Kluane National Park and Reserve of Canada

Boating and Canoeing

Canoeing on Kathleen Lake
© Parks Canada / F. Mueller

Motorized boats are permitted on Kathleen Lake and Mush Lake. Canoeing possibilities in the park are limited to the major lakes, which should always be treated with caution. Strong winds occur suddenly and without warning. Always stay close to shore as water temperatures are extremely cold.

Backcountry Camping

April 1 to November 15 any overnight trips into Kluane National Park and Reserve require registration and the purchase of a Backcountry Permit. Bear resistant food canisters are mandatory in most areas.

From Victoria Day long weekend through Labour Day purchase permits, register and obtain food canisters at the Kluane National Park Visitor Centre at the Da Kų Cultural Centre in Haines Junction or at the Tachäl Dhäl (Sheep Mountain) Visitor Centre.

During the shoulder season self-register at the Kluane National Park Visitor Centre at the Da Kų Cultural Centre in Haines Junction.

Parc national et réserve de parc national du Canada Kluane

Navigation de plaisance et canotage

Canotage sur lac Kathleen
© Parcs Canada / F. Mueller


Les embarcations motorisées sont autorisées sur les lacs Kathleen et Mush. Les canoteurs, eux, doivent se limiter aux principaux lacs du parc, où la prudence est de rigueur en raison des vents violents qui s'y abattent parfois sans prévenir. On recommande aux pagayeurs de ne jamais trop s'éloigner de la rive, car la température de l'eau est glaciale.

Camping en arriére-pays

Du 1er avril au 15 novembre, il est obligatoire de s’inscrire et d’obtenir un permis d’accès à l’arrière-pays pour toutes les excursions de plus d’une journée effectuées dans le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane. L’usage des contenants à l’épreuve des ours est obligatoire dans la plupart des secteurs.

De la longue fin de semaine de la Fête de la Reine jusqu'à la Fête du Travail, vous pouvez vous inscrire et obtenir un permis ainsi qu'un contenant à l'épreuve des ours soit au Centre d'accueil du parc national Kluane situé dans le Centre culturel Da Kų à Haines Junction ou au Centre d'accueil Tachäl Dhäl (Mont-Sheep).

En saison intermédiaire vous pouvez vous enregistrer par auto-inscription au Centre culturel Da Kų.