Feasibility Assessment for the Proposed Lancaster Sound National Marine Conservation Area

What's New

Government of Canada announces boundary proposal for Lancaster Sound National Marine Conservation Area

Critical step forward in protecting the “Serengeti of the Arctic”

Polar Bears
Polar Bears
© Parks Canada

Ottawa, Ontario, December 6, 2010 – The Honourable John Baird, Canada’s Environment Minister, the Honourable John Duncan, Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, the Honourable Christian Paradis, Minister of Natural Resources, and the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of Health, today announced the Government of Canada’s position on a potential future boundary for a national marine conservation area (NMCA) in Lancaster Sound. This represents an important step in Canada’s commitment to protect the marine waters and wildlife of Lancaster Sound, a globally-significant ecological treasure that has been referred to as the “Serengeti of the Arctic”.

“Today’s announcement represents an important step forward in delivering on Canada’s commitment to work with the Government of Nunavut and the Qikiqtani Inuit Association towards protecting this incredibly important ecological area,” said Minister Baird. “By communicating a coherent, federal position on a potential conservation area boundary, we are setting the stage for respectful, transparent consultations with our key partners and the public so that all perspectives are fully considered before decisions on a final boundary and other considerations are contemplated.”

Because of its combination of oceanographic and biological characteristics, Lancaster Sound is an area of very high ecological significance. Lancaster Sound is located between Baffin and Ellesmere Islands, in Nunavut. It is an area of critical ecological importance to marine mammals, including seals, narwhal, beluga and bowhead whales, as well as walrus and polar bears, and it is bordered by some of the most important seabird breeding colonies in the Arctic, with populations in the hundreds of thousands. Read the news release

Map - Boundary proposal for Lancaster Sound National Marine Conservation Area

Map - boundary proposal for Lancaster Sound. Map - boundary proposal for Lancaster Sound National Marine Conservation Area
© Parks Canada

Étude de faisabilité du projet d'aire marine nationale de conservation du Détroit de Lancaster

Quoi de neuf

Le gouvernement du Canada propose l’aire géographique visée pour une aire marine nationale de conservation dans le détroit de Lancaster

Un important pas en avant pour protéger le « Serengeti de l’Arctique »

Ours polaire
Ours polaire
© Parcs Canada

Ottawa (Ontario), le 6 décembre 2010 – L’honorable John Baird, ministre canadien de l’Environnement, l’honorable John Duncan, ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, l’honorable Christian Paradis, ministre de Ressources naturelles Canada, et l’honorable Leona Aglukkak, ministre de la Santé, ont annoncé aujourd’hui la position du gouvernement du Canada concernant une limite géographique possible pour une aire marine nationale de conservation dans le détroit de Lancaster. Cette annonce représente un pas important dans l’engagement du Canada de protéger les eaux marines et la faune du détroit de Lancaster, un trésor écologique d’importance mondiale que l’on appelle parfois le « Serengeti de l’Arctique ».

« L’annonce faite aujourd’hui est une étape importante dans l’engagement du Canada de collaborer avec le gouvernement du Nunavut et la Qikiqtani Inuit Association afin de protéger cette aire écologique fort importante, a déclaré le ministre Baird. En proposant une position fédérale cohérente sur une limite géographique possible, nous ouvrons la voie à des consultations transparentes et respectueuses avec nos principaux partenaires et le grand public afin de faire en sorte que tous les points de vue soient pleinement pris en compte avant de prendre des décisions sur une limite définitive et d’autres enjeux. »

En raison de ses caractéristiques biologiques et océanographiques, le détroit de Lancaster est une aire écologique extrêmement importante. Il est situé entre les îles de Baffin et Ellesmere, au Nunavut. Cette région est écologiquement indispensable pour plusieurs mammifères marins, y compris les phoques, le narval, le béluga, la baleine boréale, ainsi que pour le morse et l’ours polaire. De plus, le détroit abrite certaines des plus grandes colonies de nidification d’oiseaux de mer en Arctique, regroupant des centaines de milliers d’oiseaux. Lire le communiqué de presse

Carte de l’aire géographique visée pour une aire marine nationale de conservation dans le détroit de Lancaster

Carte de l’aire géographique visée pour une aire marine nationale de conservation dans le détroit de Lancaster. Carte de l’aire géographique visée pour une aire marine nationale de conservation dans le détroit de Lancaster 
© Parcs Canada