Common menu bar links

Vuntut National Park

Park Management


© Parks Canada

Vuntut National Park was established in 1995 as part of the Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation Final Agreement, to conserve, protect and present to Canadians a portion of the North Yukon Natural Region, to recognize Vuntut Gwitchin history and culture, and to protect the traditional and current use of the park by the Vuntut Gwitchin.

Cooperative Management

Together, Parks Canada, the Vuntut Gwitchin Government and the North Yukon Renewable Resources Council cooperatively manage the park. The park's values for protection and celebration include: the northern third of Old Crow Flats, a wetland of international significance; portions of the Porcupine Caribou Herd's spring and fall migration range; the ongoing interdependence of the Vuntut Gwitchin and the land; caribou fences and other archaeological sites; and internationally significant palaeontological sites along the Old Crow River.

Vuntut Gwitchin Government 
North Yukon Renewable Resources Council

The relationship between Parks Canada and the Vuntut Gwitchin Government has evolved from one initially based on obligations from the Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation Final Agreement to one based on collaboration and respect.

Management Plan

The management plan for Vuntut National Park serves as a roadmap for Parks Canada, the Vuntut Gwitchin Government, and the North Yukon Renewable Resources Council as we work together to manage the park. It defines our shared vision, outlines our common goals and objectives, and guides our actions. The current park management plan (2010) was developed by staff and cooperative management partners, with stakeholder and public involvement. Park management plans reflect the policies, legislation, and values of Parks Canada and comprehensive land claim agreements, and provide long-term strategic direction for the management of each national park. They integrate core elements of the Parks Canada mandate into a park vision and key strategies.

2010 Management Plan Summary

Related Links

Porcupine Caribou Management Board
Ivvavik National Park
Arctic National Wildlife Refuge

Parc national Vuntut

Gestion du parc


© Parcs Canada

Le parc national Vuntut a été créé en 1995 en vertu de l’Entente définitive de la Première nation des Gwitchin Vuntut dans le but de conserver, de protéger et de présenter aux Canadiens une partie de la région naturelle du Nord du Yukon; de reconnaître l’importance de l’histoire et de la culture des Gwitchin Vuntut; et de protéger l’utilisation traditionnelle et actuelle du parc par la nation des Gwitchin Vuntut.

Cogestion

Parcs Canada, le gouvernement des Gwitchin Vuntut et le Conseil des ressources renouvelables du Nord du Yukon gèrent le parc conjointement. Les valeurs du parc qui sont à protéger et à mettre en valeur comprennent le tiers nord de la plaine Old Crow, une zone humide d’importance mondiale; certaines parties de l’aire de migration printanière et automnale de la harde de caribous de la Porcupine; les liens d’interdépendance permanents entre les Gwitchin Vuntut et le territoire; les clôtures à caribous et divers autres sites archéologiques; des sites paléontologiques d’importance mondiale situés le long de la rivière Old Crow.

Gouvernement des Gwitchin Vuntut (anglais seulement)
Conseil des ressources renouvelables du Nord du Yukon (anglais seulement)

La relation entre Parcs Canada et le gouvernement des Gwitchin Vuntut a évolué. Établie initialement en fonction des obligations découlant de l’Entente définitive de la Première nation des Gwitchin Vuntut, elle repose désormais sur la collaboration et le respect.

Plan Directeur

Le Plan directeur du parc national Vuntut sert de feuille de route à Parcs Canada, au gouvernement des Gwitchin Vuntut et au Conseil des ressources renouvelables du Nord du Yukon dans leur gestion collaborative du parc. Il établit leur vision commune, fixe des buts et objectifs partagés, et dirige les mesures à prendre. Le plan directeur actuel du parc (qui date de 2010) a été élaboré par le personnel et les partenaires de cogestion avec la participation des intervenants et du public. Les plans directeurs reflètent les politiques, les lois, les valeurs de Parcs Canada et les ententes de revendication territoriale globale; ils offrent une orientation stratégique à long terme pour la gestion de chaque parc national. Ils intègrent des éléments essentiels du mandat de Parcs Canada dans une vision du parc et des stratégies clés.

2010 Plan Directeur Résumé

Autres liens

Porcupine Caribou Management Board (anglais seulement)
Parc national Ivvavik
Arctic National Wildlife Refuge (anglais seulement)