Feasibility Study for the Proposed Southern Strait of Georgia National Marine Conservation Area Reserve

Introduction

Southern Strait of Georgia Feasibility Study

In October 2003, Canada and the Province of British Columbia signed a Memorandum of Understanding that committed the two governments to assess the feasibility of a national marine conservation area reserve in the southern Strait of Georgia area. The study area is representative of the Strait of Georgia Marine Region.

Rockfish Rockfish
© Parks Canada / Tomas Tomascik

The feasibility assessment was launched in 2004 and has included dialogue with First Nations, and consultations with key stakeholders, communities and the public. As part of the consultation process, Parks Canada hosted 35 public consultations, and over 300 meetings and presentations have taken place. Technical studies analyzing ecological, cultural and socio-economic information have also been an important part of the feasibility assessment.

On October 13, 2011, the Governments of Canada and British Columbia announced a proposed boundary for a national marine conservation area reserve in the Southern Strait of Georgia. The two governments will now begin in-depth consultations with First Nations and local governments and a final boundary will be determined only after consultations are complete and the feasibility assessment is concluded.

Following First Nations and local government consultations, the Governments of Canada and British Columbia will decide if a national marine conservation area reserve is practical and desirable. If so, an establishment agreement between the Governments of Canada and British Columbia will be negotiated and an interim management plan will be developed. During interim management planning, First Nations, stakeholders, communities and the public will have opportunities to provide more feedback.

Étude de faisabilité du projet de réserve d'aire marine nationale de conservation du Détroit-de-Georgia-Sud

Introduction

Étude de faisabilité du projet du Détroit-de-Georgia-Sud

En octobre 2003, le Canada et la province de la Colombie-Britannique ont signé un protocole d'entente en vertu duquel les deux gouvernements s'engageaient à évaluer la faisabilité d'une réserve d'aire marine nationale de conservation dans le détroit de Georgia Sud. L'aire d'étude est représentative de la région marine du Détroit de Georgia.

Sébaste Sébaste
© Parcs Canada / Tomas Tomascik

Dans le cadre de cette étude de faisabilité, qui a débuté en 2004, il y a eu notamment des dialogues avec les Premières nations et des consultations auprès des intervenants clés, des collectivités et du grand public. Ainsi, Parcs Canada a organisé 35 séances de consultation publique et plus de 300 rencontres et exposés. Des études techniques portant sur les ressources écologiques, culturelles et socio-économiques constituent également un volet important de l’étude de faisabilité.

Le 13 octobre 2011, les gouvernements du Canada et de la Colombie-Britannique ont fait connaître la limite proposée du projet de réserve d’aire marine nationale de conservation du Détroit-de-Georgia-Sud. Les deux gouvernements amorceront maintenant une série de consultations approfondies auprès des Premières nations et des administrations locales; la limite définitive ne sera établie que lorsque les consultations auront pris fin et que l’étude de faisabilité sera terminée.

À l’issue des consultations menées auprès des Premières nations et des administrations locales, les gouvernements du Canada et de la Colombie-Britannique décideront s’il est pratique et souhaitable de créer une réserve d’aire marine nationale de conservation. Si c’est le cas, les deux gouvernements négocieront une entente concernant sa création, et un plan directeur provisoire sera élaboré. Dans le cadre du processus d’élaboration de ce plan directeur provisoire, les Premières nations, les intervenants, les collectivités et le grand public auront d’autres occasions de formuler leurs commentaires.