Kluane National Park and Reserve of Canada

Cultural Heritage

Champagne and Aishihik First Nations elder Champagne and Aishihik First Nations elder. 
© Parks Canada / Fritz Mueller


Southern Tutchone Culture

First Nation member showing youth how to identify animal tracks. Showing youth how to identify animal tracks. 
© Parks Canada / Fritz Mueller

Since time immemorial, the Southern Tutchone people, which include Champagne and Aishihik First Nations and Kluane First Nation, have lived throughout the area that is now Kluane National Park and Reserve. Over thousands of years dän (the people) have developed effective methods for living in this land of extremes. Elders recall a rich history which details events and places spanning many generations.

They once lived a nomadic lifestyle, travelling great distances, in order to take advantage of seasonal abundances of wildlife and plants throughout their traditional territory. This lifestyle required developing a superior skill set of hunting and travelling techniques in an area of harsh climatic and geographic variations.

 
 

Traditional Knowledge and the Southern Tutchone Language

First Nation elder Kluane First Nation elder 
© Parks Canada / Fritz Mueller

The accuracy and depth of the Southern Tutchone language was key to the survival of the dän. Formal teachings as well as traditional stories told by Elders were and continue to be passed on orally. Place names and the stories associated with them were a source of critical knowledge; they identified where resources could be found, referred to past events, and described the terrain in a way that a traveller would have knowledge of a place without having been there before.

The Southern Tutchone name for Kluane Lake is “Łù’àn Män” meaning "big fish lake". The coastal Tlingits, who were trading partners, called the area “ùxh-àni” meaning "whitefish country". The name 'Kluane' (pronounced ‘Kloo-wah-nee’) was derived from these two names by early settlers.

Cooperative Management

teaching youth Teaching youth to identify plants
© Parks Canada

In 1943, the Kluane Game Sanctuary was established and First Nations were denied access to hunting, fishing and trapping in a significant portion of their traditional territory. This separation caused their special bond with those lands to break resulting in a great cultural and personal loss that has now affected five generations. Today, with the implementation of their land claim and the establishment of Kluane National Park and Reserve, they have reasserted their right to carry out traditional activities in the park and the surrounding Kluane Game Sanctuary lands.

Today, the Southern Tutchone people continue to maintain a rich culture based on strong ties with the natural world. Renewing their relationship with their traditional territory within the park, and providing direction in the management of the natural resources are high priorities for both Champagne and Aishihik First Nations and Kluane First Nation. This cultural reintegration will also help ensure that the First Nations’ traditional knowledge of this region is recognized and carried forth into the future.

The Champagne and Aishihik First Nations Final Agreement and the Kluane First Nation Final Agreement ushered in a new era in the management of Kluane National Park and Reserve. The Champagne and Aishihik First Nations Final Agreement established the creation of the Kluane National Park Management Board and the two final agreements identify specific rights and responsibilities of the two First Nations, the Board and Parks Canada in the management of the park – a cooperative management regime based on shared responsibility.

More Information

Parc national et réserve de parc national du Canada Kluane

Patrimoine culturel

Ainé des Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik
Ainé des Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik 
© Parcs Canada / Fritz Mueller


Culture des Tutchonis du Sud

Un membre de la Première nation de Kluane montre à des Montre à des jeunes à identifier des pistes d’animaux 
© Parcs Canada / Fritz Mueller

Depuis des temps immémoriaux, les Tutchonis du Sud, qui comprennent les Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik et la Première nation Kluane, ont vécu dans la région qui est maintenant le parc national. Pendant des millénaires, dän (le peuple) a adopté un mode de vie efficace pour survivre sur ce territoire fait d’extrêmes. Les anciens racontent l’histoire passionnante de ce peuple et décrivent en détail des événements et des lieux qui remontent à de nombreuses générations.

Les Tuchtonis du Sud étaient autrefois un peuple nomade qui parcouraient de grandes distances pour profiter de l’abondance saisonnière de faune et de flore à travers leur territoire traditionnel. Ce mode de vie exigeait d’eux qu’ils soient maîtres de l’art de la chasse et des déplacements dans une région en proie à des variations climatiques et géographiques radicales.

 

Savoir ancestral et la langue des Tutchonis du Sud

Ainé de la Première nation Kluane Ainé de la Première nation Kluane
© Parcs Canada / Fritz Mueller

Ce sont la précision et la profondeur de leur langue qui ont permis aux Tuchtonis du Sud de survivre. Les anciens transmettaient oralement les enseignements officiels et les histoires traditionnelles, et cette pratique se poursuit encore aujourd’hui. Les toponymes et les histoires qui leur sont associés constituent une source de savoir essentielle: ils identifiaient les endroits où se trouvaient les ressources, faisaient références à des événements passés, et décrivaient le paysage de façon à ce qu’un voyageur ait connaissance d’un endroit sans y être allé auparavant.

Dans la langue des Tuchtonis du Sud, le lac Kluane se dit «Łù’àn Män», ce qui signifie lac où abonde le poisson. Les Tlingits du littoral, avec lesquels les Tutchonis faisaient du commerce, avaient surnommé la région « ùxh-àni », qui veut dire pays de corégones. Kluane (Kloo-wah-nee) nous vient de ces deux termes des premiers habitants.

Cogestion

teaching youth Montre à des jeunes à identifier des plantes
© Parcs Canada / F. Mueller

En 1943, le refuge de gibier Kluane a été créé et les Premières nations se sont vu interdire l’accès à une portion considérable de leur territoire traditionnel pour la pêche, la chasse et le piégeage. Le lien particulier qui les unissait à ces terres s’est donc rompu, ce qui a entraîné d’importantes pertes sur les plans culturel et personnel depuis cinq générations maintenant.
Aujourd’hui, grâce à la mise en oeuvre de leur revendications territoriales et à la création du parc national et de la réserve de parc national Kluane, ces Autochtones ont recouvré leur droit de pratiquer leurs activités traditionnelles dans le parc et dans les terres avoisinantes du refuge de gibier Kluane.

Aujourd’hui, la culture des Tuchtonis du Sud est d’une grande richesse, et elle est solidement liée au monde naturel. Le renouvellement de ces liens avec le territoire traditionnel qui se trouve dans le parc et l’orientation à donner à la gestion des ressources naturelles constituent des priorités pour les Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik et pour la Première nation Kluane. Cette réintégration culturelle permettra aussi de faire en sorte que le savoir traditionnel de ces Premières nations soit reconnu et transmis aux générations futures.

L’Entente définitive des Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik et l’Entente definitive de la Première nation Kluane ont marqué le début d’une nouvelle ère pour la gestion du parc national et de la réserve de parc national Kluane. L’Entente définitive des Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik a établi la création du Conseil de gestion du parc national Kluane (le Conseil), et les deux ententes définitives énumèrent les droits et les obligations spécifiques des deux Premières nations, du Conseil et de Parcs Canada en ce qui a trait à la gestion du parc – un régime de cogestion fondé sur le partage des responsabilités.

Renseignements