Common menu bar links

Ivvavik National Park of Canada

Park Management Plan

Park management plans guide park managers in the protection, management and operation of a national park. A park's management plan outlines the appropriate balance of conservation, education and visitor use goals and sets out the framework and priorities for achieving them. It also identifies a strategy for park managers, stakeholders and the general public to work together over the long term.

The Ivvavik National Park Management Plan was prepared cooperatively between Parks Canada and the Inuvialuit. The opportunity for the broader Canadian public to contribute their knowledge, expertise and suggestions was also a cornerstone of the planning process. Public meetings were held in Aklavik, Inuvik, Whitehorse and Old Crow to review drafts of this plan.

This plan sets out a strategy for the care and management of Ivvavik as a wild, unspoiled Arctic wilderness with outstanding natural and cultural values. It recognizes the right of Inuvialuit for continued subsistence usage in the park, reflecting the importance of traditional users who value the land, and ensuring that the park remains an oasis of beauty as well as a model of conservation practices.

In keeping with the Canada National Parks Act and the park establishment agreement, this plan will be reviewed, with public involvement, every five years.

To receive a copy of the Ivvavik National Park Management Plan please contact the Park Office in Inuvik.

Printable version (PDF, 1.44 MB)

Parc national du Canada Ivvavik

Plan directeur du parc

Le plan directeur du parc guide les gestionnaires du parc en ce qui concerne la protection, la gestion et l'exploitation d'un parc national. Il décrit l'équilibre approprié entre les objectifs de conservation, d'éducation et d'utilisation par les visiteurs et établit le cadre de travail et les priorités afin de les atteindre. Il dicte également une stratégie visant la collaboration des gestionnaires du parc, des intervenants et du grand public à long terme.

Le Plan directeur du parc national Ivvavik a été élaboré conjointement par Parcs Canada et les Inuvialuit. La population canadienne a également eu l'occasion de faire part de ses connaissances, de son expertise et de ses suggestions au cours du processus de planification. Des réunions publiques ont eu lieu à Aklavik, Inuvik, Whitehorse et Old Crow afin de passer en revue les ébauches du plan.

Ce plan établit une stratégie pour protéger et gérer Ivvavik comme une région sauvage vierge de l'Arctique possédant des valeurs naturelles et culturelles remarquables. Il reconnaît le droit des Inuvialuit d'utiliser le parc à des fins de subsistance afin de tenir compte de l'importance des utilisateurs traditionnels qui apprécient le territoire et de s'assurer que le parc demeure une oasis de beauté et un modèle pour les pratiques de conservation.

Conformément à la Loi sur les parcs nationaux et à l'entente de création du parc, ce plan sera revu tous les cinq ans avec la participation du public.

Veuillez communiquer avec le bureau du parc à Inuvik pour obtenir un exemplaire du Plan directeur du parc national Ivvavik.

Version imprimable, (PDF, 2,3 Mo)