Archaeology

Discover Heritage Areas


Where can you see and learn from archaeological resources? Listed below are some of the many Parks Canada heritage areas in Canada where you can find out more about archaeological resources in person or online.



Replica of wooden fence from Viking settlement at L'Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site of Canada (N.L.)
Replica of wooden fence from Viking settlement at L'Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site of Canada (N.L.)
© Parks Canada / MacKenzie, S. / H.01.11.01.26(07), / 1980

Discover the sod buildings of the Vikings at L'Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site of Canada in Newfoundland. Reproductions have been built some distance away from the original site in order to preserve the integrity of the authentic structures. Archaeological data indicate that this is the oldest known European colony in the New World. Traces of occupation by Aboriginal inhabitants going back 6000 years are also found on this site.

More on archaeology at L'Anse aux Meadows


Howse Pass National Historic Site of Canada in Banff National Park of Canada (Alta) Howse Pass National Historic Site of Canada in Banff National Park of Canada (Alta)
© Parks Canada / Langemann, G / 9002R-7E / 2005

For 10 000 years, the valleys, passes and high alpine areas of Alberta’s Banff National Park of Canada have been occupied by people. These people had a profound knowledge of the resources of the land and hunted and lived there, leaving many sites and objects behind. Over 700 archaeological sites (both pre-contact and historic) have been recorded. These sites contain artifacts, evidence of the presence of Aboriginal campsites, butchering sites, quarries, mining towns and historical dumps.

More on archaeology in Banff


Maquette of the frigate The Machault at the Battle of the Restigouche National Historic Site of Canada (Que.) Maquette of the frigate The Machault at the Battle of the Restigouche National Historic Site of Canada (Que.)
© Parks Canada / MacKenzie, S. / H.01.11.01.26(07),/ 1980

The Battle of the Restigouche National Historic Site of Canada is located at the far end of Chaleur Bay, Quebec. It is the site of the last naval battle between France and England over possession of the North American continent. Vestiges of the frigate The Machault are on display at the site’s interpretation centre. At this National Historic Site, you will discover a splendid collection of archaeological objects retrieved from the wreck and will relive one of the little-known events of the Seven Years' War in North America.

More on archaeology at Restigouche


Milk Can from the Gold Rush at Sheep Camp at Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site of Canada (B.C.) Milk can from the Gold Rush at Sheep Camp at Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site of Canada (B.C.)
© Parks Canada / Lynch, W. / H.10.99.06.01(60) / 1995

The trade route at Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site of Canada in British Columbia and the Yukon was used by coastal Tlingit as a route to the interior. After the arrival of European and North American traders at the end of the 19th century, this trail began to be used extensively. The Chilkoot Trail became a legend during the Klondike Gold Rush of 1896–1899. Though there were other routes available, the Chilkoot Trail was shorter and also the cheapest. It became known as the poor man’s route to the Klondike because a man could transport all his supplies without assistance. Tin cans, sleds, boats, bottles, boots, stoves and hundreds of other items litter the trail, bringing to life the story of the Klondike Gold Rush.


Blockhouse at Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site of Canada (Que.) Blockhouse at Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site of Canada (Que.)
© Parks Canada / Cattroll, F. / H.05.60.02.03(05) / 1983

Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site of Canada, approximately 40 kilometres southwest of Montréal, Quebec, is witness to a rich history several thousand years old. At first it was a seasonal portage for Aboriginal peoples and later a bypass for travellers from Great Britain and France. By the late 18th century, the English had constructed a canal with locks, the first work of its kind in North America and direct forerunner of the modern-day St. Lawrence Seaway. The visitor centre at the historic site contains an exhibit highlighting some of the objects discovered during the archaeological excavations of the site.

More on archaeology at Coteau du Lac


Restored fort walls at Fort Beauséjour National Historic Site of Canada (N.B.) Restored fort walls at Fort Beauséjour National Historic Site of Canada (N.B.)
© Parks Canada / Grant, T. / H.04.41.02.06(24) / 1977

At Fort Beauséjour National Historic Site of Canada in New Brunswick, you are taken back to an era when England and France were rivals for the control of Acadia and learn about the origins and fate of the inhabitants of that region. Fort Beauséjour, constructed in the form of a star, was built by the French in the 1750s when the French and English were fighting each another for control of Acadia. You can see the archaeological remains of the fort as well as a visitor's centre with exhibits.


Fort Chambly National Historic Site of Canada (Que.)
Fort Chambly National Historic Site of Canada (Que.)
© Parks Canada / Pratt, B. / H.05.56.06.15(12)/ 1990

Fort Chambly National Historic Site of Canada in Quebec is an imposing stone sentinel that protected New France from British attacks. Dating from the early 18th century, Fort Chambly attests to the history of the French in North America. Objects from archaeological excavations carried out in the 1970s can be found here.


More on archaeology at Fort Chambly


Ruins at Fort St. Joseph National Historic Site of Canada (Ont.)
Ruins at Fort St. Joseph National Historic Site of Canada (Ont.)
© Parks Canada / Vandervlugt, G. / H.06.70.06.19(13) / 2001

Fort St. Joseph National Historic Site of Canada in Ontario symbolizes the commercial and military alliance that existed between the British and the First Nations peoples of the western Great Lakes region after the American Revolutionary War up until the War of 1812. In addition to the fort itself, the site contains a remarkable assembly of archaeological features that, in their unspoiled state, reveal in part the complex pattern of life for military personnel, families and traders — Aboriginal and European — who lived in this remote frontier outpost.

More on archaeology at Fort St. Joseph


North West Mounted police fort at Fort Walsh National Historic Site of Canada (Sask.) North West Mounted police fort at Fort Walsh National Historic Site of Canada (Sask.)

Fort Walsh National Historic Site of Canada in Saskatchewan was the headquarters of the North West Mounted Police from 1878 to 1882. The site commemorates the fort’s key role in imposing Canadian law, implementing Canada’s Indian policy, and overseeing the settlement of Sitting Bull’s Sioux band refugees after the Battle of Little Bighorn. But the site at Fort Walsh also has 7000 years of Aboriginal history. Teepee circles, storage pits for provisions and stone tools scattered around the site or exhibited in the visitor reception centre evoke winter encampments of earlier Aboriginal and Métis communities.


Military remains of fortifications at Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada (Ont.) Military remains of fortifications at Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada (Ont.)
© Parks Canada / Wyett, W. / H.06.60.02.06(12) / 1972

Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada is located in the old town of Prescott, Ontario. It was constructed to defend the border along the St. Lawrence River during the War of 1812 and was occupied by British soldiers and Canadian militiamen until 1923. In 1925, the fort was designated a place of national historic importance by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. Archaeological excavations have been conducted at the fort and in 1990, excavations of the latrines unearthed several thousand objects that had belonged to members of the Royal Canadian Rifle Regiment and their families.


Civilian establishments at The Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada (N.S.)
Civilian establishments at The Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada (N.S.)
© Parks Canada / Barrett & MacKay / H.03.30.01.04(53) / 1995

At the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada, in Nova Scotia, 20 percent of the fortified town could and has been re-created with great authenticity because of the large amount of data collected during the archaeological excavations. Go back to 1744! In the past, the Fortress of Louisbourg was one of the most important ports in North America and one of the military and commercial centres of France in the New World. The themes interpreted there are well worth any detour.


Statue of Evangeline  at Grand-Pré National Historic Site of Canada  (N.S.)
Statue of Evangeline at Grand-Pré National Historic Site of Canada (N.S.)
© Parks Canada / Reardon, C. / H.03.36.04.04(11) / 2003

Grand-Pré National Historic Site of Canada in Nova Scotia commemorates the Grand-Pré area as a centre of Acadian settlement from 1682 to 1755. It also marks the Deportation of the Acadians that began in 1755 and continued until 1762. Archaeologists have discovered ruins of buildings and other objects on this site. Additional information can be found at http://www.grand-pre.com/GrandPreSiteDevelopment/en/TheStory.html


Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site of Canada (B.C.) Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site f Canada (B.C.)
© Parks Canada / Butterill, J. / H.10.106.01.31(11) / 1993

Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site of Canada in British Columbia commemorates the history of Canada’s West Coast fishing industry from the 1870s to the present time. The collection of archaeological objects is composed of approximately 10 000 items, including canning machinery.

More on archaeology at the Gulf of Georgia Cannery


Model of Fort built by the Gitwangak Fort National Historic Site of Canada (B.C.) Model of Fort built by the Gitwangak Fort National Historic Site of Canada (B.C.)
© Parks Canada / H.10.101.06.12(02) / 1982

The Gitwangak Battle Hill Fort National Historic Site of Canada in British Columbia is the first major Aboriginal site in the West to be commemorated by Parks Canada. It is located near a trade route that Aboriginal peoples used between the Nass and Skeena rivers. The Gitwangak Battle Hill is a vibrant expression of the culture and history of the Tsimshian people. The site is formed of a defensive knoll, or Ta'awdzep, on top of which are archaeological remains of fortified residences that were occupied during the historical period. Descriptive panels along the self-guided path tell the history of the site and provide information about the culture of the Tsimshian people.


Southwest Bastion at Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site of Canada (Man.) Southwest Bastion at Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site of Canada (Man.)
© Parks Canada / Kopelow, G. / H.07.70.02.12(13) / 2003

Treaty #1 between the British Crown and the Ojibway and Swampy Cree of Manitoba was signed at Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site of Canada. Lower Fort Garry was also an important agricultural and industrial supply centre for the fur trade in Western Canada. Visit the buildings and grounds of the fort and go back in time. Years of historical and archaeological research allowed the restoration of the Governor's residence, guest lodge, blacksmith's shop, bakery and all the other buildings of the fort. Today, the fort looks and functions as it did in the 1850s.


Coastline where the Dorset Paleoeskimos lived at Port au Choix National Historic Site of Canada (N.L.) Coastline where the Dorset Paleoeskimos lived at Port au Choix National Historic Site of Canada (N.L.)

Port au Choix National Historic Site of Canada, on the west side of Newfoundland's Great Northern Peninsula, has been the subject of many archaeological excavations. Researchers at the Port au Choix have found remains of four ancient cultures (Maritime Archaic Indian, Dorset and Groswater Paleoeskimo, and recent Indians) and have shown that human activity at this site dates back thousands of years.

More on archaeology at Port aux Choix


Earthworks of former British and French forts at Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst National Historic Site of Canada (P.E.I.) Earthworks of former British and French forts at Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst National Historic Site of Canada (P.E.I.)
© Parks Canada / Cattroll, F. / H.02.20.01.10(12) / 1983

Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst National Historic Site of Canada commemorates the first permanent European colony in Prince Edward Island. You can still see the grassy remains of the fort, and the exhibits on site explain its special history.


Centuries-old whale skeleton on Saddle Island at Red Bay National Historic Site of Canada Centuries Old Whale Skeleton on Saddle Islandat Red Bay National Historic Site of Canada
© Parks Canada / McQuarrie, J. / H.01.15.10.10(05) / 2003

If you go to Red Bay National Historic Site of Canada in Labrador, you will discover how more than 25 years of archaeological research has revealed some 20 whaling stations around the harbour of Red Bay that were established by 16th-century fishermen from the Basque country. Marine archaeological excavations resulted in the discovery of three galleons and several small Basque crafts that are remarkably well-preserved examples of 16th-century shipbuilding techniques.

More on archaeology at Red Bay


Reconstructed chimneys at Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site of Canada (Alta) Reconstructed chimneys at Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site of Canada (Alta)
© Parks Canada / Dahlin, K. / H.09.90.06.03(11) / 2002

At Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site of Canada, Alberta, the visitor reception centre has an educational exhibit area devoted to the fur trade, the exploration of the West and the Aboriginal peoples. From the time the first two fur-trading posts were opened in 1799 until the last post was abandoned in 1875, hundreds of people passed through the different Rocky Mountain  House trading posts. You can walk the short distance to the place where the forts were built during the periods 1835–1861 and 1864–1875; the reconstructed chimneys are in the last fort. A longer walk leads to the place where the first two forts of Rocky Mountain House were built in 1799.


Thule Dwelling at Tuktut Nogait National Park of Canada (N.W.T.)
Thule Dwelling at Tuktut Nogait National Park of Canada (N.W.T.)
© Parks Canada / Savauge S. / 2003

Tuktut Nogait National Park of Canada in the Northwest Territories contains archaeological sites showing evidence of human occupation since AD 1000. The oldest known archaeological sites in the park are most likely Thule or Copper Inuit from the period AD 1200 to 1500. More recent sites are Inuvialuit and possibly early trappers and traders.

More on archaeology at Tuktut Nogait


Hudson's Bay Company fur trading post at York Factory National Historic Site of Canada (Man.) Hudson's Bay Company fur- trading post at York Factory National Historic Site of Canada (Man.)
© Parks Canada / Mercier, F. / H.07.73.09.01(02) / 1990

Strategically located on the Hayes River near Hudson Bay, Manitoba, York Factory National Historic Site of Canada wasan important fur-trading post and warehouse in the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries. Although today the site consists only of two buildings, a cemetery and some other visible ruins, the extreme isolation of the site reinforces the value of the historical interrelationships between individual elements on the site.

More on archaeology at York Factory

Archéologie

Découvrir les aires patrimoniales


Où peut-on voir des ressources archéologiques? Quels sites vous permettront d'en aprendre davantage sur ces ressources? Voici quelques exemples des nombreuses aires patrimoniales de Parcs Canada où vous pouvez vous renseigner davantage sur les ressources archéologiques au Canada, et ce, en allant sur place ou en consultant le site Web!


Replica of wooden fence from Viking settlement at L'Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site of Canada (N.L.) Replica of wooden fence from Viking settlement at L'Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site of Canada (N.L.)
© Parks Canada / MacKenzie, S. / H.01.11.01.26(07), / 1980

Découvrez les huttes de terre des Vikings au lieu historique national du Canada de L'Anse aux Meadows, à Terre-Neuve. Afin de préserver l'intégrité des vestiges, des reconstitutions de ces bâtiments ont été installées à une certaine distance du lieu où les sites archéologiques ont été découverts et fouillés. Il s'agit, selon des données archéologiques, de la plus ancienne colonie européenne du Nouveau-Monde. On y retrouve également les traces d'occupation des habitants autochtones datant d'il y a 6 000 ans.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'archéologie à L'Anse aux Meadows


Howse Pass National Historic Site of Canada in Banff National Park of Canada (Alta) Howse Pass National Historic Site of Canada in Banff National Park of Canada (Alta)
© Parks Canada / Langemann, G / 9002R-7E / 2005

Les hommes parcourent les vallées, cols et hautes régions alpines du parc national du Canada Banff, en Alberta, depuis 10 000 ans. Parce qu'ils avaient une profonde connaissance des ressources du territoire, ils ont occupé les lieux, vivant de la chasse et ont laissé sur leur passage plusieurs sites et objets. Plus de 700 sites archéologiques (des périodes pré-contact et historique) ont été catalogués et les artefacts qu'on y a trouvés témoignent de la présence de campements autochtones, de lieux d'abattage d'animaux, de carrières, de villes minières et d'anciens dépotoirs.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'archéologie à Banff


Maquette of the frigate The Machault at the Battle of the Restigouche National Historic Site of Canada (Que.) Maquette of the frigate The Machault at the Battle of the Restigouche National Historic Site of Canada (Que.)
© Parks Canada / MacKenzie, S. / H.01.11.01.26(07),/ 1980

Le lieu historique national du Canada de la Bataille-de-la-Ristigouche est situé au fond de la baie des Chaleurs, au Québec. On y commémore la dernière bataille navale entre la France et l'Angleterre pour la possession du territoire nord-américain. Un centre d'interprétation met en valeur les vestiges de la frégate Le Machault. Dans ce lieu, vous découvrirez une superbe collection d'objets retirés de l'épave. Vous y vivrez l'un des événements méconnus de la guerre de la Conquête.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'archéologie de la Ristigouche

More on archaeology at Restigouche


Milk Can from the Gold Rush at Sheep Camp at Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site of Canada (B.C.) Milk can from the Gold Rush at Sheep Camp at Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site of Canada (B.C.)
© Parks Canada / Lynch, W. / H.10.99.06.01(60) / 1995

La piste que l'on trouve au lieu historique national du Canada de la Piste-Chilkoot, en Colombie-Britannique et au Yukon, servait de route de commerce vers l'intérieur aux Tlingit du littoral. Avec l'arrivée des négociants européens et nord-américains à la fin du 19e siècle, la piste a commencé à faire l'objet d'une plus intense utilisation. C'est toutefois la ruée vers l'or du Klondike, de 1896 à 1899, qui a fait entrer la piste Chilkoot dans la légende. Bien que d'autres routes s'offraient aux chercheurs d'or, la piste Chilkoot était la plus courte et la moins chère. On l'apelait la route du pauvre, car un homme pouvait y transporter son matériel sans aide. Voilà pourquoi la piste est jonchée de boîtes de conserve, de traîneaux, d'embarcations, de bouteilles, de bottes, de réchauds et de centaines d'autres articles, qui témoignent de la vie à l'époque de la ruée vers l'or du Klondike.


Blockhouse at Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site of Canada (Que.) Blockhouse at Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site of Canada (Que.)
© Parks Canada / Cattroll, F. / H.05.60.02.03(05) / 1983

Le lieu historique national du Canada de Coteau-du-Lac, au Québec, à près de 40 kilomètres au sud-ouest de Montréal, témoigne d'une histoire riche de plusieurs millénaires. Lieu de portage saisonnier fréquenté d'abord par les nomades autochtones, le « rigolet » de Coteau-du-Lac devint une véritable voie de déviation pour les autres voyageurs, français et britanniques. Dès la fin du 18e siècle, les Anglais construisirent sur les lieux un canal à écluses, premier ouvrage du genre en Amérique du Nord et ancêtre direct de la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent. Le centre d'accueil du lieu historique présente une exposition comportant quelques artefacts retrouvés lors des fouilles.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'archéologie à Coteau du Lac


Restored fort walls at Fort Beauséjour National Historic Site of Canada (N.B.)Murs du fort restaurés, au lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Beauséjour (N.-B.)
© Parcs Canada / Grant, T. / H.04.41.02.06(24) / 1977

Au lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Beauséjour, au Nouveau-Brunswick, vous pouvez remonter à une époque où l'Angleterre et la France se disputaient le contrôle de l'Acadie et découvrir les origines et le sort des habitants de cette région. Le fort Beauséjour, construit en forme d'étoile, a été érigé par les Français dans les années 1750. À l'époque les Français et les Britanniques se disputaient l'Acadie. Vous y verrez les vestiges archéologiques du fort et un centre d'accueil des visiteurs abritant des expositions.


Fort Chambly National Historic Site of Canada (Que.)Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Chambly (Qué.)
© Parcs Canada / Pratt, B. / H.05.56.06.15(12) / 1990

Au lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Chambly, au Québec, se trouve une imposante sentinelle en pierre qui servait à protéger la Nouvelle-France des attaques britanniques. Datant du début du 18e siècle, le fort Chambly témoigne de la présence française en Amérique du Nord et renferme aujourd'hui des objets mis au jour lors de fouilles archéologiques effectuées durant les années 1970.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'archéologie au fort Chambly


More on archaeology at Fort Chambly


Ruins at Fort St. Joseph National Historic Site of Canada (Ont.)Ruines, au lieu historique national du Canada du Fort St. Joseph (Ont.)
©Parcs Canada / Vandervlugt, G. / H.06.70.06.19(13) / 2001

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Fort St. Joseph, en Ontario, est un symbole qui rapelle l'alliance commerciale et militaire qui existait entre les Britanniques et les Premières Nations de la région des Grands Lacs de l'ouest, de la fin de la guerre de l'Indépendance jusqu'à la guerre de 1812. En plus du fort lui-même, le lieu historique comprend un ensemble remarquable de vestiges archéologiques qui, dans leur état non exploité, racontent en partie la vie complexe des militaires, des familles et des commerçants – autochtones et européens – qui ont habité ce poste frontalier éloigné.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'archéologie au fort St. Joseph


North West Mounted police fort at Fort Walsh National Historic Site of Canada (Sask.) Fort de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, au lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Walsh (Sask.)
© Parcs Canada / McArthur, D. / H.08.83.02.06(41)/ 1991

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Walsh, en Saskatchewan, était le quartier général de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest entre 1878 et 1882. Le lieu commémore le rôle important du fort dans l'aplication de la loi au Canada, dans la mise en œuvre de la politique sur les Indiens du Canada et dans la surveillance des Sioux de Sitting Bull réfugiés au Canada après la bataille de Little Big Horn. Le fort Walsh recèle également sept mille ans d'histoire autochtone. Des cercles de tipis, des fosses à provisions et des outils de pierre dispersés çà et là sur le site ou exposés au centre d'accueil évoquent les campements d'hiver d'anciennes communautés autochtones et métisses.


Military remains of fortifications at Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada (Ont.) Vestiges militaires de fortifications, au lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Wellington (Ont.)
©Parcs Canada / Wyett, W. / H.06.60.02.06(12) / 1972

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Wellington se trouve dans l'ancien village de Prescott, en Ontario. Construit pendant la guerre de 1812 pour défendre la frontière le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent, le fort a été occupé par des soldats britanniques et des miliciens canadiens jusqu'en 1923. En 1925, il a été désigné comme endroit d'importance historique nationale par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. Le fort a fait l'objet de fouilles archéologiques. Ainsi, en 1990, des fouilles archéologiques effectuées à l'emplacement des latrines ont permis la mise au jour de plusieurs milliers d'artefacts apartenant aux membres du Royal Canadian Rifle Regiment et à leurs familles.


Civilian establishments at The Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada (N.S.) Établissements civils, au lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg (N.-É.)
© Parcs Canada / Barrett & MacKay / H.03.30.01.04(53) / 1995

Au lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg, en Nouvelle-Écosse, on a recréé le plus fidèlement possible près de 20 % de la ville fortifiée à partir des nombreux renseignements recueillis lors des fouilles archéologiques. Remontez dans le temps jusqu'en 1744! Autrefois, la forteresse de Louisbourg était un des ports les plus importants de l'Amérique du Nord et un des centres commerciaux et militaires de la France dans le Nouveau-Monde. Les thèmes qui y sont interprétés valent le déplacement.


Statue of Evangeline  at Grand-Pré National Historic Site of Canada  (N.S.) Statue d'Évangéline, au lieu historique national du Canada de Grand-Pré (N.-É.)
©Parcs Canada / Reardon, C. / H.03.36.04.04(11)/ 2003

Le lieu historique national du Canada de Grand-Pré, en Nouvelle-Écosse, commémore la région de Grand-Pré en tant que lieu et établissement des Acadiens de 1682 à 1755 et témoigne de la Déportation des Acadiens, qui a débuté en 1755 et s'est poursuivie jusqu'en 1762. Des archéologues ont trouvé dans ce site des ruines de bâtiments et d'autres objets.

On trouve aussi d'autres renseignements sur ce lieu dans un site Web extérieur à celui de Parcs Canada, à l'adresse suivante : http://www.grand-pre.com/archeologie_frameset_4.htm


Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site of Canada (B.C.) Lieu historique national du Canada Gulf of GeorgiaCannery (C.-B.)
©Parcs Canada / Butterill, J. / H.10.106.01.31(11) / 1993

Le lieu historique national du Canada Gulf of Georgia Cannery, en Colombie-Britannique, commémore l'histoire de l'industrie de la pêche sur la côte Ouest, de 1870 à nos jours. La conserverie possède une collection d'environ 10 000 pièces, incluant de l'équipement de mise en conserve.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'archéologie à la conserverie Gulf of Georgia Cannery


Model of Fort built by the Gitwangak Fort National Historic Site of Canada (B.C.) Maquette du fort construit par les Gitwangaks, au lieu historique national du Canada de la colline-Battle Hill-des-Gitwangaks (C.-B.)
© Parcs Canada / H.10.101.06.12(02) / 1982

Le lieu historique national du Canada de la colline-Battle Hill-des-Gitwangaks, en Colombie-Britannique, est le premier grand site autochtone de l'Ouest canadien commémoré par Parcs Canada. Il se trouve à proximité d'une voie de commerce qu'empruntaient les Autochtones entre les rivières Nass et Skeena. La colline Battle Hill des Gitwangaks est l'expression vivante de la culture du peuple Tsimshian et de son histoire. Le lieu est formé d'un tertre de défense, ou « Ta'awdzep », caractéristique naturelle au sommet de laquelle se trouvent des vestiges archéologiques d'habitations fortifiées occupées durant la période historique. Les panneaux descriptifs du sentier autoguidé racontent l'histoire du lieu et renseignent sur la culture du peuple Tsimshian.


Southwest Bastion at Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site of Canada (Man.) Bastion sud-ouest, au lieu historique national du Canada de Lower Fort Garry (Man.)
© Parcs Canada / Kopelow, G. / H.07.70.02.12(13) / 2003

C'est au lieu historique national de Lower Fort Garry que fut signé le traité no 1 entre les Ojibwa et les Moskégons du Manitoba, d'une part, et la Couronne, d'autre part. Lower Fort Garry fut également un important centre d'aprovisionnement agricole et industriel de l'industrie de la traite des fourrures dans l'Ouest du Canada. Visitez les bâtiments et les terrains du fort et remontez dans le temps. De la résidence du gouverneur au cottage des invités, de la forge à la boulangerie, tous les bâtiments ont été restaurés au terme d'années de recherche historique et archéologique. Ainsi, l'aparence et le fonctionnement du fort sont identiques à ce qu'ils étaient au cours des années 1850.


Coastline where the Dorset Paleoeskimos lived at Port au Choix National Historic Site of Canada (N.L.) Littoral où se sont établis les Paléo-esquimaux du Dorset, au lieu historique national du Canada de Port au Choix (T.-N.-L.)
© Parcs Canada / Cornellier, A. / H.01.12.11.07(19) / 1988

Le lieu historique national du Canada de Port au Choix, situé du côté ouest de la péninsule Great Northern, à Terre-Neuve, a fait l'objet de nombreuses fouilles archéologiques. Les chercheurs y ont mis au jour des vestiges de quatre cultures anciennes : la culture indienne de l'Archaïque maritime et les cultures des Paléo-esquimaux du Dorset et de Groswater, et la culture indienne récente. L'activité humaine à cet endroit remonte à des milliers d'années.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'archéologie à Port au Choix


Earthworks of former British and French forts at Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst National Historic Site of Canada (P.E.I.) Remblais d'anciens forts britannique et français, au lieu historique national du Canada de Port-la-Joye–Fort-Amherst (Î.-P.-É.)
©Parcs Canada / Cattroll, F. / H.02.20.01.10(12) / 1983

Le lieu historique national du Canada de Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst commémore la première colonie européenne permanente de l'île-du-Prince-Édouard. On peut encore voir les vestiges herbeux du fort et les expositions sur place relatent l'histoire particulière du lieu.


Centuries-old whale skeleton on Saddle Island at Red Bay National Historic Site of Canada Squelette de baleine sur l'île Saddle datant de plusieurs siècles, au lieu historique national du Canada Red Bay (T.-N.-L.)
©Parcs Canada / McQuarrie, J. / H.01.15.10.10(05) / 2003

Si vous vous rendez au lieu historique national du Canada Red Bay, au Labrador, vous découvrirez comment plus de 25 années de recherches archéologiques ont permis de mettre au jour une vingtaine de stations de dépeçage de la baleine érigées, au 16e siècle, par les pêcheurs du pays basque autour du havre de Red Bay. Les fouilles subaquatiques ont mené à la découverte de trois galions et de plusieurs embarcations basques, exemples remarquablement bien conservés des techniques de construction navale employées au 16e siècle.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'archéologie à Red Bay


Reconstructed chimneys at Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site of Canada (Alta) Cheminées reconstruites, au lieu historique national du Canada Rocky Mountain House (Alb.)
©Parcs Canada / Dahlin, K. / H.09.90.06.03(11) / 2002

Au lieu historique national du Canada Rocky Mountain House, en Alberta, le centre d'accueil compte une aire d'exposition éducative sur le commerce de la fourrure, l'exploration de l'Ouest et les peuples autochtones. De l'ouverture des deux premiers postes, en 1799, jusqu'à l'abandon du dernier en 1875, les différents postes de traite des fourrures de Rocky Mountain ont vu défiler des centaines d'hommes. Faites la courte marche qui mène à l'emplacement des forts construits entre 1835-1861 et entre 1864-1875. Vous trouverez, au dernier fort, les célèbres cheminées reconstituées. Une plus longue marche mène à l'emplacement où, en 1799, les deux premiers forts de Rocky Mountain House ont été érigés.


Thule Dwelling at Tuktut Nogait National Park of Canada (N.W.T.) Une structure d'habitation thuléenne, au parc national du Canada Tuktut Nogait (T.-N.-O.)
© Parcs Canada / Savauge S. / 2003

Le parc national du Canada Tuktut Nogait, dans les Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest, renferme des sites archéologiques qui démontrent que les humains occupent Tuktut Nogait depuis l'an 1000 après J.-C. Les plus anciens sites archéologiques connus remontent probablement à l'époque des Thuléens ou des Inuits du cuivre, pendant la période de 1200 à 1500 après J.-C., alors que les plus récents sont ceux des Inuvialuit et peut-être des premiers trapeurs et commerçants.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'archéologie à Tuktut Nogait


Hudson's Bay Company fur trading post at York Factory National Historic Site of Canada (Man.) Poste de traite des fourrures de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson, au lieu historique national du Canada York Factory (Man.)
©Parcs Canada / Mercier, F. / H.07.73.09.01(02) / 1990

Le lieu historique national du Canada York Factory, grâce à son emplacement stratégique au bord de la rivière Hayes près de la baie d'Hudson, au Manitoba, a été un poste de traite et entrepôt important, du 17e au 19e siècle. Bien qu'il ne subsiste aujourd'hui que deux bâtiments, un cimetière et d'autres ruines visibles, l'isolement extrême du complexe renforce la valeur des interrelations historiques entre les éléments du lieu.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'archéologie à York Factory