Common menu bar links

Feasibility Assessment for the Proposed Lancaster Sound National Marine Conservation Area

Introduction

Lancaster Sound Feasibility Assessment

The feasibility assessment for the proposed Lancaster Sound National Marine Conservation Area will take between two and three years. Over the course of the study, the public will have several opportunities to provide their points of view on the subject.

At the conclusion of the study, the Governments of Canada and Nunavut and Inuit organisations will consider the recommendations on whether a national marine conservation area (NMCA) is practical and desirable. They will then decide on whether to proceed to the next step – negotiation of any necessary agreements needed for the establishment of the NMCA, including an Inuit Impact and Benefits Agreement. The feasibility assessment is a important step in the establishment process.

Background

There are 29 marine regions in the Parks Canada’s National Marine Conservation Areas system plan. Parks Canada's goal is to represent each of these distinct marine regions with a national marine conservation area. Nine of the marine regions are found in the Arctic, including the Lancaster Sound region.

In December 2009, the Government of Canada, the Government of Nunavut and the Qikiqtani Inuit Association signed a memorandum of understanding that committed them to assess the feasibility of a national marine conservation area in the Lancaster Sound area. The study area is representative of the Lancaster Sound Region. More information on this announcement

Belugas
Belugas
©Parks Canada / W. Lynch

Map illustrating the nine marine regions in Canada’s Arctic Ocean
Map illustrating the nine marine regions in Canada’s Arctic Ocean.
©Parks Canada / Wayne Roach

Characteristics of the Lancaster Sound Marine Region

The Lancaster Sound NMCA proposal is considered important not only in the context of the marine region but for the Arctic in general. This area is one of the richest marine mammal areas in the world: during the summer months most of the world's narwhal, a third of North America's belugas, large numbers of the Eastern Arctic's bowhead whales, as well as ringed seals, harp seals and walrus are found in these waters. Lancaster Sound also harbours one of the highest densities of polar bears in the Canadian Arctic and about one-third of Eastern Canada's colonial seabirds breed and feed here, including several hundred thousand pairs of thick-billed murres, black-legged kittiwakes and northern fulmars. It is also visually stunning, dramatic cliffs and spectacular fjords providing the backdrop for Lancaster Sound.

More detailed information Lancaster Sound Marine Region on the is found in the National Marine Conservation Areas System Plan.

Étude de faisabilité du projet d'aire marine nationale de conservation du Détroit de Lancaster

Introduction

Étude de faisabilité du projet du Détroit de Lancaster

L'étude de faisabilité du Détroit de Lancaster s’échelonnera sur deux à trois ans. D’ici l’achèvement du projet, le public aura diverses occasions de donner son point de vue.

À la fin de l'étude, les gouvernements du Canada et du Nunavut et les organisations inuites examineront les recommandations pour déterminer s'il est souhaitable et réalisable d'établir une aire marine nationale de conservation (AMNC). Ils décideront alors de passer ou non à l'étape suivante, à savoir la négociation des ententes nécessaires à l'établissement de l’AMNC, y compris une entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuits. L'étude de faisabilité est une étape importante du processus d’établissement.

Contexte

Il y a 29 régions marines dans le lien vers Plan de réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation de Parcs Canada. Parcs Canada vise à créer une aire marine nationale de conservation pour représenter chacune de ces régions. Neuf des régions marines se trouvent dans l’Arctique, dont celle du Détroit de Lancaster.

En décembre 2009, les gouvernements du Canada et du Nunavut et la Qikiqtani Inuit Association ont signé un protocole d'entente en vertu duquel ils s'engageaient à évaluer la faisabilité d'une aire marine nationale de conservation dans le détroit de Lancaster. L'aire d'étude est représentative de la région marine du Détroit de Lancaster. Voir les détails de cette annonce.

Bélugas
Bélugas
©Parcs Canada / W. Lynch

Carte illustrant les neuf régions marines de l'océan Arctique canadien.
Carte illustrant les neuf régions marines de l'océan Arctique canadien.
©Parcs Canada / Wayne Roach

Caractéristiques de la région marine du détroit de Lancaster

Le projet d’AMNC du Détroit de Lancaster a été jugé d'une grande importance pour la région marine du détroit de Lancaster en particulier mais aussi pour l'Arctique en général. Il s’agit de l’une des régions les plus riches en mammifères marins sur la planète : se trouvent dans ses eaux au cours des mois d’été la majorité des narvals du monde, le tiers des bélugas d’Amérique du Nord, un grand nombre des baleines boréales de l’est de l’Arctique, sans compter des phoques annelés, des phoques du Groenland et des morses. Le détroit de Lancaster abrite également l’une des plus grandes colonies d’ours polaires de l’Arctique canadien. C’est également le lieu où se reproduisent et s’alimentent environ le tiers des oiseaux de mer coloniaux de l’est du Canada, notamment plusieurs centaines de milliers de pairs de guillemots de Brünnich, de mouettes tridactyles et de fulmars boréaux. Cette région est également magnifique visuellement, le détroit de Lancaster étant bordé de falaises et de fjords spectaculaires.

On trouvera plus de renseignements sur la région marine du détroit de Lancaster dans le plan du réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation.