Common menu bar links

Archaeology

Get Involved and Learn


Visitors and archaeologist at an excavation site at Fort Wellington NHS of Canada (Ont.)
Visitors and archaeologist at an excavation site at Fort Wellington NHS of Canada (Ont.)
© Parks Canada / Morin, B. / H.06.60.06.11(35) / 1991

Volunteering at Parks Canada

Some Parks Canada national parks, national historic sites or service centres may offer programs for archaeological volunteers. To find out more about volunteer opportunities, look at the sections under educational activities or at the Parks and Historic Sites web pages.

Public Archaeology in Canada

Each year Parks Canada offers a variety of public archaeology activities. Parks Canada archaeologist or partnering organizations supervise the participants. The activities are designed so that anyone interested in archaeology can observe and participate in archaeological excavations. Certain programs take place on a regular basis, while others do not. Activities other than excavation are offered and allow people to become familiarized with other aspects of the archaeological discipline. Here are links to some well-established programs in Canada.

Archeological Excavations

Excavation activities cannot be offered on a regular basis each year. Consult the Special Archeological Events to find out an updated listing.

Other Learning Opportunities and Educational Programs in Archaeology

At Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site of Canada, the "Archy Cart" activity provides an on-site demonstration where children are able to dig for artefacts. While digging the "Archy Cart", children are being shown the process of archaeology and the important role it played in the creation the Historic Site.

At Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site of Canada, it's Bingo, Lower Fort Garry style! The Bingo card squares are filled with pictures of artifacts found throughout the historic site. The Bingo caller, a Parks Canada interpreter, describes what each picture represents using the actual artifact. A fun, interactive program suitable for all ages. Availability: May 15-June 30. Length: 45 minutes.

At Fort Battleford National Historic Site of Canada, the Archaeological Dig Workshop is designed to teach children the important role that archaeology plays in furthering our understanding of the past. It is a hands-on activity and depends on favourable weather conditions. This workshop fits the social studies curriculum for Grade 5, Unit 2: Heritage Module 1, “learning about the past”.

At Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada, “Dig In! and Discover Through Artifacts”. This program supports the Ontario Curriculum learning expectations of Grade 7 - History: British North America. Students become archaeological detectives during this session, examining artifacts for clues in their investigation of military life at Fort Wellington. Students will develop their analytical, organizational and reporting skills as they use primary source materials uncovered during a previous dig at the fort to draw conclusions about the people that lived there and the events that affected them. For more details consult the Fort web page.

At Fort Chambly National Historic Site of Canada, come and join our guides to discover some of the artefacts found by the archaeologists. Through the activity: “Archeology at Fort Chambly: Artefacts that Have Plenty to Say!” Moreover, primary school groups could book a specific interactive activity called:“Archaeology at Chambly Fort: Artifacts Are Real Blabbermouths!”

At Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site of Canada primary grade school groups are invited to live the “Adventure of the Lost Objects”.

At Fort Témiscamingue National Historic Site of Canada, discover the “Secrets of the Earth” and travel through time while archaeology is demystified in front of you.

Public Archaeology elsewhere in Canada

Archaeological Field Schools in Canada

Field schools are designed primarily for students registered in university archaeology programs so the students can get some practical hands-on experience in archaeological research. However, some field schools also welcome anyone wanting to know more about history and archaeology. Some field schools offer permanent courses; others only temporary ones. Locations can also change frequently so be sure to contact the institution directly for more detailed information.

Here are some links to current field schools in Canada:

Archéologie

Comment s'impliquer et apprendre


Visitors and archaeologist at an excavation site at Fort Wellington NHS of Canada (Ont.) Archéologue et visiteurs sur le lieu d'une fouille, au lieu historique national du Canada Fort-Wellington (Ont.)
© Parcs Canada / Morin, B. / H.06.60.06.11(35) / 1991

Bénévolat à Parcs Canada

Certains parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux ou centres de services de Parcs Canada peuvent offrir des programmes de bénévolat en archéologie. Pour connaître les possibilités de bénévolat, consultez les sections sur les activités éducatives ou sur les partenaires des sites Web des parcs et des lieux historiques.

Archéologie publique au Canada

Chaque année Parcs Canada entreprend diverses activités d'archéologie publique. Celles-ci sont dirigées par des archéologues de Parcs Canada ou réalisées en partenariat avec d'autres groupes ou organisations. Les activités programmées offrent entre-autres à toutes les personnes que cela intéresse des occasions d'observer des fouilles archéologiques ou d'y participer. Certains de ces programmes ne sont offerts que de façon sporadique alors que d'autres le sont de façon régulière. D'autres activités participatives ou non permettent de se familiariser avec divers aspects du travail des chercheurs.

Activités de fouilles

Les activités de fouilles ne peuvent être programmées en permanences et répétées chaque année. Aussi, nous vous suggérons de consulter la rubrique Événements spéciaux pour y retrouver la liste à jour.

Occasions d'apprentissage pour tous et programmes éducatifs en archéologie

Lieu historique national de Rocky Mountain House Dans ce lieu on trouve le « chariot des archéologues » à bord duquel enfants sont invités à creuser pour trouver des artéfacts tout en en apprenant davantage au sujet des fouilles archéologiques et du rôle important qu'elles ont jouées dans la création du lieu historique

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Battleford
Le personnel du Fort Battleford offre aux groupes scolaires l'occasion de participer à un atelier sur les fouilles archéologiques pour souligner le rôle important que joue l'archéologie en assurant une meilleure compréhension du passé. Cet atelier cadre avec les programmes de sciences humaines pour les élèves de 5 e année, unité 2 : Patrimoine module 1« l'étude du passé ».

Lieu historique national du Canada de Lower Fort Garry
Ce lieu vous présente une activité de groupe où l'on joue au « Bingo d'artéfacts ». C'est le bingo, à la manière de Lower Fort Garry! Au lieu de chiffres, ce sont des images d'artéfacts découverts un peu partout au lieu historique qui figurent dans les cases des cartes de bingo. Le meneur de jeu, un interprète de Parcs Canada, explique chaque image en se servant de l'objet réel représenté. Une activité interactive amusante pour les personnes de tous les âges. Disponibilité : du 15 mai au 30 juin. Durée 45 minutes.

Lieu historique national du Canada Fort Wellington,
Dans ce lieu vous aurez à « Retroussez vos manches! À la découverte d'artéfacts ». Ce programme éducatif offert aux groupes scolaires appuie les attentes du curriculum de l'Ontario de la 7e année - Le développement du Haut-Canada. Durant cette séance, les élèves assumeront le rôle de détectives archéologiques. Ils examineront des artéfacts dans le but de découvrir des indices leur permettant de recréer la vie au fort Wellington. Les élèves pourront développer leur sens de l'organisation et de l'analyse et leur aptitude à présenter les faits en utilisant du matériel de source primaire ayant été découvert durant une fouille antérieure au fort pour tirer des conclusions au sujet des personnes qui y vivaient et des événements qui y sont survenus. Voir les détails sur le site.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Chambly
Le personnel du Fort Chambly vous offre des activités quotidiennes qui touchent à l'archéologie, Venez creuser avec notre guide dans le module archéologique : « L'archéologie au fort Chambly : bavards, ces artéfacts ! ». De plus les étudiants du primaire peuvent bénéficier d'un programme éducatif incluant le module « L'archéologie au fort Chambly : bavards, ces artefacts! » pendant les saisons scolaires.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort Coteau-du-Lac Au Fort Coteau-du-Lac, les étudiants du primaire deviennent des « aventuriers des objets perdus » Le programme vise entre-autres à sensibiliser les enfants à l'importance de l'archéologie pour identifier et conserver les objets laissés par nos ancêtres.

Lieu historique national du Fort-Témiscamingue Venez découvrir les secrets de la terre et faite un voyage dans le temps car on y démystifie l'archéologie pour vous.

Archéologie publique ailleurs au Canada

Voici quelques liens menant vers d'autres programmes bien établis au Canada.

Écoles de fouilles archéologiques au Canada

Les écoles de fouilles archéologiques visent principalement à offrir aux étudiants inscrits aux programmes universitaires en archéologie des occasions de stage pratique en recherche archéologique. Certaines de ces écoles accueillent aussi toute personne intéressée à parfaire ses connaissances en histoire et en archéologie. De plus, alors que certaines écoles offrent des cours permanents, d'autres offrent uniquement des cours temporaires. Comme l'emplacement des fouilles peut changer assez souvent, veuillez communiquer avec l'établissement directement pour obtenir des renseignements plus détaillés.

Voici des liens menant à des sites d'écoles de fouilles archéologiques au Canada :