Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office

Roles and Responsibilities

Custodian Departments

Departments are responsible for managing the real property under their administration in accordance with their mandate and operational objectives, while preserving the heritage character of designated buildings - whether Classified or Recognized - throughout their lifecycle. This means that departments must incorporate heritage considerations into their real property management framework in order to ensure informed decision-making. Heritage considerations must also be factored into their accountability frameworks, decision-making structures and the systems used for performance reporting.

More specifically, in order to comply with the policy, departments must:

Have FHBRO evaluate buildings that are 40 years of age or older, and that are under their administration or that they wish to acquire, in order to determine their heritage character.1

The evaluation of a building's heritage character is essential to ensuring that its value is respected and preserved. Heritage character may be understood to be the combination of a building's heritage value and its character-defining elements, which are the features of the building that must be protected in order to preserve its value. In some instances, a building's value will be linked primarily to its history, whereas in other cases, it will relate to its architectural and environmental qualities. The purpose of an evaluation is to determine where the heritage value of federal buildings lies. It also makes it possible to determine whether a building should be designated as Classified or Recognized, or not designated.2

Respect and conserve the heritage character of federal buildings under their administration throughout their lifecyle.

Consult FHBRO before undertaking any intervention that could alter the heritage character of a classified federal building.

Obtain appropriate conservation advice before undertaking an intervention that could alter the heritage character of a recognized federal building.3

Preserving the heritage character of federal heritage buildings is of great importance, since these buildings provide tangible evidence of our history. For this reason, it is essential that custodian departments establish appropriate management practices and take into account the heritage character of federal heritage buildings when planning interventions.4

Consult FHBRO before demolishing, dismantling or selling a federal heritage building.5

The policy requires that best efforts be made to arrange for appropriate alternative uses of under-utilized or excess heritage buildings, first within the federal government and then outside the federal government.6

Footnotes

1 Treasury Board Policy on Management of Real Property, s. 6.1.9.

2 For more information about departmental obligations related to heritage evaluation, see the Evaluation section.

3 Treasury Board Policy on Management of Real Property, s. 6.1.9 and 6.1.10.

4 For further information about departmental obligations with respect to interventions to designated buildings, see the Intervention Review section.

5 Treasury Board Policy on Management of Real Property, s. 6.1.10.

6 For more information about departmental obligations with respect to disposals, see the Disposal section. Other advice is provided in the new Directive on the Sale or Transfer of Surplus Real Property, which may be found at www.tbs-sct.gc.ca.

Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine

Rôles et responsabilités

Les ministères gardiens

La responsabilité des ministères gardiens est de gérer les biens immobiliers dont ils ont la garde en fonction de leur mandat et de leurs objectifs opérationnels, tout en préservant le caractère patrimonial des édifices désignés - « classés » ou « reconnus » - et ce, pendant tout leur cycle de vie. Pour ce faire, les ministères doivent intégrer pleinement les considérations patrimoniales dans leur cadre de gestion immobilière afin d'appuyer des prises de décisions avisées. Ainsi, ces considérations patrimoniales doivent être prises en compte dans leurs pratiques comptables, dans leurs structures de prise de décision ainsi que dans les systèmes utilisés pour établir les rapports de performance.

Pour se conformer à la Politique, les ministères doivent plus précisément :

Faire évaluer par le BEÉFP les édifices de 40 ans et plus dont ils ont la gestion ou dont ils désirent faire l'acquisition, afin d'en déterminer la valeur patrimoniale.1

Une évaluation claire et cohérente du caractère patrimonial d'un édifice est essentielle à un traitement respectueux de ses valeurs. Le caractère patrimonial peut se concevoir comme un amalgame de diverses valeurs et d'éléments caractéristiques qui doivent être préservés pour que ce caractère patrimonial soit conservé. Dans certains cas, la signification d'un édifice sera principalement liée à son histoire, alors que dans d'autres cas elle reposera sur ses qualités architecturales et environnementales. L'évaluation a pour but de déterminer où réside la valeur patrimoniale des édifices fédéraux. Elle permet également de déterminer le niveau de désignation  : soit « classé », « reconnu », ou non désigné.2

Respecter et préserver le caractère patrimonial des édifices fédéraux dont ils ont la garde pendant tout leur cycle de vie.

Consulter le BEÉFP avant de procéder à toute intervention susceptible d'altérer la valeur patrimoniale d'un édifice fédéral « classé ».

Obtenir des conseils de conservation appropriés avant de procéder à toute intervention qui aurait un impact sur le caractère patrimonial d'un édifice fédéral du patrimoine
« reconnu ».3

Le maintien du caractère patrimonial des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine est de la plus haute importance car ceux-ci sont des témoins clefs de notre histoire. C'est la raison pour laquelle il est essentiel que les ministères gardiens mettent en place des mesures de gestion appropriées pour le préserver. C'est aussi pourquoi ils doivent tenir compte de ce caractère patrimonial lorsqu'ils planifient des travaux sur des édifices fédéraux désignés.4

Consulter le BEÉFP avant de démolir, de démanteler ou de vendre un édifice fédéral à valeur patrimoniale.5

La Politique requiert des ministères qu'ils fassent tout, dans la mesure du possible, pour trouver une autre vocation convenable aux édifices patrimoniaux lorsque ceux-ci sont sous-utilisés ou excédentaires, et ce, en cherchant d'abord à l'intérieur du gouvernement fédéral puis à l'extérieur.6

Notes

1 Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la gestion des biens immobiliers, art. 6.1.9.

2 Pour plus de détails sur les obligations des ministères en matière d'évaluation de la valeur patrimoniale, se reporter à la section sur l'évaluation patrimoniale.

3 Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la gestion des biens immobiliers, art. 6.1.9 et 10.

4 Pour plus de détails sur les obligations des ministères relativement aux interventions sur les édifices désignés, se reporter à la section sur l'examen d'intervention.

5 Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la gestion des biens immobiliers, art. 6.1.10.

6 Pour plus de détails sur les obligations des ministères relativement aux aliénations, se reporter à la section sur l'aliénation. D'autres conseils sont fournis dans la nouvelle Directive sur la vente ou le transfert des biens immobiliers excédentaires, accessible à l'adresse suivante : www.tbs-sct.gc.ca