ko)

Désigné en août 2012.



Une structure en bois à base carrée, ayant la forme d'une pyramide tronquée et mesurant 9,5 mètres (31 pi) de hauteur. La structure est surmontée d'une plateforme avec rambarde en métal et d'une lanterne en bois. Ce phare, situé sur le lac Huron à l'extrémité d'une jetée s'étendant vers l'ouest du côté nord de l'embouchure de la rivière Saugeen dans la communauté de Southampton, ainsi qu'un autre presque identique situé 750 mètres plus à l'est, ont été construits en 1903.



Saugeen River, feu d'alignement postérieur

Le phare patrimonial de Saugeen River, feu d'alignement postérieur Saugeen River, feu d'alignement postérieur
© Photo reproduite avec la permission de Kraig Anderson - lighthousefriends.com

Emplacement :
Municipalité de Saugeen Shores, Southampton ON

Énoncé d'importance (RP-008) :

Français (PDF, 100 Ko)
Anglais (PDF, 100 Ko)

Désigné en août 2012.



Une structure en bois à base carrée, ayant la forme d'une pyramide tronquée et mesurant 9,5 mètres (31 pi) de hauteur. La structure est surmontée d'une plateforme avec rambarde en métal et d'une lanterne en bois. Ce phare, situé sur une élévation sur la rive nord de la rivière Saugeen, dans la communauté de, ainsi que le phare d'alignement antérieur presque identique situé 750 mètres plus à l'ouest, ont été construits en 1903. À l'origine, le phare se trouvait 215 mètres à l'est du phare d'alignement antérieur : il a été déplacé vers son emplacement actuel en 1906.



Phare Windmill Point

Le phare patrimonial de Windmill Point Windmill Point
© Parcs Canada

Emplacement :
Prescott, ON

Énoncé d'importance (RP-213) :

Français (PDF, 123 Ko)
Anglais (PDF, 115 Ko)

Désigné en décembre 2013.



Le phare Windmill Point (aussi connu comme le phare de la Bataille du Moulin-à-Vent et la Tour du moulin à vent) est une tour circulaire évasée de 18,9 mètres (62 pieds) de hauteur construite en pierres et coiffée d’une lanterne en fonte. Il est situé sur une hauteur près de la ville de Prescott et domine l’ancien King’s Highway et le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Construit à l’origine pour abriter un moulin à vent vers 1832, il est le site de la Bataille du Moulin-à-Vent pendant la Rébellion de 1837-38. En 1872, il fut converti en phare et mis en service au plus tard en 1874, demeurant fonctionnel pendant plus d’une décennie.





Phares patrimoniaux au Québec

Île aux Perroquets

Le phare patrimonial de l'Île aux Perroquets l'Île aux Perroquets
© Parcs Canada

Emplacement :
Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan, Québec

Énoncé d'importance (RP-121) :

Français (PDF, 190 Ko)
Anglais (PDF, 85 Ko)

Designé en février 2014.



Le phare patrimonial de l’Île aux Perroquets est situé sur l’île aux Perroquets à l’extrémité ouest des îles de Mingan et à l’intérieur de la réserve du parc national de l’Archipel-de-Mingan. Le phare comprend une octogonale effilée de trois étages en béton armé de couleur blanche surmontée d’une lanterne octogonale en fibre de verre de couleur rouge qui est coiffée d’un capot de cheminée décoratif. La tour est typique des tours de remplacement construites par le gouvernement du Canada dans le contexte de la modernisation des phares au Canada dans les années suivant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale.





Phares patrimoniaux en Nouvelle-Écosse

St. Paul Island, pointe sud ouest

Le phare patrimonial de St. Paul Island, pointe sud ouest St. Paul Island, pointe sud ouest
© Photo reproduite avec la permission de Kraig Anderson - lighthousefriends.com

Emplacement :
Dingwall, Cap Breton NS

Énoncé d'importance (RP-043) :

Français (PDF, 105 Ko)
Anglais (PDF, 95 Ko)

Désigné en août 2012.



Une tour cylindrique en fonte préfabriquée surmontée d'une lanterne en fer à 12 faces. Le phare a été érigé pour tenir les navires à distance de la dangereuse St. Paul Island, dans le détroit de Cabot. La lumière clignotante du phare était visible à 18 milles marins. Le phare révèle l'importance et l'ingéniosité du personnel du Dépôt des phares du Dominion et de la Garde côtière canadienne en ce qui concerne le programme d'aides à la navigation dans les eaux canadiennes.





Phares patrimoniaux sur l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Feu d’alignement antérieur de Brighton Beach

Le phare patrimonial du feu d’alignement de Brighton Beach Phare du feu d’alignement de Brighton Beach
© Photo reproduite avec la permission de Kraig Anderson - lighthousefriends.com

Emplacement :
Charlottetown (Île-du-Prince-Édouard)

Énoncé d'importance (RP-335) :

Français (PDF, 110 Ko)
Anglais (PDF, 110 Ko)

Désigné en mai 2013.



Le phare patrimonial du feu d’alignement de Brighton Beach est une tour de bois carrée et de forme pyramidale d’une hauteur de 12,2 mètres (40 pieds) peinte en rouge et blanc, couleurs traditionnelles de la Garde côtière canadienne. Le phare est un symbole très apprécié du quartier Brighton à Charlottetown et de la ville en général. Construit en 1889, à la confluence de la rivière North (Yorke) et du port de Charlottetown, ce phare a soutenu l’économie maritime de Charlottetown à la fin du XIXe siècle et au cours du XXe siècle. Cette structure était destinée à fonctionner en tandem avec le feu d’alignement postérieur de Brighton Beach et, ensemble, elles sont d’excellents exemples du système d’aide à la navigation maritime en usage à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.





Phares patrimoniaux en Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Point Amour

Le phare patrimonial de Point Amour Point Amour
© Photo reproduite avec la permission de Kraig Anderson - lighthousefriends.com

Emplacement :
L’Anse Amour (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)

Énoncé d'importance (RP-151) :

Français (PDF, 119 Ko)
Anglais (PDF, 116 Ko)

Désigné en décembre 2013.



Construit en 1857, le phare de Point Amour est situé du côté sud-est de la baie de Forteau dans le détroit de Belle-Isle. Haut de 33,2 mètres (109 pieds), c’est le phare le plus élevé de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et le deuxième plus haut au Canada. Son fût évasé en calcaire et en brique est coiffé d’une corniche évasée et en gradins sur laquelle repose la plate-forme et la lanterne. Un duplex de deux étages aussi en pierre calcaire, coiffée d’un toit à deux versants, est attaché au phare à la hauteur de l’aile arrière. Il est un bel exemple de grand phare côtier qui revêt aussi une grande importance pour les communautés de la région, de l’Anse au Clair jusqu’à Red Bay.



Cape Ray

Le phare patrimonial de Cape Ray Cape Ray
© Pêches et Océans Canada

Emplacement :
Cape Ray (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)

Énoncé d'importance (RP-346) :

Français (PDF, 275 Ko)
Anglais (PDF, 68 Ko)

Désigné en février 2014.



Le phare de Cape Ray consiste en une tour octogonale effilée, autoportante, en béton armé, coiffée d’une lanterne en aluminium et en verre. Située près d’un petit village de pêche du même nom, dans une région isolée sur la côte sud ouest de Terre Neuve, le phare guide les navires de la marine marchande et les navires étrangers qui franchissent le détroit de Cabot, à la jonction entre l’océan Atlantique et le golfe du Saint Laurent.



Fort Amherst

Le phare patrimonial de Fort Amherst Fort Amherst
© Photo reproduite avec la permission de Kraig Anderson - lighthousefriends.com

Emplacement :
St. John’s (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)

Énoncé d'importance (RP-332) :

Français (PDF, 160 Ko)
Anglais (PDF, 74 Ko)

Désigné en février 2014.



Le phare de Fort Amherst est constitué d’une tour carrée et effilée en bois surplombant le passage appelé « The Narrows », point d’entrée du port de St. John’s, à Terre Neuve et Labrador. Il est situé à l’endroit où se trouvait autrefois le fort Amherst, une tour annexée à une batterie militaire britannique. Érigé en 1951, il est le troisième phare à avoir été construit à cet endroit.



Long Point (Twillingate)

Le phare patrimonial de Long Point (Twillingate) Long Point (Twillingate)
© Photo reproduite avec la permission de Kraig Anderson - lighthousefriends.com

Emplacement :
Twillingate (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)

Énoncé d'importance (RP-285) :

Français (PDF, 233 Ko)
Anglais (PDF, 68 Ko)

Désigné en février 2014.



Le phare de Long Point (Twillingate) est un phare en brique bâti en 1876, puis recouvert de béton armé en 1929. Situé à environ 100 mètres (331 pieds) au dessus du niveau de la mer, au sommet d’une falaise surplombant la baie Notre Dame sur la côte nord est de Terre Neuve, le phare guide les navires dans le havre de Twillingate et représente une destination écotouristique recherchée.