Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office

The Policy

The Treasury Board Policy on Management of Real Property1 places protection of the heritage character of federal buildings on an equal footing with other considerations related to real property management and it is within this policy that departmental obligations and responsibilities2 are defined.

The Treasury Board policy stipulates that departments must manage the buildings they administer so as to conserve their heritage character throughout their lifecycle. It also contains statements regarding the protection of the heritage character of federal buildings in the context of their acquisition, use and disposal, and actions that could affect their heritage character.

Background

In 2006, the Treasury Board Policy on Management of Real Property replaced the Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy, which had been approved by Cabinet in April 1982. This policy resulted from the federal government's commitment to protect the heritage character of its inventory. It was introduced following a Cabinet recommendation to introduce measures designed to encourage the preservation of heritage buildings in Canada, including the formulation of a specific policy on federal heritage buildings. The Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office (FHBRO) was established at that time, with the specific mandate to help departments preserve their heritage buildings, in accordance with the policy.

Cape Spear Lighttower, National Historic Site of Canada St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador Cape Spear Lighttower, National Historic Site of Canada St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador
© Parks Canada; E. Walsh, 2004
Built in 1835, the Cape Spear Lighttower is designated Classified, because of its historical association and architectural and environmental value. The lighttower is associated with the provision of aids to navigation for the settlement of Newfoundland. It is also considered to be an excellent example of the Neoclassical style, and is characterized by its well-proportioned composition, simple form and cubic volume. Well built and functionally well conceived, it reinforces its maritime setting of rugged headland and natural coastline.

Departmental heritage obligations have remained essentially unchanged since 1982, with the exception of the introduction of additional guidelines in 1998 regarding the disposal of federal heritage buildings. Over time, however, these obligations have been incorporated into a number of federal real property management tools issued by Treasury Board, making the preservation of the heritage character of federal buildings one of the essential requirements of this management framework. Key milestones have included the issuing of the Treasury Board Circular extending the application of the heritage policy to all federal departments (1987); the inclusion of the policy in the Treasury Board Real Property Administration Manual (1991); and the full integration of these obligations into the new real property management policy (2006).

Footnotes

1 The Treasury Board Policy on Management of Real Property can be found at http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=12042&section=text. The Guide to the Management of Real Property provides additional information and advice on complying with the policy. It can be found at http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=12042&section=text.

2 The government bodies that fall under this policy are those that meet the defnition of "department" under the Financial Administration Act (s. 2). Crown corporations do not fall under the policy. It applies only to real property owned by the federal Crown; leased properties or properties under licence are not included.

Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine

La politique

La Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la gestion des biens immobiliers1 place la protection du caractère patrimonial des édifices fédéraux sur le même pied d'égalité que d'autres considérations importantes en matière de gestion immobilière. C'est de cette politique que découlent les obligations des ministères2 en matière de conservation des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine.

À cet effet, la Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la gestion des biens immobiliers stipule que les ministères qui ont la garde d'édifices fédéraux du patrimoine doivent les administrer de manière à en préserver la valeur patrimoniale tout au long de leur cycle de vie. Elle comprend également des énoncés visant à protéger la valeur patrimoniale des édifices fédéraux dans toutes les opérations d'acquisition, d'exploitation et d'aliénation pouvant les affecter.

Phare du Cap-Spear, Lieu historique national du Canada St. John's, Terre-Neuve et Labrador
Phare du Cap-Spear, Lieu historique national du Canada St. John's, Terre-Neuve et Labrador
© Parcs Canada; E. Walsh, 2004
Construit en 1834, le phare du Cap-Spear a été désigné édifice fédéral du patrimoine « classé » en raison de ses associations historiques et de son importance architecturale et environnementale. Ce phare est associé à la fourniture d'une aide à la navigation pendant le peuplement de Terre-Neuve. Il est aussi considéré comme une excellente interprétation du néoclassicisme appliqué à la construction d'un phare. Il se caractérise par une conception simple et bien proportionnée ainsi que par sa forme cubique. Bien construit et d'une bonne conception fonctionnelle, il renforce le cadre maritime de son promontoire accidenté et du littoral naturel.

Bref historique

La Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la gestion des biens immobiliers a remplacé, en 2006, l'ancienne Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices à valeur patrimoniale, qui avait été approuvée par le Cabinet en avril 1982. Cette dernière résultait de l'engagement du gouvernement fédéral de protéger la valeur patrimoniale de son parc immobilier. Elle découlait d'une recommandation du Cabinet de mettre en place des mesures destinées à encourager la préservation des bâtiments patrimoniaux au Canada, incluant la création d'une politique spécifique sur les édifices fédéraux du patrimoine. C'est à ce moment que le Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine (le BEÉFP) a été mis sur pied, avec comme mandat spécifique d'aider les ministères à protéger leurs édifices patrimoniaux, conformément à la politique.

La portée des obligations patrimoniales des ministères est restée essentiellement la même depuis 1982, exception faite de l'ajout de directives sur le processus d'aliénation, en 1998. On doit souligner cependant l'intégration graduelle de ces obligations aux outils de gestion des biens immobiliers fédéraux émis par le Conseil du Trésor, en vue de faire de la protection du caractère patrimonial des édifices fédéraux une des exigences essentielles de ce cadre de gestion. Les étapes importantes de cette intégration ont été  : l'émission de la Circulaire du Conseil du Trésor, qui étendait l'application de la Politique à tous les ministères fédéraux (1987); l'insertion de la Politique dans le Manuel de gestion des biens immobiliers du Conseil du Trésor (1991); et la pleine intégration de ces obligations à la nouvelle Politique sur la gestion des biens immobiliers (2006).

Notes

1 La Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la gestion des biens immobiliers est accessible à l'adresse suivante : http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=12042&section=text#cha2. Le Guide de la gestion des biens immobiliers du Conseil du Trésor fournit des renseignements et des conseils supplémentaires sur l'application de la politique. Il est accessible à l'adresse suivante : http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=12042&section=text#cha2.

2 Les ministères qui sont visés par cette politique sont ceux qui répondent à la définition du terme « ministère » telle que définie dans la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (art.2). Les sociétés d'État ne sont pas visées par cette politique. Il est à noter que cette politique ne s'applique qu'aux biens réels appartenant à la couronne fédérale; ceux qui sont acquis par bail ou par permis sont exclus.