Common menu bar links

Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office

Evaluation Criteria

Architecture

Aesthetic Design
What is the visual quality of the building (proportion, scale, detail) in the context of an architectural style or type?
A. Excellent (25)
B. Very Good (13)
C. Good (9)
D. Fair or poor (0)

Functional Design
What is the functional quality of the building (effectiveness of materials, layout and method of construction) in the context of engineering history and functional types?
A. Excellent (15)
B. Very Good (8)
C. Good (5)
D. Fair or poor (0)

Craftmanship and Material
What is the quality of the workmanship and the handling of materials?
A. Excellent (10)
B. Very Good (6)
C. Good (4)
D. Fair or poor (0)

Designer
What is the significance of this building as an illustration of the work of an important designer?
A. One of the best examples (5)
B. Very good example (3)
C. Known example (2)
D. Designer not identified (0)


Explanatory Notes

Architecture

These four criteria, "Aesthetic Design", "Functional Design", "Craftsmanship" and "Designer" are meant to measure the intrinsic value of the physical structure both in design and in execution. The present condition (integrity) of the building should be taken into consideration in the application of these criteria, in the knowledge that inappropriate modifications and deteriorated fabric could weaken the architectural value of the building. These judgements will have to be made by the FHBRO.

Aesthetic Design

"What is the visual quality of the building (proportion, scale, detail) in the context of an architectural style or type?"

This criterion measures the architectural merit of the building, taking into account historical styles and/or building types. A building may deserve high marks if its design is successful and visually attractive, whatever its style or type. Evaluators, because they are rating buildings from a historical perspective as well as design, should attempt to discount their own personal stylistic preferences. The integrity of the building may affect the rating of "Aesthetic Design", since a structure that has suffered severe alterations may be weaker in visual qualities.

Functional Design

"What is the functional quality of the building (effectiveness of materials, layout and method of construction) in the context of engineering history and functional types?"

This criterion evaluates the functional merit of the building, apart from aesthetic considerations. It is intended to provide a means of giving value to our engineering and industrial heritage, where "high-style" solutions are not relevant. It measures how effectively a particular building programme has been carried out, taking into account available technology and previous solutions to particular functional problems.

Craftsmanship and Materials

"What is the quality of the workmanship and the handling of materials?"

This criterion evaluates the actual execution of the design, with a focus on quality. It takes into consideration both the choice and handling of materials. Knowledge of the historical context may shed light on the quality of craftsmanship and materials. The current physical condition of the building may reveal the strengths and weaknesses of workmanship and materials over time. Good quality should be evident in spite of reversible changes. It is left to the FHBRO to judge whether to apply this criterion to the whole or just part of specific buildings.

Designer

"What is the significance of this building as an illustration of the work of an important designer?"

This criterion evaluates the importance of this building as an illustration of the work of an important designer?

This criterion evaluates the importance of the building in the designer's career. "Designer" may include architects, builders or engineers, both private and public, both individually or as professional firms. The FHBRO will have to assess whether or not a designer is important (either in Canada or elsewhere) before evaluating the importance of the specific building in the designer's career. While buildings which have been demolished will contribute to the global understanding of a designer's career, evaluators should focus on surviving examples.

Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine

Critères d'évaluation

Architecture

Conception esthétique
Quelle est la qualité esthétique du bâtiment (proportion, échelle, détails) en fonction du type ou du style d'architecture?
A. Excellente (25)
B. Très bonne(13)
C. Bonne (9)
D. Passable ou médiocre (0)

Conception fonctionnelle
Quelle est la valeur fonctionnelle du bâtiment (efficacité du choix des matériaux, agencement et méthode de construction) en fonction des techniques de l'époque et des types fonctionnels?
A. Excellente (15)
B. Très bonne(8)
C. Bonne (5)
D. Passable ou médiocre (0)

Exécution et matériaux
Quelle est la qualité de l'exécution et de l'utilisation des matériaux?
A. Excellente (10)
B. Très bonne(6)
C. Bonne (4)
D. Passable ou médiocre (0)

Concepteur
Dans quelle mesure le bâtiment illustre-t-il le travail d'un concepteur important?
A. Un des meilleurs spécimens (5)
B. Très bon spécimen (3)
C. Spécimen connu (2)
D. Concepteur inconnu/importance du concepteur non corroborée (0)


Notes explicatives

Architecture

Les quatre critères - « Conception esthétique », « Conception fonctionnelle », « Exécution » et « Concepteur » - servent à mesurer la valeur intrinsèque de la structure physique sous l'angle à la fois de la conception et de l'exécution. L'état actuel (intégrité) du bâtiment doit être pris en considération pour l'application de ce critère, parce que les modifications incompatibles ainsi que la détérioration des matériaux ont peut-être réduit la valeur architecturale du bâtiment. Le BEÉFP sera appelé à porter des jugements de ce genre.

Conception esthétique

« Quelle est la qualité esthétique du bâtiment (proportion, échelle, détails) en fonction du type ou du style d'architecture? »

Ce critère permet de mesurer la valeur architecturale du bâtiment, en fonction des types de bâtiments et des styles de l'époque. Un bâtiment peut obtenir des notes élevées s'il est conçu de façon originale et est attrayant, quel que soit le style ou le type de bâtiment. Étant donné qu'ils évaluent les bâtiments dans une perspective historique aussi bien qu'architecturale, les évaluateurs doivent s'efforcer de ne pas faire intervenir leurs préférences stylistiques personnelles. L'intégrité du bâtiment peut faire varier la note accordée pour la « conception esthétique », puisqu'une structure gravement détériorée risque d'être moins agréable à voir.

Conception fonctionnelle

« Quelle est la valeur fonctionnelle du bâtiment (efficacité du choix des matériaux, agencement et méthode de construction) en fonction des techniques de l'époque et des types fonctionnels? »

Ce critère permet d'apprécier la valeur fonctionnelle du bâtiment, sans égard à la dimension esthétique. Il sert à donner une valeur à notre patrimoine industriel et technique, dans les cas où les solutions « grand style » ne sont pas pertinentes. Il permet de mesurer le degré d'efficacité de l'exécution d'un bâtiment particulier, compte tenu des techniques qui existaient à l'époque, ainsi que des solutions qui avaient été appliquées antérieurement à des problèmes fonctionnels particuliers.

Exécution et matériaux

« Quelle est la qualité de l'exécution et de l'utilisation des matériaux? »

Ce critère sert à évaluer l'exécution proprement dite de la conception, en mettant l'accent sur la qualité. Il prend en considération à la fois le choix des matériaux et l'utilisation qui en a été faite.

La connaissance du contexte historique permet de mieux apprécier la qualité de l'exécution et des matériaux. L'état physique actuel du bâtiment permet de déterminer les points faibles du travail d'exécution et comment les matériaux ont su résister au temps. En dépit de certaines modification réversibles, la qualité doit transparaître. C'est au BEÉFP qu'il revient de juger si le critère doit être appliqué à l'ensemble ou à une partie seulement des bâtiments en question.

Concepteur

« Dans quelle mesure le bâtiment illustre-t-il le travail d'un concepteur important? »

Ce critère sert à évaluer l'importance du bâtiment dans l'ensemble de l'oeuvre d'un concepteur. Le terme « concepteur » peut désigner des architectes, des constructeurs ou des ingénieurs, tant du secteur privé que public, à la fois comme individus ou comme maisons professionnelles. Avant de procéder à l'évaluation de l'importance du bâtiment dans l'ensemble de l'oeuvre d'un concepteur, le BEÉFP devra d'abord déterminer s'il est un personnage important (soit au Canada, soit à l'étranger). Les bâtiments qui ont été démolis peuvent certes aider à mieux comprendre l'ensemble de l'oeuvre d'un concepteur, mais les évaluateurs doivent se concentrer sur les spécimens existants.