Kluane National Park and Reserve of Canada

Alsek Valley Trail

Trailhead:
10 km north of Haines Junction on the Alaska Highway
Distance:
29 km one way
Time:
1-3 days return trip
Elevation Gain:
92 M (300')
Maximum Elevation:
610 M (2000')
1:50 000 Topographic Map:
Kloo Lake A/13

Overview

This trail follows an old mining road into Sugden (Ferguson) Creek. The first 15 km are open to 4-wheel drive access. This is a good bad weather trail due to the rocky surface of the trail and its low position in the valley, however, narrow streams sometime prevent even high clearance 4-wheel drive vehicles from proceeding. This trail makes an excellent biking trail. The openness of the Alsek valley may provide opportunities to view wildlife from a distance.

Description

The trail begins on the west side of the highway just across the road from Bear Creek Lodge (previously MacIntosh Lodge). It is relatively flat and easy to follow. It passes through open grassland, across several alluvial fans, gravel washes, and through stands of spruce and poplar. There are a few creek crossings, which can be high during spring run-off, heavy rainfall, or hot weather.

The park boundary is located 6.2 km down the road. The rock outcrop to the left makes for a good rest stop and wildlife viewing area. High beach ridges left behind by a succession of glacial lakes are also apparent from here. Further down the Alsek valley, the Lowell glacier has surged across the valley four different times during the past 12,000 years, damming the Alsek River and creating glacial lakes, the last one having drained only just over a century ago.

Continuing along the road past the rock outcrop, you will eventually come to the large washout area of Serpentine Creek. Here, a creek crossing will be necessary to go along further.

Approximately an hour past Serpentine Creek is a wooded area where you will find a park gate at kilometer 15.4. Vehicles are not permitted beyond this point. Further along the road, just after the 20.9 km sign, are old boards strewn about which are the remnants of a corral built for an old horse camp. The next kilometer posting marks the junction of the Alsek, Dezadeash and Kaskawulsh Rivers. It will take about 2 hours from here to reach Sugden Creek (this creek may be called Ferguson on older maps). This is the end of the trail and is marked by the 25.9 km post. Sugden may be difficult to cross even when the water is low. There are some old mining cabins on the other side.

Comments

This trail is also open to mountain biking. Both hikers and mountain bikers should be alert for bears and use caution when travelling up wind. Please leave artifacts undisturbed.

Bear sightings are common in this area. Review recommendations for travel in the You Are In Bear Country brochure. All bear sightings should be reported to the staff at one of the Visitor Centres.

Trails and Routes

Parc national et réserve de parc national du Canada Kluane

Sentier de la Vallée-d'Alsek

Point de départ :
Route de l'Alaska, 10 km au nord de Haines Junction
Distance :
29 km aller seulement
Durée :
1 à 3 jours aller-retour
Dénivellation :
92 m (300 pi.)
Altitude maximale :
610 m (2 000 pi.)
Carte topographique 1 : 50 000 :
Lac Kloo A/13

Vue d'ensemble

Le sentier suit un ancien chemin d'exploitation minière jusqu'au ruisseau Sugden. Les quinze premiers kilomètres peuvent se parcourir en véhicule à quatre roues motrices. En raison de sa surface rocailleuse et de son emplacement au fond de la vallée, le sentier demeure praticable même par mauvais temps. L'aspect découvert de la vallée rend possible l'observation d'animaux sauvages à bonne distance.

Description

Le point de départ se trouve du côté ouest de la route, juste en face du chemin de Bear Creek Lodge. Le sentier est relativement plat et facile à suivre. Il traverse une prairie, plusieurs cônes alluviaux, des lits de gravier, ainsi que des boisés d'épinettes et de peupliers. Il y a aussi quelques ruisseaux à traverser, dont le niveau peut être élevé en période de crue printanière et après de fortes pluies.

La limite du parc se trouve à 6,2 km du début du sentier. L'affleurement rocheux qui se trouve à gauche est un excellent endroit pour scruter le fond de la vallée dans l'espoir d'apercevoir des animaux sauvages. Du même point d'observation, on voit aussi de hauts bancs laissés par une succession de lacs glaciaires. Plus bas, le glacier Lowell a traversé la vallée à quatre reprises au cours des 12 000 dernières années, endiguant la rivière Alsek et laissant des lacs glaciaires, le dernier ayant fini de s'assécher il y a plus d'un siècle.

En poursuivant votre route au-delà de l'affleurement rocheux, vous arriverez à la vaste zone d'érosion du ruisseau Serpentine. Vous devrez traverser le ruisseau, ce qui peut présenter certaines difficultés.

À environ une heure de marche du ruisseau Serpentine, vous arriverez dans une région boisée où se trouve l'entrée du parc, au kilomètre 15,4. Les véhicules ne sont pas autorisés au-delà de ce point. Plus loin, juste après le panneau du kilomètre 20,9, vous apercevrez de vieilles planches éparpillées sur le sol; ce sont les débris du corral d'une ancienne écurie. Les prochains panneaux kilométriques que vous rencontrerez signalent les chemins menant aux rivières Alsek, Dezadeash et Kaskawulsh. Vous devrez marcher encore environ deux heures pour atteindre le ruisseau Sugden (Ferguson creek sur la carte), qui marque la fin du sentier et qui est signalé par le panneau du kilomètre 25,9. Il peut être difficile de franchir le ruisseau Sugden même lorsque le niveau d'eau est bas, mais il vaut la peine de le faire pour voir les vieilles baraques de mineurs.

Remarques

Le parcours peut aussi se faire en vélo de montagne. Tant les randonneurs que les cyclistes doivent se méfier des ours, particulièrement lorsqu'ils avancent face au vent. Veillez laisser en place les artefact.

Il y a plusieurs ours dans la région. Passez en revue les recommandations contenues dans le dépliant Vous êtes au pays des ours. Veuillez signaler la présence d’ours au personnel de l’un des centres d’accueil.

Sentiers et parcours