Common menu bar links

Prince Albert National Park of Canada

Bison Partners

Sturgeon River Plains Bison Stewards

The Sturgeon River Plains Bison Stewards Inc. is a not for profit organization formed to help promote stewardship of the free ranging Plains bison population, particularly on private land along the southwest boundary of the Prince Albert National Park. The group consists of local landowners and other stakeholders.

They are focused on confronting any challenges that arise as the Plains bison population becomes more prominent on private land. They have created an entity that can receive funding for management on private land, and will be responsible for developing programs and distributing funding. This will fill a large gap in the overall effort to manage the population. They are also focused on identifying economic and educational opportunities that may present themselves, and creating an atmosphere where these opportunities can flourish.

The Stewards are currently working to obtain funding from government and non-government sources, as well as to investigate other options that exist for farmers (i.e.: Environmental Farm Plan, Sask. Environment Depredation Prevention Program, Sask. Power Solar Incentive, etc.) and how they can assist them to become involved with these programs. Once funding is secured, and a plan established, they will begin to assess needs and look at requests for assistance.

For More Information

Program Coordinator:
Gord Vaadeland
E-mail: vaadeland@sasktel.net

http://www.bisonstewards.ca

Parc national du Canada de Prince Albert

Un projet d’intendance du bison voit le jour!

Un groupe à but non lucratif, le Sturgeon River Plains Bison Stewards Inc., vient d'être créé pour promouvoir l'intendance du bison des plaines en liberté, particulièrement sur les terres privées qui longent la limite sud-ouest du parc national de Prince Albert (PNPA). Ses membres comprennent des propriétaires fonciers et d'autres parties prenantes de la région.

Ce groupe tentera de résoudre les difficultés qui pourraient survenir à mesure que la population de bisons des plaines prendra de l'ampleur sur les terres privées. L'entité ainsi formée pourra obtenir des fonds pour assurer la gestion des bisons sur les terres privées; en contrepartie, elle aura pour responsabilité d'élaborer des programmes et de distribuer les fonds. Ces activités contribueront dans une grande mesure aux efforts engagés pour gérer la population de bisons des plaines. Le groupe verra à cerner les possibilités de développement économique et de sensibilisation qui pourraient se présenter, et à favoriser les conditions qui permettront de tirer parti de ces possibilités.

Des démarches ont été entreprises pour obtenir des fonds publics et privés, pour trouver d'autres programmes qui pourraient servir les intérêts des agriculteurs (p. ex., plans agro-environnementaux, programme de prévention des déprédations environnementales de la Saskatchewan, incitatifs de SaskPower pour la conversion à l'énergie solaire, etc.) et pour faciliter la participation des agriculteurs à ces programmes. Une fois que les fonds seront assurés et qu'un plan sera établi, le groupe entreprendra l'évaluation des besoins et l'examen des demandes d'aide.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Coordonnateur des programmes
Gord Vaadeland
Courriel : vaadeland@sasktel.net

http://www.bisonstewards.ca