Common menu bar links

Kluane National Park and Reserve of Canada

2010 Kluane National Park and Reserve of Canada Management Plan

Executive Summary

Kluane National Park & Reserve protects and celebrates a spectacular Canadian landscape of high mountain peaks, massive valley glaciers, boreal forests, northern wildlife, and rich cultural heritage, inviting all Canadians to explore an iconic wilderness environment of outstanding ecological integrity and cultural value. An important part of the traditional territory of the Southern Tutchone people, Kluane National Park & Reserve is managed in partnership with the Kluane First Nation and the Champagne and Aishihik First Nations, who continue to maintain their deep cultural and spiritual relationship to the land. It offers local residents and international audiences the opportunity to experience and learn about the land that has been home to Southern Tutchone people for thousands of years, and to discover the land, animals and seasons that are at the heart of their traditional culture and way of life. Kluane National Park & Reserve is known worldwide for its outstanding wilderness recreation opportunities, attracting mountaineers, white-water rafters and experienced hikers to its mountainous terrain and icy blue rivers. The park includes a portion of the Alsêxh/Alsek River, a designated Canadian Heritage River. Together with Alaska's Wrangell-St. Elias National Park and Preserve, Glacier Bay National Park and Preserve, and British Columbia's Tatshenshini-Alsek Park, Kluane National Park & Reserve is part of the largest international UNESCO World Heritage Site.

This new management plan builds on the park's classic wilderness experience to create more diverse opportunities for Canadians to explore and appreciate this national treasure. Using social science research and strategic planning, Parks Canada will develop, promote and deliver a wider range of visitor experience opportunities that will engage and connect with an expanded audience. Visitor experiences at Kluane National Park & Reserve generally fit within three main types of experiences, identified in this plan as Drive Through Awareness, A Step Into the Wild, and Into the Heart of Kluane's Wilderness. Within these categories, park visitors will find a range of activities, facilities and programs to enrich each type of experience. Drive Through Awareness and A Step Into the Wild will be a primary focus for actions during the life of this plan, where new opportunities will be designed to meet the needs of highway travellers and audiences interested in discovering the park through day-use and short overnight activities. It is recognized that visitors who enjoy backcountry experiences as described in Into the Heart of Kluane's Wilderness are currently well served by existing programs and services. Working with First Nation and Government of Yukon partners, Parks Canada will develop and present modern, relevant, and engaging programs and facilities to welcome visitors to the new Champagne and Aishihik First Nations Cultural Centre and to the Tachal Dhǟl Visitor Centre, inviting them to explore the fascinating natural and cultural environment of the park. Existing facilities and services in the park, e.g., Kathleen Lake campground, will be used to promote increased use of the park by regional audiences and the local community, encouraging a wider range of activities and stronger personal ties to the park. A review of the park's trail system will address increasing visitor interest in front country hiking and mountain biking opportunities, and establish a sustainable trail system suitable for the park's maintenance capacity. New guidelines will permit two-way air access to designated landing sites in the park's greenbelt, providing new opportunities for visitors to experience the backcountry. Parks Canada will explore the feasibility of providing alternative roofed accommodation in the park, e.g., backcountry huts, yurts, commercial trailers, or wall tents, to expand camping opportunities for new audiences. Working with the Champagne and Aishihik First Nations and Kluane First Nation, additional commercial motorboat access will also be considered, with the possibility of tours to be offered on some of the park's major rivers. Through strategic outreach programming and ongoing engagement with local audiences, the park's reach will be extended locally, regionally and nationally.

This management plan will continue to build stronger relationships with Kluane National Park & Reserve's First Nation partners, Champagne and Aishihik First Nations and Kluane First Nation, ensuring that cultural reintegration is actively supported, traditional knowledge and cultural resources are protected, and that training, employment and economic opportunities for both First Nations are pursued. The process that began through the Healing Broken Connections project will continue, and a strong First Nation presence in the park will enhance the visitor experience, ecological integrity, and cultural heritage of the park. Parks Canada will continue to work with the Kluane First Nation, Champagne and Aishihik First Nations and the Kluane National Park Management Board, to share in the effective and enduring cooperative management of the park, based on strong mutual respect and a shared understanding of respective responsibilities.

This new management plan will also maintain and improve the park's ecological integrity through the completion of a more comprehensive ecological monitoring program, a focus on the park's forest ecosystems, active management of species at risk and non-native species, and increased public communications about ecological integrity issues and activities in the park.

An area management approach included in this plan continues to define seven geographic areas in the park that offer distinct visitor experience opportunities, and identifies ways to provide a range of diverse and compatible visitor experiences best suited to each area. The unique ecosystems and landscape features of each area will be respected and incorporated into recreational and learning opportunities that meet the needs of a variety of audiences. Some areas will be managed for higher levels of multiple use activities and others will be managed for lower levels of use that facilitate experiences with high wilderness character.

As a whole, this management plan intends to build stronger and more relevant connections between Kluane National Park & Reserve and a wider Canadian audience. It will result in a greater variety of visitor experience opportunities, more meaningful visitor experiences, greater engagement with the local communities, further reintegration of First Nations into the park, strengthened relationships with First Nation partners and enhanced cooperative management.

In an effort to make this information available to you in a timely manner, this plan is currently only available in PDF format. Should you require an alternate format or a hard copy please contact us by e-mailing: Whitehorse.info@pc.gc.ca.

2010 Kluane National Park and Reserve of Canada Management Plan (PDF, 2.13 MB)



Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Parc national et réserve de parc national du Canada Kluane

2010 Plan Directeur : Parc national et réserve de parc national du Canada Kluane

Sommaire

Le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane protègent et célèbrent un paysage canadien spectaculaire composé de hauts sommets montagneux, de glaciers de vallée massifs, de forêts boréales, d'espèces sauvages du Nord et d'un patrimoine culturel riche, tout en invitant tous les Canadiens et toutes les Canadiennes à explorer un milieu emblématique de nature sauvage d'une intégrité écologique remarquable et d'une valeur culturelle exceptionnelle. Comme part importante des terres traditionnelles des Tutchones du Sud, le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane sont gérés en partenariat avec la Première nation Kluane et les Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik, qui continuent d'entretenir des relations culturelles et spirituelles profondes avec la terre. Ils offrent aux résidents et aux visiteurs de tous les pays l'occasion de faire la connaissance d'une terre qui a été la patrie des Tutchones du Sud pendant des milliers d'années et d'en découvrir le paysage, les animaux et les saisons qui sont au coeur de leur culture et de leur mode de vie traditionnel. Le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane sont reconnus dans le monde entier pour leurs possibilités exceptionnelles d'activités récréatives en milieu sauvage, attirant des alpinistes, des amateurs de descente en eaux vives et des randonneurs pédestres expérimentés vers leur terrain montagneux et leurs rivières d'un bleu glacé. Le parc comprend une partie de la rivière Alsêxh/ Alsek, une rivière du patrimoine canadien. Avec les parcs nationaux et réserves de parc national Wrangell-Saint Elias et Glacier Bay en Alaska et le parc provincial Tatshenshini-Alsek en Colombie-Britannique, le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane font partie du plus grand site international du Patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO.

Ce nouveau plan directeur s'appuie sur l'expérience classique des régions sauvages du parc pour créer pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes davantage de possibilités différentes d'explorer et d'apprécier ce trésor national. À l'aide de recherches et de planifications stratégiques en sciences sociales, Parcs Canada élaborera, promouvra et offrira un plus grand éventail d'expériences qui susciteront l'attention d'une plus grande audience. Les expériences des visiteurs au parc national et à la réserve de parc national Kluane rentrent généralement dans trois catégories principales, intitulées dans ce plan Sensibilisation au volant, Un pas dans la nature et Au coeur de la nature sauvage de Kluane. Dans ces trois catégories, les visiteurs du parc trouveront une gamme d'activités, d'installations et de programmes pour enrichir chaque type d'expérience. Sensibilisation au volant et Un pas dans la nature feront l'objet d'une attention particulière pendant la durée du plan, avec des mesures visant à concevoir de nouvelles possibilités répondant aux besoins des automobilistes et des visiteurs qui sont intéressés à découvrir le parc en y passant la journée ou en y restant une nuit. On reconnaît que les visiteurs qui aiment les expériences de l'arrière-pays décrites dans Au coeur de la nature sauvage de Kluane sont actuellement bien servis par les programmes et les services existants. En collaboration avec ses partenaires des Premières nations et du gouvernement du Yukon, Parcs Canada créera et présentera des installations et des programmes modernes, pertinents et accueillants pour recevoir des visiteurs au nouveau Centre culturel des Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik et au centre d'accueil Tach-l Dh-l , les invitant à explorer le milieu naturel et culturel fascinant du parc. Les installations et les services existants dans le parc, par exemple le camping du Lac-Kathleen, seront utilisés pour promouvoir une utilisation accrue du parc par les résidents de la région et de la communauté locale, les encourageant à participer à un plus grand éventail d'activités et à nouer des liens personnels plus solides avec le parc. Une étude du réseau de sentiers du parc abordera la question de l'intérêt croissant des visiteurs pour des possibilités de randonnées pédestres dans l'avant-pays et de randonnées en vélo de montagne et établira un système de sentiers durable adapté à la capacité d'entretien du parc. De nouvelles directives permettront l'accès par voie aérienne à des sites d'atterrissage désignés dans la ceinture verte du parc, offrant aux visiteurs de nouvelles possibilités d'explorer l'arrière-pays. Parcs Canada étudiera la faisabilité d'offrir de nouveaux lieux d'hébergement couverts dans le parc, par exemple des refuges dans l'arrière-pays, des yourtes, des caravanes ou des tentes, pour augmenter les possibilités de camping pour de nouveaux visiteurs. En collaboration avec les Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik et la Première nation Kluane, l'ajout d'accès commerciaux pour bateaux à moteur sera aussi étudié, avec la possibilité d'offrir des tours sur quelques-unes des principales rivières du parc. Au moyen d'un programme d'approche stratégique et d'un engagement continuel auprès de la population locale, la portée du parc sera étendue à l'échelle locale, régionale et nationale.

Ce plan directeur continuera de solidifier les relations avec les partenaires des Premières nation du parc national et de la réserve de parc national Kluane, les Premières nation Champagne et Aishihik et la Première nation Kluane, garantissant le soutien actif de la réintégration culturelle, la protection du savoir traditionnel et des ressources culturelles et la poursuite de possibilités de formation, d'emplois et de succès économiques pour ces deux Premières nations. Le processus qui a débuté avec le projet Réparer les liens brisés continuera et une présence forte des Premières nations dans le parc rehaussera l'expérience des visiteurs, l'intégrité écologique et le patrimoine culturel du parc. Parcs Canada continuera de travailler avec les Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik et la Première nation Kluane et le conseil de gestion du parc national Kluane afin de partager la gestion coopérative efficace et durable du parc, basée sur un respect mutuel solide et une compréhension commune des responsabilités respectives.

Ce nouveau plan directeur préservera et améliorera aussi l'intégrité écologique du parc, grâce à l'exécution d'un programme de surveillance écologique plus complet, à une attention axée sur les écosystèmes forestiers du parc, à une gestion active des espèces en danger et des espèces non indigènes et à des communications publiques accrues sur les questions d'intégrité écologique et les activités dans le parc.

Une démarche de gestion sectorielle incluse dans ce plan continue de définir sept secteurs géographiques dans le parc, offrant des expériences distinctes aux visiteurs, et détermine des façons d'offrir aux visiteurs un éventail d'expériences différentes et compatibles les mieux adaptées à chaque secteur. Les écosystèmes et les caractéristiques géographiques uniques de chaque secteur seront respectés et intégrés aux possibilités récréatives et éducatives qui répondent aux besoins de différents publics. Certains secteurs seront gérés pour des niveaux supérieurs d'activités à usages multiples et d'autres seront gérés pour des niveaux inférieurs d'utilisation qui facilitent des expériences avec le caractère plus sauvage de la nature.

Dans sa totalité, ce plan directeur vise à établir des liens plus solides et plus pertinents entre le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane et un public canadien plus large. Il conduira à une plus grande variété de possibilités d'expériences et à des expériences plus significatives pour les visiteurs, à un engagement plus grand avec les communautés locales, à une réintégration accrue des Premières nations dans le parc, à des relations renforcées avec les partenaires des Premières nations et à une meilleure gestion coopérative.

Afin de rendre les renseignements disponibles de façon rapide, ce plan n'est présentement distribué qu'en format PDF.  Si vous avez besoin d'un autre format ou d'une copie papier, veuillez communiquer avec nous par courriel à : Whitehorse.info@pc.gc.ca.

2010 Plan Directeur : Parc national et réserve de parc national du Canada Kluane (PDF, 2,42 Mo)



N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).