Kluane National Park and Reserve of Canada

Ä’äy Chù (Slim’s River) East Route

Trailhead:
3 km south of Tachäl Dhäl (Sheep Mountain) Visitor Centre
Distance:
23 km one way
Time:
2 - 4 days return trip
Elevation Gain:
1340 M (4400')
Maximum Elevation:
1680 M (5500')
1:50,000 Topographic Map:
Slims River 115 B/15

Overview

The Ä’äy Chù (Slim's River) East route follows the East shore of the Ä’äy Chù (Slim's River) to the toe of the Kaskawulsh glacier. The elevation gain occurs mainly at the end of the route, for the climb up the ridge for a view of the glacier. This hike and its destination are similar to the Slims West route but is a bit easier and takes less time to complete. For your safety you must register for all overnight trips in the valley.

Description

After registering at the Tachäl Dhäl (Sheep Mountain) Visitor Centre, drive or hike south on the Alaska highway to a small pull-off on the south side of the road about 3 km south of the Visitor Centre. From here, if the gate is open, you can drive another 3 km further on a narrow dirt road. Watch for a trail marker on the left that marks the beginning of the route. If you reach the creek, you have gone too far.

About 1.5 km along the route you will reach Vulcan Creek. It has changed course several times over the years and washed out sections of the route. Watch for rock cairns guiding the way through this area. Use caution when crossing the creek, as there will be varying amounts of water flowing depending on the weather and season.

Once across the creek watch for the last post as this directs you to an old clear-cut trail. Follow this trail to an alluvial fan. It can be difficult to find the route after traversing alluvial fans, so be sure to note where you exit the trees onto the fan to help you find the trail on the way back. Once you have found the trail on the other side of the Vulcan creek fan, the trail crosses the end of a rock glacier. The rock glacier is forested, but can be recognised by the way it is breaking off into the valley, causing cracks in the ground, and splitting trees in half from the bottom.

When the water level is lower, people have been known to hike along the riverbed. Remember that Slim’s River is named after a horse that sank and was killed in the dangerous ‘quick mud’, so it’s best to watch where you step!

A good camping spot is about 15 km up the valley, near a small pond. There are other camping spots over the next 6 km. The last two km before the toe of the Kaskawulsh glacier are not recommended for camping, due to high winds and blowing silt. There is a nice vantage point from the hill at the foot of the glacier. You can see the south arm converging with the main glacier by climbing up the mountain facing the glacier. An extra day should be planned to accommodate this climb.

Comments

This description outlines only one of many possibilities for hiking this route. Changes in creek levels, the course of the Ä’äy Chù (Slim's River), bear sightings, etc., may require hikers to vary their route considerably. You will have to rely on your owns skills and discretion when choosing your route.

Unfortunately, cases of giardia have been reported in the Ä’äy Chù (Slims River) Valley. Water should be boiled, treated with tablets, or filtered.

Bear sightings are common in this area. The use of bear resistant food canisters is mandatroy. Review recommendations for travel in the You Are In Bear Country brochure. All bear sightings should be reported to the staff at one of the Visitor Centres.

Trails and Routes

Parc national et réserve de parc national du Canada Kluane

Ä’äy Chù (Rivière Slim’s) Est

Point de départ :
3 km au sud du Centre d'accueil du Tachäl Dhäl (Mont Sheep)
Distance :
23 km aller seulement
Durée :
2 à 4 jours (circuit)
Dénivellation :
1 340 m (4 400 pi)
Altitude maximale :
1 680 m (5 500 pi)
Carte topographique 1 : 50 000 :
rivière Slims 115 B/15

Vue d'ensemble

Le parcours Ä’äy Chù (Rivière Slim’s) Est longe le côté est de la Ä’äy Chù (Rivière Slim’s)jusqu'au pied du glacier Kaskawulsh. L'excursion et la destination sont semblables à celles du parcours Ä’äy Chù (Rivière Slim’s)Ouest. Du côté est, le parcours est un peu plus court, et les vues du glacier ne sont pas aussi spectaculaires que celles que l'on a du mont Observation, du côté ouest. Il s'agit toutefois d'une bonne solution de rechange lorsque le parcours Ä’äy Chù (Rivière Slim’s) Ouest est fermé ou que les randonneurs n'ont pas le temps de se rendre au sommet du mont Observation.

Description

Après avoir fait vos derniers préparatifs et vous être inscrit au centre d'accueil du Tachal Dhal, conduisez ou marchez sur la route de l'Alaska jusqu'à une petite halte routière à environ 3 kilomètres au sud du centre d'accueil. Continuez à marcher sur le petit chemin de terre étroit (non recommandé pour les véhicules) sur environ 3 kilomètres. Le parcours commence un peu avant le bout du chemin qui se termine par une barricade. Cherchez le panonceau qui signale le début du parcours à votre gauche, en descendant en direction de la barricade.

Après avoir marché pendant 1,5 kilomètre environ, vous atteindrez le ruisseau Vulcan. Le cours de ce ruisseau a changé plusieurs fois au fil des ans et a emporté des tronçons entiers du sentier. Cherchez les cairns qui indiquent le chemin. Soyez prudent en traversant; le niveau du ruisseau variera selon les conditions météorologiques et la saison.

Les cairns et les panonceaux le long du ruisseau Vulcan sont bien visibles. Une fois que aurez traversé le ruisseau, cherchez le dernier panonceau qui vous dirigera vers le sentier bien tracé. Le prochain cône alluvial se trouve droit devant après la traversée. Vous ferez face à un tertre où le sentier est très bien tracé. Toutefois, pour éviter d'avoir à vous frayer un chemin dans la broussaille, prenez la piste d'animaux sauvages qui contourne le tertre (plus bas, le long du marécage). Cette piste vous conduira à un sentier bien tracé, plus loin dans la vallée. À partir de là, le parcours est sinueux et suit le contour de la vallée (des parties du sentier sont visibles).

On peut trouver un bon endroit pour camper à environ 15 kilomètres après le début du parcours (au trois quarts du parcours), près d'un petit lac. On peut aussi trouver du bois sec et d'autres bons endroits pour camper sur les 6 prochains kilomètres. Il n'est pas recommandé de camper sur les deux derniers kilomètres avant d'atteindre le pied du glacier Kaskawulsh.

On peut avoir de bonnes vues du glacier de la première colline (environ 1 000 pi), au kilomètre 23. On peut voir la branche sud convergeant vers le glacier principal en montant sur la montagne derrière cette colline (3 000 à 4 000 pi). Les randonneurs doivent prévoir une journée supplémentaire pour cette escalade.

Remarques

Le parcours décrit ci-dessus n'est qu'un des nombreux itinéraires possibles. Différents facteurs tels que le niveau des ruisseaux, le cours de la rivière Slims, la présence d'ours signalée à tel ou tel endroit, etc., peuvent forcer les randonneurs à modifier considérablement leur itinéraire. Dans ces circonstances, vous devrez établir vous-même votre parcours en fonction de vos capacités.

Des cas de giardiase ont malheureusement été signalés dans la vallée de l'Ä’äy Chù (Rivière Slim’s). Il est donc recommandé de faire bouillir ou de filtrer son eau ou encore d'utiliser des comprimés pour la purifier.

Il y a plusieurs ours dans la région. Il est obligatoire d’utiliser des contenants de nourriture à l’épreuve des ours. Passez en revue les recommandations contenues dans le dépliant Vous êtes au pays des ours. Veuillez signaler la présence d’ours au personnel de l’un des centres d’accueil.

Sentiers et parcours