Common menu bar links

Archaeology

Parks Canada Projects


Parks Canada archaeologist at Thule site near Sila River at Ukkusiksalik National Park of Canada (Nun.) Parks Canada archaeologist at Thule site near Sila River at Ukkusiksalik National Park of Canada (Nun.)
© Parks Canada / Narraway, L. / 13.04.09.11(07) / 2005

Parks Canada employs more archaeologists than any other federal department or agency because of its involvement in the vast system of National Parks, National Historic Sites and National Marine Conservation Areas and other heritage areas and heritage protection programs. The primary objective of archaeological projects is the proper management and protection of archaeological resources, which can be an object, site, or even a landscape. One way to achieve this goal is to inventory and evaluate all known archaeological resources with respect to their historic and heritage value, and presentation potential. This inventory also serves as a tool for managers to decide where site development and visitor use can occur.

Sometimes it is necessary to carry out regular monitoring of archaeological sites that are close to, on or above the land surface and that may be threatened by erosion, natural deterioration and human activity. In these cases, archaeologists must work with conservation specialists to develop mitigation measures. This kind of monitoring is even more important in the case of submerged archaeological sites, especially shipwrecks, when they are completely exposed on the seabed.

Federal Archaeology outside Parks Canada

Archaeologists at the Canadian Museum of Civilization undertake research that can broaden our understanding of the human history of Canada. Their work for the Archaeology and History research division of the museum continues to produce significant studies relating not only to the museum’s collection but also to Canadian history in general.

Some federal departments have to undertake archaeological projects when there is potential for disturbance on the lands they administer. Parks Canada archaeologists occasionally advise them on how to conduct archaeological research.

Archéologie

Projets



Parks Canada archaeologist at Thule site near Sila River at Ukkusiksalik National Park of Canada (Nun.) Parks Canada archaeologist at Thule site near Sila River at Ukkusiksalik National Park of Canada (Nun.)
© Parks Canada / Narraway, L. / 13.04.09.11(07) / 2005

Projets archéologiques à Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada, en sa qualité de gestionnaire du vaste réseau de parcs nationaux, de lieux historiques nationaux et d'aires marines nationales du Canada et autres aires patrimoniales et programmes de protection du patrimoine, emploie le plus grand nombre d'archéologues parmi les agences et ministères fédéraux. Les projets visent prioritairement à assurer une gestion et une protection adéquates des ressources archéologiques, lesquelles peuvent prendre la forme d'un objet, d'un site, voire d'un paysage. Un moyen d'y parvenir consiste à faire un inventaire des ressources en tenant compte de leurs valeurs historique et patrimoniale ainsi que de leur potentiel de présentation. Cet inventaire sera aussi un outil utile permettant aux gestionnaires d’identifier les endroits propices au dévelopement et à la fréquentation des visiteurs.

Il s'avère quelquefois nécessaire d'effectuer une surveillance régulière de sites archéologiques dont les traces affleurent la surface, voire qui sont entièrement dégagés, et qui sont menacés par l'érosion, la dégradation naturelle ou l'activité humaine. Les archéologues doivent alors, de concert avec les spécialistes de la conservation, mettre au point des systèmes d'atténuation des impacts. Une telle surveillance est encore plus importante dans le cas des sites archéologiques subaquatiques, en particulier les épaves de navires, lorsqu'ils sont complètement exposés sur les fonds marins.

L'archéologie au fédéral, ailleurs qu'à Parcs Canada

Les archéologues à l'emploi du Musée canadien des civilisations mènent des recherches susceptibles d'accroître notre compréhension de l'histoire humaine au Canada en des temps anciens. Dans le cadre de leurs travaux pour la Direction de la recherche en archéologie et en histoire du musée, ils continuent de réaliser des études importantes, non seulement pour la collection du Musée, mais aussi pour l'histoire du Canada en général.

De plus, certains ministères fédéraux sont tenus de mener des fouilles archéologiques sur les terres qu'ils administrent, si un projet comporte un risque de perturbation des ressources du sol. Les archéologues de Parcs Canada les conseillent parfois sur la façon d’effectuer ces recherches archéologiques.