Archaeology

Archaeology and The Law


Centre Block National Historic Site of Canada (Ont.) Centre Block National Historic Site of Canada (Ont.)
© Parks Canada / Guindon, A. / H.06.251.06.15(03) / 1986

It is strongly recommended that qualified advice be obtained on meeting the obligations spelled out in the various federal, provincial and territorial legislation, policies and directives and in final land claim agreements. For more information on the apropriate authorities and legislation dealing with this subject, consult Unearthing the Law: Archaeological Legislation on Lands in Canada.

Parks Canada is bound by its mandate and policies to protect and preserve archaeological resources found on Parks Canada lands — whether the resources are on the surface of the ground, buried in the earth or submerged. The Parks Canada Agency Act (1998) lists archaeology in its heritage protection programs. The Act further states that “the Agency is responsible for the implementation of policies of the Government of Canada that relate to national parks, national historic sites, national marine conservation areas, other protected heritage areas and heritage protection programs.” As well, the Parks Canada Agency is the federal government expert on archaeological works that take place on federal lands. The Agency’s archaeological experts provide advice, tools and information to other federal land managers on archaeology and environmental assessment to help implement the Government of Canada’s Archaeological Heritage Policy Framework (1990)..

Other federal government departments are subject to different laws, policies and ministerial directives that pertain to federal lands. Legally, a project that would prompt an environmental assessment under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act may trigger a requirement to assess the site in question for archaeological resources.

Provincial and territorial governments have all created one or more laws that deal directly or indirectly with archaeology or archaeological resources under their jurisdiction. These laws require both governments and the private sector equally to plan for archaeology and to protect archaeological resources, whether they are discovered by accident or as part of a purposeful research effort. Each provincial and territorial government has established a process for obtaining permits for archaeological research and for the filing of reports on authorized excavations.

Accidental Discoveries

In the event of an accidental discovery of human remains, the law specifies that all activities must be halted, the area secured and the apropriate authorities (police and/or coroner) notified. The police and/or coroner, often working with an archaeologist or biological anthropologist, will determine whether the site is the scene of a crime or an archaeological site. If the site and human remains have medico-legal significance, they will fall under the jurisdiction of the police or coroner. If the site and remains are archaeological, they will, depending on where they are found, generally fall under legislation and policies concerning heritage, historic or archaeological resources, or the laws and policies that deal with burial sites and cemeteries.

Given the inherent spiritual significance and scientific and heritage value of human remains, special ethical considerations should be given to the protection of both the remains and the burial sites. Both must be treated with respect and, whenever possible and reasonable, the wishes of the next of kin, the genealogical descendents (if known) or the community with the closest historical or cultural association must be respected.

The laws are less explicit and often inconsistent in the case of accidental discoveries of archaeological objects and other archaeological resources that not associated with human remains. Ideally, if such a discovery occurs, all work that could potentially threaten the site should be halted, the site itself closed and secured and the responsible provincial, territorial or federal archaeological official notified. Where there is any doubt as to whether a find is an archaeological resource, it is best to obtain expert advice without delay.

More about Archaeology and the Law

Archéologie

L'archéologie et la loi



Centre Block National Historic Site of Canada (Ont.) Lieu historique national du Canada de la Colline du Parlement-Édifice du centre (Ont.)
© Parcs Canada / Guindon, A. / H.06.251.06.15(03) / 1986

Il est fortement recommandé d'obtenir des avis autorisés sur les obligations à respecter précisées dans les différentes lois provinciales et territoriales, les politiques et directives en matière d'archéologie et les revendications territoriales finalisées. Pour plus d'information sur les autorités compétentes et les lois en la matière, consultez le document Quand il faut déterrer la loi. La législation sur les ressources archéologiques terrestres au Canada.

La protection et la préservation des ressources archéologiques trouvées sur la terre, sous la terre ou submergées sur le territoire de Parcs Canada est exigé selon le mandat et les politiques de Parcs Canada. La Loi sur l’Agence Parcs Canada de 1998 intègre l’archéologie dans ses programmes de protection du patrimoine. Elle établit, en outre : « L’Agence est responsable de la mise en œuvre de la politique du gouvernement du Canada dans le domaine des parcs nationaux, des lieux historiques nationaux, des autres lieux patrimoniaux protégés et des programmes de protection du patrimoine ». De plus, l’Agence Parcs Canada est considérée comme l’expert du gouvernement fédéral pour les travaux archéologiques se déroulant sur les terres fédérales. Les spécialistes en archéologie viennent en aide aux gestionnaires d’autres terres fédérales en leur fournissant des informations, des conseils et des outils qui, relevant des domaines de l’archéologie et des évaluations environnementales, leur permettront de se conformer au Cadre de la Politique sur le patrimoine archéologique de 1990 du gouvernement du Canada.

Les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ont tous promulgué une ou plusieurs lois qui traitent directement ou indirectement de l'archéologie ou des ressources archéologiques sur les territoires relevant de leur compétence. Les lois obligent également les gouvernements et les particuliers à planifier l'aspect archéologique, et à protéger les ressources archéologiques, qu'elles aient été découvertes de façon fortuite ou dans le cadre d'un effort intentionnel de recherche. Chaque province et chaque territoire possède un organisme gouvernemental doté de règles établies pour les demandes de permis et pour le dépôt de rapports sur les fouilles archéologiques autorisées.

Découvertes fortuites

Dans le cas de la découverte accidentelle de restes humains, les lois précisent que toutes les activités doivent cesser, que le secteur doit être fermé et protégé, et qu'il faut apeler l'autorité compétente (police et/ou coroner). C'est cette autorité compétente qui déterminera, le plus souvent avec un archéologue ou un anthropologue en biologie, si le site est une scène de crime, donc assujetti à une enquête de la police ou du coroner, ou s'il est un site « archéologique ». Si le site et les restes humains s'avèrent d'importance médico-légale, ils relèveront alors de la compétence du coroner ou de la police. S'il s'agit d'un site archéologique, dépendamment de l'emplacement où il se trouve, il sera généralement assujetti aux lois et aux politiques régissant les ressources patrimoniales, historiques ou archéologiques, ou encore à celles régissant les cimetières et autres lieux de sépulture.

Compte tenu de la signification spirituelle et de la valeur scientifique et patrimoniale inhérentes aux restes humains, ceux-ci doivent faire l'objet de considérations éthiques particulières concernant la protection des restes humains et des lieux de sépulture. Les restes humains et les lieux de sépulture doivent tous être traités avec respect et, lorsque cela est possible et raisonnable, il faudrait respecter la volonté des plus proches parents et descendants généalogiques, s'ils sont connus, ou de la communauté ayant une association historique ou culturelle la plus proche.

Les lois sont moins explicites et manquent souvent d'uniformité concernant ce qu'il faut faire dans le cas de la découverte accidentelle d'objets archéologiques ou d'autres ressources archéologiques non associés à des restes humains. Idéalement, il faudrait alors suspendre tous les travaux qui pourraient risquer de mettre en danger le site, le site lui-même devrait être fermé et protégé, et le responsable provincial, territorial ou fédéral en matière d'archéologie devrait être avisé. S'il y a un doute quant au caractère archéologique de la découverte, il vaut mieux rechercher immédiatement les conseils d'un expert.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'archéologie et la loi