Common menu bar links

Archaeology

Archaeology at Parks Canada

“Archaeological heritage is an essential element in the affirmation of our Canadian identity and a source of inspiration and knowledge. It is the policy of the Government of Canada to protect and manage this heritage.”

Archaeological Heritage Policy Framework, Department of Canadian Heritage, Ottawa, 1990

Parks Canada is a federal agency and the custodian of national parks, many national historic sites and the national marine conservation areas of Canada. It is committed through its mandate and charter to enabling Canadians to have memorable experiences but in a way that ensures the protection of the natural and cultural heritage (which includes archaeological heritage) of these special places. Our work is based on integrating protection, education and unforgettable experiences.

If you're interested in learning about archaeology in general, consult What is Archaeology? and Archaeo-Passion. For information about archaeology in Canada and Parks Canada, visit Managing Archaeology. For those familiar with archaeology and interested in obtaining information about policies, tools and research centres or in learning more about Parks Canada Permits, visit Resources for Professionals and Links.

On-line Research and Collection Permit System

On-line Research and Collection Permit System

Archéologie

Archéologie à Parcs Canada

« Le patrimoine archéologique est l'une des composantes essentielles de l'affirmation de notre identité et une source d'inspiration et de savoir. Il est impératif pour le Gouvernement du Canada d'en assurer la sauvegarde et la gestion. »

Cadre de la politique sur le patrimoine archéologique, ministère du Patrimoine canadien, Ottawa 1990.

Parcs Canada, comme agence fédérale et gardien des parcs nationaux, des aires marines nationales de conservation et de bon nombre de lieux historiques nationaux du Canada, s'engage, de par son mandat et sa charte, à favoriser le vécu d'expériences mémorables d'une manière qui assure la protection du patrimoine naturel et culturel (ce dernier inclut le patrimoine archéologique) de ces lieux particuliers. L'intégration des éléments de protection, d'éducation et de prestation d'expériences mémorables constitue la base de notre action.

Si vous êtes intéressé à augmenter vos connaissances sur l'archéologie en général, veuillez consulter les sections Qu'est-ce que l'archéologie? et Archéo-passion. Pour de plus amples informations sur l'archéologie au Canada et à Parcs Canada, veuillez visiter la section Gérer l'archéologie. Les personnes ayant des connaissances en archéologie et désirant accéder à de l'information sur les politiques, outils et centres de recherche ou pour en aprendre davantage sur les permis de Parcs Canada veuillez visiter Ressources professionnelles ainsi que Liens.

Système de demande de permis de recherche et de collecte

Système de demande de permis de recherche et de collecte