Ivvavik National Park of Canada

Camping

Camping along the lower Firth River Camping along the Firth river
© Parks Canada

There are no designated campsites in the park. You may camp anywhere you like, except at archaeological sites. Whether hiking or rafting, there are an endless number of beautiful sites to choose from.

Parks Canada has, where possible, identified scenic and appropriate camping sites on the Firth River. Contact the Parks Canada office for a copy of the Firth River Map & Guide.

In order to protect this pristine wilderness, please practice No Trace Camping. All garbage must be packed out with you. Consult with the park staff for additional advice on low-impact camping techniques.

The winds can be very strong and prolonged in Ivvavik National Park. A good quality tent, able to withstand fierce winds, is crucial for a comfortable visit.

Campfire

Campfires are not allowed anywhere within Ivvavik National Park. Use camp stoves and bottled fuel for cooking.

Scheduled aircraft from the south do not allow passengers to carry fuel. Most types of camping fuel may be purchased in Inuvik. If you require specialty fuels you should check in advance with local suppliers.


Joe Creek camp Tent Camp by Joe Creek.
© Parks Canada

Managing human waste

Bacterial action is much slower in the arctic and human waste can take a long time to decompose. This is especially true where permafrost is just below the surface. For appropriate methods of disposing of human waste while in the park, please contact the Parks Canada office in Inuvik.

Parc national du Canada Ivvavik

Camping

Camping along the lower Firth River Camping le long de la rivière Firth.
© Parcs Canada

Il n'y a pas d'emplacements de camping désignés dans le parc. Vous pouvez camper où vous voulez, exception faite des sites archéologiques. Le choix d'endroits magnifiques est infini, que vous fassiez de la randonnée ou de la descente en eau vive.

Parcs Canada a déterminé si possible des emplacements de camping pittoresques et appropriés le long de la rivière Firth. Communiquez avec le bureau du parc pour obtenir un exemplaire de la carte et du guide de la rivière Firth.

Veuillez pratiquer le camping écologique afin de protéger la nature vierge. Vous devez rapporter tous vos déchets. Consultez les employés au bureau du parc à Inuvik pour obtenir des conseils et connaître tous les détails sur les pratiques à adopter.

Les vents peuvent être très forts et durer longtemps dans le parc national Ivvavik. Il est essentiel de posséder une tente de bonne qualité capable de résister à des vents violents.

Feux de camp

Les feux de camp ne sont pas permis à Ivvavik. Servez-vous d'un réchaud et de combustible en bouteille pour cuisiner.

Les transporteurs aériens réguliers ne permettent pas aux passagers de transporter du combustible. Vous pouvez vous procurer la plupart des combustibles de camping à Inuvik. Si vous avez besoin d'un carburant spécialisé, veuillez vérifier d'avance auprès des fournisseurs locaux.

Camping à proximité de Joe Creek Camping à proximité de Joe Creek
© Parcs Canada

 

Gestion des matières de vidange

L'action bactérienne est beaucoup plus lente dans l'Arctique et il faut beaucoup plus de temps pour que les déchets humains se décomposent. C'est particulièrement le cas quand le pergélisol arrive juste au-dessous de la surface du sol. Veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de Parcs Canada à Inuvik pour vous renseigner sur les méthodes d'élimination des déchets humains dans le parc.