Centennial Products

Centennial Stamp

Parks Canada Centennial Stamp Parks Canada Centennial Stamp
© Parks Canada

Own a piece of history with Canada Post’s Parks Canada commemorative stamp ! Celebrating Parks Canada’s centennial with a stamp is quite the honour when Canada Post receives hundreds of proposals for commemorative stamps every year. Of special note is that the stamp was issued on May 19, 2011—100 years to the day of the birth of the world’s first national park service.

About the stamp: The stamp shows a hiker taking in the majestic landscape of the Mountain Parks, the birthplace of Banff—the first national park of Canada. The style of illustration, with its bold vibrant colors, is inspired by the Canadian Pacific Railway travel posters circa 1920s and 30s. Designer Tim Nokes captures parks as a place of self-discovery, education and powerful inspiration.

The Parks Canada Centennial stamps are available in booklets of ten. You can buy the Parks Canada Centennial stamp and other products at participating post offices, order them online, or by mail order from the National Philatelic Centre. From Canada and the USA, call toll-free: 1-800-565-4362, and from other countries, call: 902-863-6550.

Produits du Centenaire

Le timbre du centenaire

Parks Canada Centennial Stamp
 Le timbre du centenaire de Parcs Canada
© Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada figure sur un timbre commémoratif ! C’est tout un honneur que de voir le centenaire de Parcs Canada souligné par un timbre puisque Postes Canada reçoit chaque année des centaines de suggestions de sujets pour ses timbres. Pour ajouter à cet honneur, le timbre a été lancé le 19 mai 2011, soit 100 ans jour pour jour après la naissance du premier service de parcs nationaux au monde connu à l’époque sous le nom de Division des parcs du Dominion.

Au sujet du timbre : La vignette illustre un randonneur devant un majestueux paysage des parcs des montagnes, lieu de naissance de Banff, le premier parc national du Canada. Le style d’illustration avec ses couleurs vibrantes tire son inspiration des affiches de voyage du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique émises pendant les années 1920 et 1930. Pour le designer Tim Nokes, il était important d’illustrer les parcs comme étant un lieu de découverte de soi, d'éducation ainsi qu'une source d'inspiration incroyable.

Le timbre se vend en carnet de dix unités. On peut se procurer le timbre du centenaire de Parcs Canada ainsi que les divers produits philatéliques dans les bureaux de poste participants, en les commandant en ligne ou, par commande postale, auprès du Centre national de philatélie. Du Canada et des États-Unis, composez sans frais le 1 800 565-4362; d'un autre pays, le 902 863-6550.