Common menu bar links

Feasibility Study for the Proposed Southern Strait of Georgia National Marine Conservation Area Reserve

Background on National Marine Conservation Areas

Kelp Kelp forests provide important habitat for fish
© Parks Canada

The conservation of marine environments is taking on global significance. In response to this, the Government of Canada began a National Marine Conservation Areas ( NMCA ) program within the Parks Canada Agency, with the approval in 1986 of a National Marine Conservation Areas policy. The Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act, passed in 2002, sets out a framework for the establishment and management of a system of national marine conservation areas.

The National Marine Conservation Areas system plan divides Canada's Pacific, Arctic and Atlantic Oceans and Great Lakes into 29 marine regions. Parks Canada's goal is to represent each of these distinct marine regions with a national marine conservation area. Five of the marine regions are found in British Columbia; including the Strait of Georgia Marine region.

Map shows the Pacific Coast Marine Regions, with the Strait of Georgia Marine Region in dark green Map shows the Pacific Coast Marine Regions, with the Strait of Georgia Marine Region in dark green
© Parks Canada / Wayne Roach

Several marine areas across Canada are being studied as potential additions to the national marine conservation areas system. The intent of this system is to conserve and present representative samples of Canada's rich and diverse marine heritage.

Characteristics of the Strait of Georgia Marine Region

The Strait of Georgia marine region is the smallest of five marine regions found on Canada's Pacific coast, yet it is also one of the most productive. It includes a wide diversity of seascapes ranging from the fjords of Desolation Sound to the broad mudflats of Boundary Bay, and from the cloudy sediment plumes flowing from the Fraser River to the clear waters among the southern Gulf Islands.

It is also the region most intensively used by British Columbians and the many visitors that enjoy these waters each year. The rich sub-tidal communities provide some of the best scuba diving in North America. In addition, pleasure cruising is world class, whether it be in a yacht or a kayak.

More detailed information on the Strait of Georgia Marine Region, is found in the National Marine Conservation Areas System Plan.

For more information:

Étude de faisabilité du projet de réserve d'aire marine nationale de conservation du Détroit-de-Georgia-Sud

Contexte : Aires marines nationales de conservation

Laminaires Les forêts de laminaires sont des habitats importants pour les poissons
© Parcs Canada

La conservation des milieux marins prend de l'importance à l'échelle mondiale. Face à cela, le gouvernement du Canada a lancé un programme d'aires marines nationales de conservation ( AMNC ) au sein de l'Agence Parcs Canada, avec l'approbation en 1986 de la Politique sur les aires marines nationales de conservation. La Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada, adoptée en 2002, détermine le cadre d'établissement et de gestion d'un réseau d'aires marines nationales de conservation.

Le plan du réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation divise les océans Pacifique, Arctique et Atlantique ainsi que les Grands Lacs du Canada en 29 régions marines. Le but de Parcs Canada est de représenter chacune de ces régions marines distinctes par une aire marine nationale de conservation. Cinq des régions marines se trouvent en Colombie-Britannique, dont celle du détroit de Georgia.

Carte des régions marines de la côte du Pacifique; le vert foncé Carte des régions marines de la côte du Pacifique; le vert foncé
© Parcs Canada / Wayne Roach

Plusieurs aires marines au Canada font l'objet d'une étude en vue de leur ajout éventuel au réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation. L'objectif de ce réseau est de conserver et de mettre en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine marin riche et diversifié du Canada.

Caractéristiques de la région marine du Détroit de Georgia

La région marine du détroit de Georgia est la plus petite des cinq régions marines de la côte ouest du Canada. Néanmoins, elle est aussi une des plus productive. Ces paysages marins sont également diversifiés et vont des fjords de la baie Desolation aux vastes vasières de la baie Boundary, et des sédiments en suspension dans l'eau du fleuve Fraser aux eaux claires entourant les îles Gulf Sud.

Cette région est aussi la plus fréquentée par les Britanno-Colombiens et les nombreux visiteurs qui profitent de ces eaux chaque année. Les riches zones infratidales sont des lieux par excellence pour la plongée autonome en Amérique du Nord. La région est également réputée pour la navigation de plaisance, en yacht ou en kayak.

On trouvera plus de renseignements sur la région marine du Détroit de Georgia dans le plan du réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation.

Autres renseignements :