Prince Albert National Park of Canada

Management and Research

The Sturgeon River plains bison are free ranging, meaning they are not confined within fences or the park boundaries. Bison occasionally venture onto private agricultural land, impacting the neighbouring landowners. Prince Albert National Park is working with other jurisdictions, stakeholders, and landowners to create a management strategy for the Sturgeon River bison in order to reduce these impacts. Read more .

Research on bison movements and habitat use is underway in order to minimize bison activity on agricultural lands.

Estimating distance from bison using a telemeter.
Estimating distance from bison using a telemeter.
© S. Courant

University of Laval – Dr. Daniel Fortin

The conservation of the Sturgeon River Plains Bison population faces an important challenge: to minimize the impact of this population on private lands adjacent to the park. Our research on bison ecology is meant to help managers face this challenge. The aim is also to better understand the interactions between bison, and other wildlife species and plant communities found in their habitat. To reach our objectives, we are conducting empirical and theoretical research on the foraging behaviour, food and habitat selection, and movement pattern of bison in PANP.

Visit Dr. Fortin’s website.

Read more about the current status of the biological research.

Another type of research that was conducted focused on the people involved with, or impacted by, the Sturgeon River plains bison:

Natural Resources Institute, University of Manitoba – Dr. Micheline Manseau

A group of stakeholders surveys the Sturgeon River Valley.
A group of stakeholders surveys the Sturgeon River Valley.
© Parks Canada
Creating a framework for plains bison conservation

We will develop a framework for the creation of a community-based conservation initiative. This organization will foster bison conservation and promote the social, biological, and economic benefits of conservation. This research is a step in understanding the process of promoting collaboration, self-organization, and learning in communities about conservation issues. Without effective partnerships and communication between stakeholders, a conservation initiative would be missing some important perspectives that can influence wildlife populations: the concerns, attitudes, and knowledge of stakeholders in defining issues and potential solutions.

Visit Dr. Manseau’s website.

Parc national du Canada de Prince Albert

Gestion et recherche

Les bisons des plaines de la rivière Sturgeon évoluent en toute liberté, c'est-à-dire qu'ils ne sont pas retenus à l'intérieur des limites du parc. D'ailleurs, ils s'aventurent à l'occasion sur des terres agricoles privées. C'est pourquoi le parc national de Prince Albert travaille actuellement en étroite collaboration avec d'autres instances, groupes d'intervenants et propriétaires fonciers dans le but d'élaborer une stratégie de gestion pour le bison de la rivière Sturgeon et pour réduire son impact hors du parc. Plus de détails .

D'autre part, des travaux de recherche sont également en cours sur les déplacements des bisons et sur l'utilisation qu'ils font de leur habitat de manière à réduire l'activité des bisons sur les terres agricoles.

Estimer la distance aux bisons avec un télémètre.
Estimer la distance aux bisons avec un télémètre.
© S. Courant

Dr Daniel Fortin – l’Université Laval

L'écologie du bison des plaines va faire face à un défi important qui consiste à conserver cette population, tout en minimisant l'impact des bisons sur les terres privées adjacentes au parc. Le but de nos recherches est aussi de comprendre l'interaction entre les bisons, d'autres espèces animales et les communautés végétales se retrouvant également dans leurs habitat. Ces objectifs sont abordés en effectuant des études théoriques et empiriques sur le comportement d'approvisionnement, sur la sélection de la nourriture et des habitats ainsi que sur les patrons de déplacement des bisons dans le PNPA.

Visiter le site web de Dr. Fortin.

Plus de détails sur la situation courante de la recherche biologique. .

Un autre type de recherche était axé sur les personnes qui ont un rôle à jouer en ce qui a trait à la population de bisons des plaines de la rivière Sturgeon et les personnes sur qui la population a des répercussions :

Institut des Ressources Naturelles, Université du Manitoba – Dr Micheline Manseau

Un groupe d'intervenants surveille la vallée de la rivière Sturgeon.
Un groupe d'intervenants surveille la vallée de la rivière Sturgeon.
© Parcs Canada
Créer un cadre de travail pour la conservation du bison des plaines

Nous élaborerons un cadre de travail pour la création d’une initiative de conservation communautaire. L’organisation favorisera la conservation du bison et fera la promotion des avantages de la conservation sur les plans social, biologique et économique. La recherche est un pas vers la compréhension du processus de promotion de la collaboration, de l’auto-organisation, et de l’apprentissage dans les collectivités en ce qui a trait aux questions liées à la conservation. Sans des partenariats efficaces entre les intervenants, certains facteurs importants qui influent sur les populations d’animaux sauvages feraient défaut à l’initiative de conservation : les préoccupations, les attitudes et les connaissances des intervenants quand vient le temps de définir les enjeux et les solutions possibles.

Visitez le site de Dr. Manseau. (anglais seulement)