Common menu bar links

Our Story

100 Years of Parks Canada

Waterton Lakes National Park and Prince of Wales Hotel National Historic Site, Alberta Inspiration can be found in Canada’s treasured places in every province and every territory.
Waterton Lakes National Park and Prince of Wales Hotel National Historic Site, Alberta.
© Parks Canada

The majesty of the Rocky Mountains. The solitude of a woodlands lake. The evocative walls and buildings of Old Québec. The brilliance of an Arctic ice cap. The exuberance of Canada’s marine life. The bustle of fort life at Louisbourg.

For the last 100 years, on behalf of Canadians, Parks Canada has acted as the steward and guide to these natural and cultural treasures.

In 1911, Canada showed foresight and leadership in becoming the first country in the world to establish a national service entirely dedicated to parks. One hundred years ago, few Canadians realized the impact of this decision, but they soon would come to know the iconic places that were held in trust for them, places such as Banff and the Fortifications of Québec, that would become world renowned symbols of Canada.

Today, as we embark on a second century of caring for our nation’s natural and cultural heritage, Parks Canada manages an impressive network of 42 national parks, 167 national historic sites and 4 national marine conservation areas. These fascinating places protect what is fragile but vital: the unique, unrivalled and irreplaceable places where Canadians can connect to their heritage and the wildlife, landscapes and waters that represent the very essence of Canada. 

 

<<  Previous page   |   Next page  >>

Notre histoire

Les 100 ans de Parcs Canada

Dans chaque province et territoire, les joyaux du pays Dans chaque province et territoire, les joyaux du pays sont une source d’inspiration.
Parc national des Lacs-Waterton et lieu historique national du Canada de l'Hôtel-Prince of Wales, Alberta.
© Parcs Canada

Les majestueuses montagnes Rocheuses. La solitude d’un lac en forêt. Les souvenirs imprégnés dans le Vieux-Québec. L’éclat des glaces en Arctique. L’exubérance de la vie marine du Canada. L’agitation d’un fort à Louisbourg.

Depuis 100 ans, Parcs Canada assume le rôle d’intendant et de guide de ces trésors naturels et culturels pour l’ensemble de la population canadienne.

En 1911, le Canada fit preuve de prévoyance et de leadership en devenant le premier pays du monde à instaurer un service national consacré entièrement aux parcs. Il y a 100 ans, peu de Canadiens réalisaient l’importance d’un tel événement, mais ils n’ont pas tardé à apprécier les lieux emblématiques protégés en leur nom, comme Banff et les fortifications de Québec, devenus des symboles canadiens reconnus à l’échelle mondiale. 

Aujourd’hui, à l’aube d’un deuxième siècle, Parcs Canada gère un impressionnant réseau de 42 parcs nationaux, de 167 lieux historiques nationaux et de 4 aires marines nationales de conservation. Ces endroits fascinants protègent ce qui est fragile, mais vital, c’est-à-dire des sites uniques, inégalés et irremplaçables où les Canadiens peuvent renouer avec leur patrimoine, de même qu’avec la faune, les paysages et les cours d’eau qui constituent l’essence même du Canada.

 

<<  page précédente   |   page suivante  >>