Common menu bar links

Kluane National Park and Reserve of Canada

Tachäl Dhäl (Sheep Mountain) Ridge

Tachal Dhal Ridge
© Parks Canada / Katarina Welsch

Distance: 11 km (7 mi) loop
Time: 6-10 hrs
Elevation Gain: 1,310 m (4,300')
Maximum Elevation: 1,922 m (6,300')

Trailhead: At the boat launch 2.9 km (1.8 mi) north of the Tachäl Dhäl Visitor Centre (73.6 km (45.7 mi) north of Haines Junction) on the Alaska Highway.
Topo Map: Congdon Creek 115 G/2

A route is not a trail. Routes are not marked with signs or maintained in any manner. The route described here is only a suggestion that may help guide you on your trip. Self-reliance and wilderness travel experience are essential, including excellent route finding skills, map and compass skills. It is the responsibility of individual hikers who choose to follow such routes to adequately prepare and be prepared to rely on themselves.


In Summary

This is a long challenging day hike (1310 m/4300 ft elevation gain over the first 2.5 km/1.5 mi), which involves some steep off trail travel. It offers hikers spectacular panoramic vistas and excellent wildlife viewing opportunities.

The route connects the Tachäl Dhäl (Sheep Mountain) Northeast Ridge Route and the Sheep Creek Trail. It is best done by climbing the steeper Northeast Ridge and descending via the more gradual Sheep Creek Trail. Leaving a vehicle at the Tachäl Dhäl trailhead parking lot will eliminate the 5 km walk along the Slims West Access Road and Alaska Highway back to the starting point.

The Details

The Tachäl Dhäl Ridge Route starts on the Alaska Highway across from the boat launch about 2.9 km north of the Tachäl Dhäl Visitor Centre. Parking is available at the boat launch pull off. A small footpath, marked by a cairn, heads up the ridge for about 460 m (1500') worth of elevation gain before it becomes scattered and no longer clear to follow. From this point continue up the ridge, and within a couple of hills the rest of the route to the top of the ridge becomes visible. This is the most difficult section of the route but spectacular views back over Kluane Lake make frequent rest stops rewarding. Some hikers may find the ridge satisfies their hiking interest and opt to return down the ridge.

The northernmost peak on the ridge is the summit of the mountain. From here you are rewarded with breathtaking views of Kluane Lake, the Ruby Range, the highway corridor, Mt. Wallace, Kluane Plateau, Outpost Mountain, the Sheep-Bullion Plateau and Red Castle Ridge. Continue south along the ridge by following sheep trails along the ridge top. Several satellite peaks along the ridge overlook the Slims River Valley, Mt. Vulcan and the toe of the Kaskawulsh Glacier.

From the last large satellite peak two ridges descend towards the valley floor. It is not recommended to follow the ridge, which descends south towards the Slims valley, as the descent is steep and difficult. The easiest route follows the ridge which heads almost straight west towards Forty-eight Pup Creek. This ridge slopes down to the end of Sheep Creek Trail with a short section of scattered willow to travel through at the bottom of the ridge before reaching the trail. From here it is 4.5 km to the start of the Sheep Creek trail. Where the trail meets an old road (the Slims West Trail), turn left; it is about 200 metres to the trailhead parking area.

What You Need to Know

An early start is recommended due to the length of the hike and to allow hikers to take advantage of cooler morning temperatures for the climb up the mountain. Good boots and weatherproof clothing are essential. Water is not available along the route so be sure to bring enough.

This hike usually provides excellent opportunities for wildlife viewing. The southeast face of Tachäl Dhäl (Sheep Mountain) above the Visitor Centre is a special preservation area, which provides important winter forage for the Dhal sheep. Please do not hike in this area.

The Dall sheep rely on the plants of south-facing, snow-free slopes for critical nutrition. Dall sheep are high strung and may abandon parts of their range if repeatedly disturbed. Hikers and photographers are asked to be respectful of the sheep and their fragile habitat. Please:

  • do not approach sheep closer than 50 metres (165 ft)
  • hike in small, tight, slow-moving groups
  • never approach sheep from above, as it will confuse and stress them
  • put your dog on a leash, and stay far away from the sheep
  • stay on established trails or routes to prevent disturbance of the soil and fragile vegetation

All overnight camping is prohibited within this area due to bear activity. For more detailed information please contact park staff at the Kluane National Park and Reserve Visitor Centre in Haines Junction or at the Tachäl Dhäl Visitor Centre.

Bear sightings are common in this area. Review recommendations for travel in the You Are In Bear Country brochure. All bear sightings should be reported to the staff at one of the Visitor Centres.

Parks Canada 24 Hour Emergency Dispatch

1-780-852-3100

Cellular telephones do not work in most of the park. Satellite phones or satellite messaging devices are strongly recommended.

Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane

Aréte du Tachäl Dhäl (Mont Sheep)

Arete Tachal Dhal
© Parcs Canada / Katarina Welsch

Distance : 11 km (7 mi) la boucle
Durée : 6 à 10 heures (circuit)
Dénivellation : 1 310 m (4 300 pi)
Altitude maximale : 1 922 m (6 300 pi)

Point de départ : aire de mise à l’eau située à 2.9 km (1.8 mi) au nord du centre d’accueil de Tachäl Dhäl (73,6 km (45,7 mi), au nord de Haines Junction sur la route de l’Alaska.
Carte topographique : Ruisseau Congdon 115/G2

Un parcours n’est pas un sentier. Les parcours ne sont pas indiqués avec des panneaux et ne sont pas entretenus. Le parcours décrit ici n’est qu’une suggestion qui peut vous aider. L’autonomie et l’expérience de randonnée en région sauvage sont essentielles. Ainsi que d’excellentes connaissances en orientation, lecture de cartes topographiques et utilisation de boussole. C’est la responsabilité de chaque randonneur qui s’engage sur ces parcours, d’avoir une préparation adéquat et d’être prêt à subvenir à ses propres besoins.


Vue d'ensemble

Ce parcours d’une journée est très exigeant puisque la dénivellation y est de 1 310 mètres (4 300 pi) sur 2,5 kilomètres (1,5 mi). Lequel inclus quelques un voyage escarpe hors des sentiers. Celui-ci offre une vue panoramique extraordinaire ainsi qu’une excellente opportunité d’observer les animaux sauvages.

Ce parcours relie le le parcours de l'arête nord-est de Tachal dhal (le mont Sheep) et sentier du Ruisseau Sheep. Il est préférable de faire tout d'abord l’ascension de l'arête nord-est, plus escarpée, et de redescendre graduellement le sentier du ruisseau Sheep.Laissez un véhicule au départ des sentiers, a l’aire de stationnement de Tachäl Dhäl, vous évitera de marcher les 5 km longeant le chemin d’accès au sentier Ouest de la rivière Slim et la route de l’Alaska jusqu’à votre point de départ.

Description

Le parcours de la crête de Tachäl Dahl commence en face de l’aire de mise à l’eau, sur la route de l’Alaska, a environ 2,9 km au nord du centre d’accueil de Tachäl Dhäl. Vous pouvez garer votre véhicule à l’aire. Un petit sentier marque par un cairn, monte sur la crête pendant environ 460 m (1 500’), dénivelé qui vaut la peine avant que le sentier s’éparpille et ne soit plus longtemps facile à suivre. A partir de là, continuez sur la crête, et à part une ou deux collines, le reste du parcours jusqu’au sommet devient visible. C’est la partie la plus difficile mais qui nous gratifie par une vue spectaculaire du lac Kluane. Pour certain, cette vue est suffisante et ils redescendront par le même chemin.

Le point le plus au nord de la crête est le sommet de la montagne. De là, vous êtes récompensé par une vue à vous couper le souffle avec la chaine de montagne Ruby, le couloir routier, le mont Wallace, le plateau Kluane, la montagne Outpost, le plateau Sheep-Bullion et la crête de Red Castle. Continuez au sud le long de l’arête, en suivant les sentiers de mouflons jusqu’au haut de la crête. Plusieurs autres sommets sur la vallée de la rivière Slims, le Mt. Vulcan et le pied du glacier Kaskawulsh.

À partir du dernier grand sommet satellite, deux crêtes descendent au bas de la vallée. Il n’est pas recommandé de suivre la crête qui descente au Sud en direction de la vallée Slim; cette descente est abrupte et difficile. Il est plus facile de suivre la crête qui va direction ouest vers le ruisseau Forty-eight Pup. L'arrête couverte de végétation descend en pente douce vers l'extrémité du sentier du ruisseau Sheep. Au bas de l'arête, vous devrez marcher entre des saules épars. Vous êtes alors à 4,5 kilomètres du début du sentier du ruisseau Sheep. À noter que, vers la fin, le sentier croise la route qui mène au ruisseau Sheep et que le parcours se poursuit vers la gauche sur environ 200 mètres avant d'atteindre la petite halte routière (point de départ).

Ce que vous devez savoir

Nous vous recommandons de commencer tôt cette excursion en raison de sa durée et afin de profiter des températures matinales fraîches pour effectuer l’ascension. Il est essentiel de porter de bonnes bottes et des vêtements à l’épreuve des intempéries. N’oubliez pas d’apporter de l’eau, car il n’y a aucune source d’approvisionnement le long du parcours. Les randonneurs ont habituellement d'excellentes chances d'observer les animaux sauvages. Le versant sud-est du mont Sheep (surplombant la route de l'Alaska) est une aire spéciale de conservation qui constitue une importante surface fourragère pour les mouflons de Dall en hiver. Merci de ne pas aller dans ce secteur.

Les mouflons de Dall dépendent des plantes qui se trouvent sur le versant sud, libre de neige, leur permettant de répondre à des besoins nutritifs essentiels. Les mouflons de Dall sont très sensibles et risquent d’abandonner une partie de leur habitat s’ils sont dérangés trop souvent. Nous demandons aux randonneurs et aux photographes de respecter les mouflons et leur habitat.

Nous vous remercions de :

  • ne pas vous approcher à moins de 50 m (165 pieds)
  • vous déplacer doucement en petits groupes serrés
  • ne jamais approcher les mouflons d’en-haut; cela peut les dérouter et causer du stress
  • de mettre votre chien en laisse et de rester à une grande distance des mouflons
  • rester sur les sentiers ou parcours établis pour éviter de perturber le sol et la végétation fragiles.

En raison de la présence de nombreux ours, il est interdit de passer la nuit dans ce secteur. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le personnel du Centre d’accueil de Haines Junction ou du Centre d’accueil Tachäl Dhäl.

Il y a plusieurs ours dans la région. Passez en revue les recommandations contenues dans le dépliant Vous êtes au pays des ours. Veuillez signaler la présence d’ours au personnel de l’un des centres d’accueil.

Parcs Canada (service 24 heures sur 24 en cas d’urgence)

1-780-852-3100

Les téléphones cellulaires ne fonctionnent pas dans la plupart du parc. Les téléphones ou appareils de messageries par satellites sont fortement recommandés.