Archaeology in National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada

Fathom Five National Marine Park of Canada: A World-Famous Shipwreck Diving Destination

A forerunner of the National Marine Conservation Area (NMCA) System, Fathom Five National Marine Park is a world-famous diving destination due to the large number of historic shipwrecks preserved in the clear freshwaters off Tobermory, Ontario. At least 27 historic shipwrecks are located within the park boundaries, which is situated at the northern end of the Bruce Peninsula separating Georgian Bay from Lake Huron. Because of the numerous rocky islands and shallow reefs, combined with frequent fog and violent storms, navigation has always been dangerous in this area.

Originally, the Government of Ontario established a provincial marine park at Tobermory in 1972 in order to protect the significant shipwrecks in the area. The operation of the park was transferred to the federal government in 1987, and Fathom Five became Canada’s first national marine park. It is now included within the NMCA System, the goal of which is to protect and conserve representative examples of Canada’s natural and cultural marine heritage and to provide opportunities for public education and enjoyment.

The engine bed and remains of the lower portion of the steam engine on the W.L. Wetmore The engine bed and remains of the lower portion of the steam engine on the W.L. Wetmore
© Parks Canada


The wrecks in Fathom Five represent the most common types of commercial vessels that would have plied the waters of the Great Lakes during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. They include sailing schooners, fishing vessels, steamers and tugs, and various smaller craft. The vessels were employed to transport lumber and grain, for commercial fishing, or to carry passengers and freight to small communities around the lake.

 

 

 

Divers at the bow of the Sweepstakes Divers at the bow of the Sweepstakes.
© Parks Canada / Denis Pagé

Even non-divers can enjoy viewing these sites, thanks to the glass-bottom boat tours that pass over the wreck Sweepstakes, which lies in shallow, clear water. The Sweepstakes, a two-masted wooden schooner, was launched in 1867. The vessel struck a rock off Cove Island on the evening of August 23, 1885. The crew managed to make their way safely to the nearby lighthouse. Sweepstakes was salvaged a week later, and towed to Big Tub Harbour for repairs. However, the vessel was too badly damaged and could not be saved, so all of the valuable equipment and rigging was stripped and Sweepstakes was abandoned in the location where it rests today.

Note that a number of archaeological sites are also located on the islands within the park boundaries.

Links

Fathom Five National Marine Park 

Diving in Fathom Five National Marine Park 

Visitor’s Centre for Fathom Five National Marine Park 

Bibliography

R. James Ringer and Patrick Folkes, A Marine Archaeological Survey of Fathom Five National
Marine Park
. National Historic Sites and Parks Branch, Environment Canada/Parks Service
(1991).

Archéologie dans les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada

Parc marin national du Canada Fathom Five : Un site de plongée reconnu dans le monde entier

Précurseur du réseau d’aires marines nationales de conservation (AMNC), le parc marin national Fathom Five est un site de plongée de classe mondiale en raison du nombre impressionnant d’épaves préservées dans ses eaux douces limpides, au large de Tobermory, en Ontario. Au moins 27 épaves historiques se trouvent dans le parc situé à la pointe nord de la péninsule Bruce, qui sépare la baie Georgienne du lac Huron. Le nombre considérable d’ilots rocheux et de récifs peu profonds, jumelés à de fréquents épisodes de brouillard et de violentes tempêtes, ont toujours rendu la navigation périlleuse à cet endroit.

En 1972, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a créé un parc marin provincial à Tobermory, afin de protéger les épaves importantes qui se trouvaient dans cette zone. L’exploitation du parc a été confiée au gouvernement fédéral en 1987, et Fathom Five est ainsi devenu le premier parc marin national du Canada. Il fait maintenant partie du réseau des AMNC, qui visent à assurer la conservation et la protection d'exemples représentatifs du patrimoine marin canadien, qu'ils soient naturels ou culturels, et à offrir au public des occasions d'enrichir ses connaissances et de profiter de ce patrimoine.

Les supports de la machinerie et quelque pièces de moteur du W.L. Wetmore Les supports de la machinerie et quelque pièces de moteur du W.L. Wetmore
© Parcs Canada


Les épaves de Fathom Five représentent les navires commerciaux les plus couramment utilisés sur les Grands Lacs à la fin du XIXe siècle et au début du XXe siècle. Parmi ces bâtiments figuraient des schooners à voiles, des bateaux de pêche, des vapeurs, des remorqueurs et divers autres navires de plus petite taille. Ils servaient au transport du bois d’œuvre et du grain, à la pêche commerciale et au transport de passagers et de fret vers les petites collectivités riveraines.

 

 

Plongeurs à la proue du Sweepstakes Plongeurs à la proue du Sweepstakes
© Parcs Canada / Denis Pagé

Même les visiteurs ne pratiquant pas la plongée peuvent découvrir ces curiosités, grâce à des excursions en bateau à fond vitré au-dessus de l’épave du Sweepstakes, qui repose dans des eaux limpides et peu profondes. Le Sweepstakes, schooner en bois à deux mâts, a été lancé en 1867. Il a heurté un rocher au large de l’île Cove dans la soirée du 23 août 1885, mais son équipage a réussi à se rendre sain et sauf jusqu’à un phare situé à proximité. Une semaine plus tard, il a été remorqué jusqu’à Big Tub Harbour pour des réparations. Toutefois, étant trop lourdement endommagé, il n’a pu être récupéré. Par conséquent, le haubanage et tout l’équipement de valeur ont été démontés, et le Sweepstakes a été abandonné à l’endroit où il repose aujourd’hui.

Il convient de remarquer que plusieurs sites archéologiques se trouvent sur les îles situées à l’intérieur du parc.

Liens

Parc marin national Fathom Five

Plongée au parc marin national Fathom Five

Centre d’accueil du parc marin national Fathom Five

Bibliographie

R. James Ringer and Patrick Folkes, A Marine Archaeological Survey of Fathom Five National
Marine Park
. Direction générale des parcs et des lieux historiques nationaux, Environnement Canada/Service des parcs, 1991 (en anglais seulement).