Prince Albert National Park of Canada

Scenic Driving Tours

Stag elk at roadside watching van pass by.
Wildlife like this stag elk are often seen on a scenic drive.
© Parks Canada/James Page/PANP JP410

Whether you are overnighting in the area or have driven into the park for the day, visitors to Prince Albert National Park can choose from several routes for scenic driving tours in the park. Watch for wildlife and drive safely.

Narrows Road

This 24 kilometre stretch of road follows the southern shoreline of Waskesiu Lake. It passes through a wide variety of vegetation types. Opportunities exist to see many species of wildlife especially in early morning and at dusk. The road is narrow, with a gravelled surface. It is curving, gently rolling and has no shoulders. Passing is difficult. Proceed carefully, watch for oncoming traffic.

Follow Lakeview Drive (becomes Scenic Route #263) past the golf course and Prospect Point until you come to the Narrows junction. Turn right onto the Narrows Road.

Kingsmere Road

Red sunset with clouds over calm lake.
Waskesiu Lake sunset.
© Parks Canada/Merv Syroteuk/PANP G2950

The Kingsmere Road (a continuation of. Highway # 264) follows the northern shore of Waskesiu Lake for 32.5 km. This roadway passes through mixed forest dominated by tall spruces broken up by sandy embankments. For the first 15 km, the road is paved with narrow shoulders. At the Heart Lakes marina entrance, the road surface becomes gravel. At this point, the remainder of the road is commonly referred to as the Kingsmere Road.


Highway #263

Prince Albert National Park is an area of national significance because it preserves for all time an area of transition between the boreal forest and the aspen parkland. Explore the length of the Park's transition zone by travelling Scenic route - highway #263 from Waskesiu to the park's southern boundary.

Parc national du Canada de Prince Albert

Visites panoramiques en voiture

Jeune wapiti au bord de la route regardant une voiture passer.
On voit souvent des animaux comme ce jeune wapiti au cours d'une promenade panoramique.
© Parcs Canada/James Page/PANP JP410

Qu'ils passent la nuit dans la région ou qu'ils soient au parc pour la journée, les visiteurs du parc national de Prince Albert ont le choix entre plusieurs circuits touristiques en voiture. Faites attention à la faune et conduisez avec prudence.

Route Narrows

Ce tronçon de route de 24 kilomètres longe la rive du lac Waskesiu. En le suivant, vous traverserez une grande variété de types de végétation. Il y a de fortes chances pour que vous aperceviez différentes espèces fauniques surtout tôt le matin et au crépuscule. La route est étroite et recouverte de gravier. Elle forme une courbe et suit les pentes douces du relief; il n'y a pas d'accotements. Il est difficile de doubler. Le cas échéant, allez-y prudemment en faisant attention à la circulation venant en sens inverse.

Suivez la promenade Lakeview Drive (qui devient la route panoramique no 263) passé le terrain de golf et la pointe Prospect, continuez jusqu'au carrefour avec la route Narrows et tournez à droite.

Route Kingsmere

Coucher de soleil rougeoyant sur les nuages et se reflétant dans un lac.
Coucher de soleil sur le lac Waskesiu.
© Parcs Canada/Merv Syroteuk/PANP G2950

La route Kingsmere (continuation de la route no 264) suit la rive nord du lac Waskesiu sur 32,5 km. Cette chaussée aménagée traverse une forêt mixte dominée par de hautes épinettes et entrecoupée de levées de sable. Sur les 15 premiers kilomètres, la route est asphaltée et bordée d'étroits accotements. Au niveau de l'entrée de la marina des lacs Hanging Hearts, la route n'est plus couverte que de gravier. À partir de cet endroit, elle est communément appelée route Kingsmere.


Route n o 263

Le parc national de Prince Albert est d'importance nationale parce qu'il préserve à jamais une zone de transition située entre la forêt boréale et la tremblaie-parc. Jugez de la longueur de la zone dans le parc en suivant la route panoramique no 263 à partir de Waskesiu jusqu'à la limite sud du parc.